$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LM320
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Sheraton Gunther

The only reason I dinged it on cleanliness is not because the staff didn't clean the room beautifully but because the carpet was stained. But the staff are really so incredibly accommodating--it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Unknown
Mar 18, 2011

Nice place!

Nice hotel. Service was great. Only thing that I saw was the carpet in my room needed cleaned that would have made the room appear much nicer. And bathroom towel fixture needed fixed it was detached from the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio tx
Mar 18, 2011

Great location needs attention

Pretty Historic hotel with great location. Nice bones but needs attention- staff did their job but had little southern hospitality. Rooms were dated- hairy baseboards but clean sheets. Had a coffee maker but suggest you bring extra pods because your allowed one! San Antonio is a great get away but I've stayed in many nicer hotels for the same $$$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

River walk has great dining , bars, shopping & hours of kid friendly things. Alamo, la villitas, tower of America & many more are all walkabouts

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five Star Lady
Business
El Paso Texas
Mar 17, 2011

We loved it!

We go to San Antonio twice a year or more and the Gunter is our favorite hotel. It has history but the rooms are updated. The restaurant and coffe shop are great and the bar cozy and warm. We recommend the Gunter to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at Acenar. It's only a few steps away and the food is fabulous. We liked the duck tacos and carmel crepes.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Gunter. The hotel's staff was very accommodating when we had a change in plans and needed to be relocated to a room with two beds at the last minute. The location is great, within walking distance to everything downtown (i.e. Riverwalk, Alamo, etc.) My only complaints: 1. Parking is a bit expensive (valet is $22 a day) and 2. Wifi is not included in the room price. Other than that I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, tx
Feb 21, 2011

Gunter

Pool area under renovation so could not use hot tub. Disappointed and they would not discount for inconvience. No parking accept valet at 22$. Had to park in public parking that cost 15$. Hotel did not reimburse for that. Overall would not reccomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 17, 2011

San Antonio Sheraton gunter trip

The room was huge, and had a great view of the town. The room service was great, and service was as fast as they come. The hotel was the most beautiful, and every bit of detail and craftsmanship was taken seriously in the presentation of the lobby, as well as throughout the hotel. I love the on site bakery and restaurant, not to mention the food was exquisite, and for a low price. I will be staying at this hotel every time I visit San Antonio. Sheraton never let's me down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is right across te street and has a lot to offer.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Jan 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel!

Sightseeing weekend, lovely accomodations. Staff friendly, helpful and courteous. Huge room and well appointed. Would highly recommend, within walking distance of all the nicest attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 30, 2011

Nice location

Went to the river walk every day. It was very close (2 minute walk at most). The hotel staff was friendly and the bakery inside was very good. Bathrooms are kind of small and Wifi costs in the rooms itself, but WiFi is free down in the lobby if you don't mind going down there. Nice widescreen tv! Good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the River Walk bars between 2 and 7! During this time, almost every bar is doing happy hour in which drinks are much cheaper than usual.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 16, 2011

Winter vacation...special event

My wife and I had a great time in San Antonio and the Gunter Hotel. The room and was clean and the hotel personnel were very nice and helpful. When we asked for suggestions where to eat or go, the establishments were first class. Our stay at the Gunter Hotel was a special visit and we've talked about our trip with friends and the special hotel we stayed at in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus fares were $1.10 vs the $10 to $15 cab rides that would have cost us to get around. We were in town for the All-American High School US Army sponsored football game at the Alamodome on January 8th, and we would go up to the Alamo football stadium at Trinity Univ.to watch the All-American high school marching band practice. This a was special because my daughter was chosen to be in the band.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Springfield, Ma.
Jan 15, 2011

Great People & convenient locatation

I had a very enjoyable stay, THANKS to all the staff. Everyone was very friendly, while still professional in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is convenient to get to the "riverwalk", Alamo, and other attractions.

Back to menu Return to top