$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing!... See full review

  • Nice and Relaxed Mama
  • Jun 3, 2013
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Porters
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4911
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI; San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Apr 24, 2011

not a great stay

Hotel was like from 50 years ago.. the rooms are not well equiped.. no fridge in the room.. I'm surprised they had a tv in there. The bathroom is very small.. an airplane bathroom is better.. the bathtub is dirty and the showerhead is messed up.. we had water pressure problems throughout our stay, in the middle of my shower the water stopped.. everything in the room except the tv is old and outdated.. for this kindof money I'm sure I would have found a much better place to stay at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Apr 24, 2011

not a great stay

Hotel was like from 50 years ago.. the rooms are not well equiped.. no fridge in the room.. I'm surprised they had a tv in there. The bathroom is very small.. an airplane bathroom is better.. the bathtub is dirty and the showerhead is messed up.. we had water pressure problems throughout our stay, in the middle of my shower the water stopped.. everything in the room except the tv is old and outdated.. for this kindof money I'm sure I would have found a much better place to stay at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidd
Texas,US
Apr 24, 2011

The good,but small room

I just for my voacation with my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The distance is very near.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, tx
Mar 19, 2011

Nice couples retreat

Staff from arrival to departure were exceptional. Room was comfortable and the cleanliness a breath of fresh air. We were very satisfied with the whole experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top