$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 23, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
98 reviews
Awesome Weekend Getaway

Much needed getaway. Room was very clean and spacious. Room service was slow, but it was a busy... See full review

  • Derek D.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Perfect room for the weekend in a perfect location. Short walking distance to anything we wanted to... See full review

  • randall t.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.
Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers entrees, sandwiches, cheeses, and cured meats. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fer Mex
Mexico City
Sep 11, 2012

An excellent trip

This kind of hotels, the historic ones, are fantastic, and the Gunter is suberb. The location, the room and, above all, an staff always willing to help you. The best place in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bohanan's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Gunter. The hotel's staff was very accommodating when we had a change in plans and needed to be relocated to a room with two beds at the last minute. The location is great, within walking distance to everything downtown (i.e. Riverwalk, Alamo, etc.) My only complaints: 1. Parking is a bit expensive (valet is $22 a day) and 2. Wifi is not included in the room price. Other than that I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, tx
Feb 21, 2011

Gunter

Pool area under renovation so could not use hot tub. Disappointed and they would not discount for inconvience. No parking accept valet at 22$. Had to park in public parking that cost 15$. Hotel did not reimburse for that. Overall would not reccomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 17, 2011

San Antonio Sheraton gunter trip

The room was huge, and had a great view of the town. The room service was great, and service was as fast as they come. The hotel was the most beautiful, and every bit of detail and craftsmanship was taken seriously in the presentation of the lobby, as well as throughout the hotel. I love the on site bakery and restaurant, not to mention the food was exquisite, and for a low price. I will be staying at this hotel every time I visit San Antonio. Sheraton never let's me down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is right across te street and has a lot to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Jan 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel!

Sightseeing weekend, lovely accomodations. Staff friendly, helpful and courteous. Huge room and well appointed. Would highly recommend, within walking distance of all the nicest attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 30, 2011

Nice location

Went to the river walk every day. It was very close (2 minute walk at most). The hotel staff was friendly and the bakery inside was very good. Bathrooms are kind of small and Wifi costs in the rooms itself, but WiFi is free down in the lobby if you don't mind going down there. Nice widescreen tv! Good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the River Walk bars between 2 and 7! During this time, almost every bar is doing happy hour in which drinks are much cheaper than usual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 16, 2011

Winter vacation...special event

My wife and I had a great time in San Antonio and the Gunter Hotel. The room and was clean and the hotel personnel were very nice and helpful. When we asked for suggestions where to eat or go, the establishments were first class. Our stay at the Gunter Hotel was a special visit and we've talked about our trip with friends and the special hotel we stayed at in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus fares were $1.10 vs the $10 to $15 cab rides that would have cost us to get around. We were in town for the All-American High School US Army sponsored football game at the Alamodome on January 8th, and we would go up to the Alamo football stadium at Trinity Univ.to watch the All-American high school marching band practice. This a was special because my daughter was chosen to be in the band.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Springfield, Ma.
Jan 15, 2011

Great People & convenient locatation

I had a very enjoyable stay, THANKS to all the staff. Everyone was very friendly, while still professional in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is convenient to get to the "riverwalk", Alamo, and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Tx
Jan 8, 2011

Great trip

I was skeptical because te reviews weren't great but we had a fantastic stay with very sweet staff members. Always there to help out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to see the river walk the first week of the year. They drain it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Hotel... great location

This is a nice hotel. My stay was 4 nights long and really cant say too many bad things. The lobby of the hotel give you that old hotel feel but its very clean and well kept. The rooms were good but the bathroom was a good size but a little small between the toilet and the sink. The only draw back of the hotel was the small outdoor pool, it also needed some maintenance as some of the tiles were coming off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the river walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ardmore,OK
Jan 3, 2011

great motel, good price

The hotel was very clean & the staff was very knowledgable of the area & always able to give directions, etc. The room was not large, but clean & comfortable. Central location. We parked our car when we got there & never got in it again until we left. We walked everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk was only a short distance away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top