$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing!... See full review

  • Nice and Relaxed Mama
  • Jun 3, 2013
nice place to stay

Room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. See full review

  • plantguy
  • Aug 17, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4911
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 16.09, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers entrees, sandwiches, cheeses, and cured meats. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.
Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LM320
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Sheraton Gunther

The only reason I dinged it on cleanliness is not because the staff didn't clean the room beautifully but because the carpet was stained. But the staff are really so incredibly accommodating--it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen n Brian
Business
Austin, Texas, Vereinigte Staaten
Jan 16, 2012

good choice

good hotel, near to riverwalk and downtown minus: i got free wifi at starbucks and mcdonalds but not at a *** hotel - thats poor, very

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican bar at the riverwalk "Barriba Cantina" perfect drinks, great staff, live music, great interior

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizzyfur
Business
new jersey
Dec 7, 2011

Awesome and central

Price was great, great, central location. Went for a wedding and the hotel made a great venue for that as well. Restaurants and room service were affordable AND high quality. Cannot wait to go back with the fam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalina
Business
Shawnee, OK
Nov 27, 2011

Big Hotel

Clean, Luxery, very animal friendly, very fun. I never stayed in a hotel that big. Staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out luggage, and parking, and doggie potty situation, before making reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flguest2011
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Could have been better.

The location was ideal (although this obviously means expensive parking) and the lobby was beautiful, but once I got to the floor with my room, everything smelled like mildew. The room was ok besides the smell, but the bathroom was not very clean at all and had no counter space. There were hairs on the floor all around the toilet and base of the sink. The first morning, I showered before I realized there were no bath towels at all and had to dry off with hand towels. Once I requested some bath towels, the staff was helpful and apologetic. However, by far the best thing about this hotel was the bakery! Pastries were delicious and it was so nice to sit out at the tables on the sidewalk and enjoy my morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gunter Bakery was fantastic - Starbucks coffee (including all the lattes, mochas, etc, not just the coffee) and delicious pastries. Highly recommend the cream horn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guapo
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Decent downtown spot

nice place, older so rooms a little small, we had to request a room change due to barking dog next door- careful, place allows pets. Overall ok, not stellar but good value for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wouldlikesomepaidtimeoff
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 12, 2011

Comfortable and Clean

Went there for work, this was my 2nd stay at the hotel. It was clean comfortable, not much to complain about. I had a nicer room the two other times i stayed there. I stayed two nights. It is in the middle of everything very accessible and easy access to many of the tourist stuff/riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 6, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel AWESOME review

We were in San Antonio for a concert. The hotel was just fine. The ONLY complain I would have is that guests are charged for Parking. Come now can't that just be built into the cost of staying there? The charge is excessive, expecially when we could park across the street for a quarter of the cost that it does in the hotel parking. This is just not right. For the most part staying in a hotel is just for sleeping, prices are high enough, a hotel chain the size of sheraton can't comp for the parking? Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gunter is close to EVERYTHING touristy; like the Riverwalk, one of the malls and lots of restaurants,and theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single in San Antonio
Business
San Antonio, Tx
May 31, 2011

Weekend Escape!!

I enjoyed the Riverwalk Shops. Nothing was missing, New just were to go.Been here before and will keep coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top