$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio
Feb 14, 2010

horrible view

great hotel with a bad view of mechanical equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2010

San Antonio

THis place is WAY over-priced for the size and cleanliness of the room! Our room had no place to put toiletry items and the room was very small. We froze the first two nights until we asked the desk to assist us. Found out they had not switched a valve in the heater from summer to winter mode. Talked to several other people at the hotel tha thad the same experience. Seems like this would be a normal maintenance item seasonally. did not receive clean sheets during our stay, or a vacuum. Just mae the bed and new towells. Even left out fresh bottled water one day, as well as creamer for coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat on the riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbfisk
Business
Dallas
Jan 4, 2010

Great Stay!

Even though the hotel was an old historic building, the elevator situtation needs to be addressed. The housekeeping situation also needs to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Copperas Cove, TX
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent location & comfortable stay

We came to San Antonio to see "The Lion King" at the Majestic Theatre. The primary reason for choosing the Sheraton Gunter was because it's right across the street from the Majestic. The rates were comparable to hotels that aren't as nice. As long as we can continue getting the same rates, we'll be staying there for every Majestic performance we see. The breakfast buffet was quite enjoyable, too, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lion King fans
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2009

very nice

Very nice hotel and a refreshing experience after a long drive. They politely accepted our 2 large dogs as well. Directly across the street from the Majestic Theatre...if you're going to see a show there, you can't find a closer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Nov 29, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Good service Needs Remodelation Good Location and Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Nov 18, 2009

"Don't Do It"

The room we stayed in had a nonfuncitoning thermastat, and as a result nearly froze. It was explained to me the that hotel was an old building and that the room temperatures were controlled from their control...THANKS!!The television's network was not working and as a result could not order a movie. The valet parking sucked. When I called for my vehicle, I was told they were not taking call in's because they were too busy and was told to just come down and ask for the vehicle in person. They really need to get their cutomer care together there.. On check out when I mentioned the above all I was told was sorry.. I will definetly not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mexican restaurant Mi Tierra is located in the down town market square of san antonio.. It's a great place to stop by and enjoy the mexican culture. The food is authentic mexican food, the real deal.. The employee's are dressed in their india maria dresses and old talented men sing their hearts out..Great way to enjoy the mexican culture without the digusting sanitation found in mexico..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRMRSSMITH
Business
LIBERTY HILL, TX
Nov 16, 2009

PRETTY GOOD WOULD STAY AGAIN

THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE. THE ART/DETAIL WAS BEAUTIFUL. THE ONLYTHING THAT BUGGED US WAS THE DOORS SLAMMING EVERYTIME SOMEONE LEFT THEIR ROOM. THE SHOWER WAS A LITTLE SMALL, MEANING THE SHOWER HEAD WAS SMALL AND LOW SO MY HUSBAND KIND OF HAD TO DUCK TO TAKE A SHOWER TO WASH HIS HAIR. OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS VERY NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE RIVER WALK WAS A HOP SKIP AND AN JUMP AWAY FROM THE HOTEL IT WAS VERY LOVLEY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Angleton TX
Oct 24, 2009

Nice

The wireless internet was not free in the room. Young ones loud in the hallway. Everything real expensive. Close to riverwalk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Valley, NJ
Oct 19, 2009

very nice hotel -- overall

Overall the Sheraton Gunter is a great hotel. Very close to the River Walk. Only complaints: a little mold on bathroom ceiling. They need better ventilation. And my room (#1133) was above fans for either the kitchens or HVAC. Definitely on the loud side! The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top