$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing!... See full review

  • Nice and Relaxed Mama
  • Jun 3, 2013
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Porters
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4911
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI; San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DivaMama
Houston, TX
Jul 2, 2009

Great Value

The Sheraton was a nice hotel to stay in. The location is great, and the staff is friendly. My kids loved the pool. There's also a parking garage right across thes street, so you don't have to pay the $26 a day for valet. Pay the additional dollars for a deluxe room, the size is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fer Mex
Mexico City
Sep 11, 2012

An excellent trip

This kind of hotels, the historic ones, are fantastic, and the Gunter is suberb. The location, the room and, above all, an staff always willing to help you. The best place in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bohanan's

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, tx
Mar 19, 2011

Nice couples retreat

Staff from arrival to departure were exceptional. Room was comfortable and the cleanliness a breath of fresh air. We were very satisfied with the whole experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Kentucky.
Mar 29, 2010

Very Good

I was ttending a conference. I was able to relax. Felt as if i was in a second home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The lounge on the third floor was great. I enjoyed the continental breakfast and the late afternoon soiree.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nice and Relaxed Mama
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing! The staff was super helpful and always courteous, the room was beautiful, and the location of the hotel was perfect. The River Walk and Alamodome are just a short walk along with tons of other things. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ardmore,OK
Jan 3, 2011

great motel, good price

The hotel was very clean & the staff was very knowledgable of the area & always able to give directions, etc. The room was not large, but clean & comfortable. Central location. We parked our car when we got there & never got in it again until we left. We walked everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk was only a short distance away

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lion King fans
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2009

very nice

Very nice hotel and a refreshing experience after a long drive. They politely accepted our 2 large dogs as well. Directly across the street from the Majestic Theatre...if you're going to see a show there, you can't find a closer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Copperas Cove, TX
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent location & comfortable stay

We came to San Antonio to see "The Lion King" at the Majestic Theatre. The primary reason for choosing the Sheraton Gunter was because it's right across the street from the Majestic. The rates were comparable to hotels that aren't as nice. As long as we can continue getting the same rates, we'll be staying there for every Majestic performance we see. The breakfast buffet was quite enjoyable, too, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K&D Spencer
Conroe, Texas
Nov 30, 2010

Splendid in San Antonio

The Sheraton Gunther is a beautiful historical hotel, very elegant and welcoming. Great price and great location near the Riverwalk. [...] the concierge went out of her way everytime to accomadate us...couldn't ask for a better time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa Rio has the best TexMex in Texas, and Little Rhein is sumptous...expensive but worth it!

Back to menu Return to top