$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
nice place to stay

Room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. See full review

  • plantguy
  • Aug 17, 2014
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers entrees, sandwiches, cheeses, and cured meats. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.
Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plantguy
Business
texas
Aug 17, 2014

nice place to stay

Room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR Brent
Business
Dallas, TX
May 4, 2014

Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit especially for wine enthusiasts. Centrally located also. Only complaint...the hotel is old so the bathrooms are TINY and the old plumbing places the shower head about 5' high. Otherwise cool spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrtle108
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 17, 2014

Historic Comfort and Convenience

As a frequent visitor to San Antonio, I've often wanted to stay at the Gunter, but my plans took me elsewhere. This time it was the perfect choice, just a block or two from the River Walk and in the heart of downtown. The lobby was beautiful, and the lobby bar, McLeod's, served a tasty and very reasonably priced omelet, a good option on a Lenten Friday. My room was nicely appointed with very comfortable bedding. My only complaint was the thermostat -- when I raised the temperature, I got cold air! Fortunately the bed was so inviting, I just hopped in and went to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out McLeod's bar for tasty and very reasonably priced fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LM320
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Sheraton Gunther

The only reason I dinged it on cleanliness is not because the staff didn't clean the room beautifully but because the carpet was stained. But the staff are really so incredibly accommodating--it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exployer01
Business
Redding Calif.
Mar 14, 2012

Convention center conference

Pleasant walk partly along the Riverwalk to get to the Convention Center. 4 short blocks to the Alamo. Beautiful old style lobby, nice staff and exercise equipment. Riverwalk is about a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Trolley rides are only $1.10 for seeing most of the downtown sites. The trolley stops just outside the hotel entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
Feb 26, 2012

Business trip

Great location, very comfortable room, service at bar excellent, and nice breakfast affair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

near everything downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flguest2011
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Could have been better.

The location was ideal (although this obviously means expensive parking) and the lobby was beautiful, but once I got to the floor with my room, everything smelled like mildew. The room was ok besides the smell, but the bathroom was not very clean at all and had no counter space. There were hairs on the floor all around the toilet and base of the sink. The first morning, I showered before I realized there were no bath towels at all and had to dry off with hand towels. Once I requested some bath towels, the staff was helpful and apologetic. However, by far the best thing about this hotel was the bakery! Pastries were delicious and it was so nice to sit out at the tables on the sidewalk and enjoy my morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gunter Bakery was fantastic - Starbucks coffee (including all the lattes, mochas, etc, not just the coffee) and delicious pastries. Highly recommend the cream horn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wouldlikesomepaidtimeoff
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 12, 2011

Comfortable and Clean

Went there for work, this was my 2nd stay at the hotel. It was clean comfortable, not much to complain about. I had a nicer room the two other times i stayed there. I stayed two nights. It is in the middle of everything very accessible and easy access to many of the tourist stuff/riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio tx
Mar 18, 2011

Great location needs attention

Pretty Historic hotel with great location. Nice bones but needs attention- staff did their job but had little southern hospitality. Rooms were dated- hairy baseboards but clean sheets. Had a coffee maker but suggest you bring extra pods because your allowed one! San Antonio is a great get away but I've stayed in many nicer hotels for the same $$$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

River walk has great dining , bars, shopping & hours of kid friendly things. Alamo, la villitas, tower of America & many more are all walkabouts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top