$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fer Mex
Mexico City
Sep 11, 2012

An excellent trip

This kind of hotels, the historic ones, are fantastic, and the Gunter is suberb. The location, the room and, above all, an staff always willing to help you. The best place in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bohanan's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidd
Business
Texas,US
Apr 24, 2011

The good,but small room

I just for my voacation with my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The distance is very near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Apr 24, 2011

not a great stay

Hotel was like from 50 years ago.. the rooms are not well equiped.. no fridge in the room.. I'm surprised they had a tv in there. The bathroom is very small.. an airplane bathroom is better.. the bathtub is dirty and the showerhead is messed up.. we had water pressure problems throughout our stay, in the middle of my shower the water stopped.. everything in the room except the tv is old and outdated.. for this kindof money I'm sure I would have found a much better place to stay at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidd
Business
Texas,US
Apr 24, 2011

The good,but small room

I just for my voacation with my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The distance is very near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, tx
Mar 19, 2011

Nice couples retreat

Staff from arrival to departure were exceptional. Room was comfortable and the cleanliness a breath of fresh air. We were very satisfied with the whole experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Unknown
Mar 18, 2011

Nice place!

Nice hotel. Service was great. Only thing that I saw was the carpet in my room needed cleaned that would have made the room appear much nicer. And bathroom towel fixture needed fixed it was detached from the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio tx
Mar 18, 2011

Great location needs attention

Pretty Historic hotel with great location. Nice bones but needs attention- staff did their job but had little southern hospitality. Rooms were dated- hairy baseboards but clean sheets. Had a coffee maker but suggest you bring extra pods because your allowed one! San Antonio is a great get away but I've stayed in many nicer hotels for the same $$$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

River walk has great dining , bars, shopping & hours of kid friendly things. Alamo, la villitas, tower of America & many more are all walkabouts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five Star Lady
Business
El Paso Texas
Mar 17, 2011

We loved it!

We go to San Antonio twice a year or more and the Gunter is our favorite hotel. It has history but the rooms are updated. The restaurant and coffe shop are great and the bar cozy and warm. We recommend the Gunter to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at Acenar. It's only a few steps away and the food is fabulous. We liked the duck tacos and carmel crepes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Gunter. The hotel's staff was very accommodating when we had a change in plans and needed to be relocated to a room with two beds at the last minute. The location is great, within walking distance to everything downtown (i.e. Riverwalk, Alamo, etc.) My only complaints: 1. Parking is a bit expensive (valet is $22 a day) and 2. Wifi is not included in the room price. Other than that I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, tx
Feb 21, 2011

Gunter

Pool area under renovation so could not use hot tub. Disappointed and they would not discount for inconvience. No parking accept valet at 22$. Had to park in public parking that cost 15$. Hotel did not reimburse for that. Overall would not reccomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top