$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Sep 30, 2010

Good location

This hotel is very close to the river walk and the alamo. The hotel is very nice looking and historic, the rooms are updated and very comfortable. The only downside is that they only offer valet parking or you have to park across the street in a public ramp. Other then that it is a great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Tx
Jan 8, 2011

Great trip

I was skeptical because te reviews weren't great but we had a fantastic stay with very sweet staff members. Always there to help out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to see the river walk the first week of the year. They drain it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buck Snort
Business
Houston TX
Jun 12, 2009

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

There on business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Riverwalk, but away from noise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Angleton TX
Oct 24, 2009

Nice

The wireless internet was not free in the room. Young ones loud in the hallway. Everything real expensive. Close to riverwalk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Hotel... great location

This is a nice hotel. My stay was 4 nights long and really cant say too many bad things. The lobby of the hotel give you that old hotel feel but its very clean and well kept. The rooms were good but the bathroom was a good size but a little small between the toilet and the sink. The only draw back of the hotel was the small outdoor pool, it also needed some maintenance as some of the tiles were coming off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the river walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ardmore,OK
Jan 3, 2011

great motel, good price

The hotel was very clean & the staff was very knowledgable of the area & always able to give directions, etc. The room was not large, but clean & comfortable. Central location. We parked our car when we got there & never got in it again until we left. We walked everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk was only a short distance away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Springfield, Ma.
Jan 15, 2011

Great People & convenient locatation

I had a very enjoyable stay, THANKS to all the staff. Everyone was very friendly, while still professional in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is convenient to get to the "riverwalk", Alamo, and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Gunter. The hotel's staff was very accommodating when we had a change in plans and needed to be relocated to a room with two beds at the last minute. The location is great, within walking distance to everything downtown (i.e. Riverwalk, Alamo, etc.) My only complaints: 1. Parking is a bit expensive (valet is $22 a day) and 2. Wifi is not included in the room price. Other than that I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Copperas Cove, TX
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent location & comfortable stay

We came to San Antonio to see "The Lion King" at the Majestic Theatre. The primary reason for choosing the Sheraton Gunter was because it's right across the street from the Majestic. The rates were comparable to hotels that aren't as nice. As long as we can continue getting the same rates, we'll be staying there for every Majestic performance we see. The breakfast buffet was quite enjoyable, too, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top