$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
100 reviews
Great Stay

One block from access to the famed RiverWalk, easy access to Alamo, Old Market and Breckinridge... See full review

  • Vicar from Texas
  • Jul 26, 2015
Conference in San Antonio

Hotel and staff met expectations. Historic hotel restored to modern expectations. See full review

  • Aaron A.
  • Jun 24, 2015
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Property features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Nearby attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Policies
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.2 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$81
4.0 / 5 138 reviews
★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$179
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$75
3.6 / 5 228 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.5 / 5 314 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 133 reviews

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.
Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers farm-to-table contemporary American cuisine with a twist. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fer Mex
Couples
Mexico City
Sep 11, 2012

An excellent trip

This kind of hotels, the historic ones, are fantastic, and the Gunter is suberb. The location, the room and, above all, an staff always willing to help you. The best place in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bohanan's

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalina
Couples
Shawnee, OK
Nov 27, 2011

Big Hotel

Clean, Luxery, very animal friendly, very fun. I never stayed in a hotel that big. Staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out luggage, and parking, and doggie potty situation, before making reservations.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizzyfur
Friends
new jersey
Dec 7, 2011

Awesome and central

Price was great, great, central location. Went for a wedding and the hotel made a great venue for that as well. Restaurants and room service were affordable AND high quality. Cannot wait to go back with the fam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TXredkat
Couples
Katy, TX
Feb 15, 2012

Nice Valentine's Getaway

Historical elegant hotel and exceptional staff! The hotel staff anticipated every need and answered questions in detail, including local history. Everywhere you looked were reminders of the famous patrons that have graced The Gunter Sheraton. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is located close to the River Walk. We look forward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palm - excellent!

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LM320
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Sheraton Gunther

The only reason I dinged it on cleanliness is not because the staff didn't clean the room beautifully but because the carpet was stained. But the staff are really so incredibly accommodating--it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nice and Relaxed Mama
Couples
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing! The staff was super helpful and always courteous, the room was beautiful, and the location of the hotel was perfect. The River Walk and Alamodome are just a short walk along with tons of other things. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DivaMama
Family
Houston, TX
Jul 2, 2009

Great Value

The Sheraton was a nice hotel to stay in. The location is great, and the staff is friendly. My kids loved the pool. There's also a parking garage right across thes street, so you don't have to pay the $26 a day for valet. Pay the additional dollars for a deluxe room, the size is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Very elegant for the price.

The Sheraton Gunter was a very classy yet simple and friendly hotel in a ideal area close to the Riverwalk, and many other Downtown spots of entertainment. The bedding was first rate, and the room was very comfortable. There is a very nice bar that was very entertaaining. Although we did not eat in the resturant the menu looked very appetizing. Parking was provided by the hotel, however if you wanted to save a little money, there was ample parking just right across the street. I would stay in this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast in the bakery.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Feb 17, 2011

San Antonio Sheraton gunter trip

The room was huge, and had a great view of the town. The room service was great, and service was as fast as they come. The hotel was the most beautiful, and every bit of detail and craftsmanship was taken seriously in the presentation of the lobby, as well as throughout the hotel. I love the on site bakery and restaurant, not to mention the food was exquisite, and for a low price. I will be staying at this hotel every time I visit San Antonio. Sheraton never let's me down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is right across te street and has a lot to offer.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Jul 6, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel AWESOME review

We were in San Antonio for a concert. The hotel was just fine. The ONLY complain I would have is that guests are charged for Parking. Come now can't that just be built into the cost of staying there? The charge is excessive, expecially when we could park across the street for a quarter of the cost that it does in the hotel parking. This is just not right. For the most part staying in a hotel is just for sleeping, prices are high enough, a hotel chain the size of sheraton can't comp for the parking? Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gunter is close to EVERYTHING touristy; like the Riverwalk, one of the malls and lots of restaurants,and theatres.

Back to menu Return to top