$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing!... See full review

  • Nice and Relaxed Mama
  • Jun 3, 2013
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Porters
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4911
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI; San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fer Mex
Mexico City
Sep 11, 2012

An excellent trip

This kind of hotels, the historic ones, are fantastic, and the Gunter is suberb. The location, the room and, above all, an staff always willing to help you. The best place in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bohanan's

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flguest2011
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Could have been better.

The location was ideal (although this obviously means expensive parking) and the lobby was beautiful, but once I got to the floor with my room, everything smelled like mildew. The room was ok besides the smell, but the bathroom was not very clean at all and had no counter space. There were hairs on the floor all around the toilet and base of the sink. The first morning, I showered before I realized there were no bath towels at all and had to dry off with hand towels. Once I requested some bath towels, the staff was helpful and apologetic. However, by far the best thing about this hotel was the bakery! Pastries were delicious and it was so nice to sit out at the tables on the sidewalk and enjoy my morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gunter Bakery was fantastic - Starbucks coffee (including all the lattes, mochas, etc, not just the coffee) and delicious pastries. Highly recommend the cream horn.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flguest2011
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Could have been better.

The location was ideal (although this obviously means expensive parking) and the lobby was beautiful, but once I got to the floor with my room, everything smelled like mildew. The room was ok besides the smell, but the bathroom was not very clean at all and had no counter space. There were hairs on the floor all around the toilet and base of the sink. The first morning, I showered before I realized there were no bath towels at all and had to dry off with hand towels. Once I requested some bath towels, the staff was helpful and apologetic. However, by far the best thing about this hotel was the bakery! Pastries were delicious and it was so nice to sit out at the tables on the sidewalk and enjoy my morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gunter Bakery was fantastic - Starbucks coffee (including all the lattes, mochas, etc, not just the coffee) and delicious pastries. Highly recommend the cream horn.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guapo
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Decent downtown spot

nice place, older so rooms a little small, we had to request a room change due to barking dog next door- careful, place allows pets. Overall ok, not stellar but good value for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guapo
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Decent downtown spot

nice place, older so rooms a little small, we had to request a room change due to barking dog next door- careful, place allows pets. Overall ok, not stellar but good value for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wouldlikesomepaidtimeoff
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 12, 2011

Comfortable and Clean

Went there for work, this was my 2nd stay at the hotel. It was clean comfortable, not much to complain about. I had a nicer room the two other times i stayed there. I stayed two nights. It is in the middle of everything very accessible and easy access to many of the tourist stuff/riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wouldlikesomepaidtimeoff
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 12, 2011

Comfortable and Clean

Went there for work, this was my 2nd stay at the hotel. It was clean comfortable, not much to complain about. I had a nicer room the two other times i stayed there. I stayed two nights. It is in the middle of everything very accessible and easy access to many of the tourist stuff/riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 6, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel AWESOME review

We were in San Antonio for a concert. The hotel was just fine. The ONLY complain I would have is that guests are charged for Parking. Come now can't that just be built into the cost of staying there? The charge is excessive, expecially when we could park across the street for a quarter of the cost that it does in the hotel parking. This is just not right. For the most part staying in a hotel is just for sleeping, prices are high enough, a hotel chain the size of sheraton can't comp for the parking? Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gunter is close to EVERYTHING touristy; like the Riverwalk, one of the malls and lots of restaurants,and theatres.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 6, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel AWESOME review

We were in San Antonio for a concert. The hotel was just fine. The ONLY complain I would have is that guests are charged for Parking. Come now can't that just be built into the cost of staying there? The charge is excessive, expecially when we could park across the street for a quarter of the cost that it does in the hotel parking. This is just not right. For the most part staying in a hotel is just for sleeping, prices are high enough, a hotel chain the size of sheraton can't comp for the parking? Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gunter is close to EVERYTHING touristy; like the Riverwalk, one of the malls and lots of restaurants,and theatres.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single in San Antonio
San Antonio, Tx
May 31, 2011

Weekend Escape!!

I enjoyed the Riverwalk Shops. Nothing was missing, New just were to go.Been here before and will keep coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single in San Antonio
San Antonio, Tx
May 31, 2011

Weekend Escape!!

I enjoyed the Riverwalk Shops. Nothing was missing, New just were to go.Been here before and will keep coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top