$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Location!

Reserved a room for 4 people, hotel only had a room with King bed! Asked for a roll away, they kept... See full review

  • Alex from Alabama
  • Jun 25, 2015
Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away... See full review

  • Fred Sanford
  • Feb 17, 2014
The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk boasts 507 rooms and five suites on the River Walk across the street from the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and blocks from the Alamo. Rooms facing the River Walk feature a private balcony with a view of downtown. All rooms come equipped with high definition TV and offer high-speed Internet access. Indulge in hearty Mexican food at the on-site restaurant or stop into the lobby Starbucks. The business center offers equipment rentals and computer workstations. The indoor/outdoor pools are available.
Rooms

Rooms facing the River Walk feature private balconies with gorgeous views of the water below and downtown San Antonio. All of the 507 rooms feature dark wood decor and wrought-iron accents. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also offers five elegant, larger suites. A 32-inch LCD high definition TV with cable hangs in every room.

Property features

The Cactus Flower Restaurant offers traditional fare, but is most well-known for its Mexican food. Starbucks has a coffee shop on the premises. 

Highlights
  • Near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamo
  • Indoor/outdoor pools
  • Enjoy traditional and Tex-Mex fare at the Cactus Flower Cafe, or visit the in-house coffee shop, Starbucks
  • Business center offers audio/visual rentals, computer work stations, mail, shipping and courier services; 12,000 sq feet of additional meeting space
Nearby attractions
  • Plaza Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Cruise Tours (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.7 mi./4.6 km)
  • San Antonio Botanical Gardens, Lucile Halsell Conservatory (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
Business
  • Audio/visual and cell phone equipment rentals available in the business center, along with computer workstations.
  • Shipping, packaging and typing service
  • Meeting and conference rooms
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
Policies
  • On-site self parking costs $6 hourly or $25 per day. Valet parking costs $33.
  • In-room high-speed wired and wireless internet access is available for a $12.95 per day. Free Wi-Fi is available in meeting rooms and public areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Cactus Flower Restaurant
Our distinctive San Antonio Riverwalk restaurant offers both traditional and Southwestern fare in a casual and contemporary setting, making us a popular favorite in the area for any time of day.
The Bar
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks.
Starbucks®
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks conveniently located in our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Jul 26, 2010

dissapointed & letdown

after check in went up to room to find that we got a handi cap room that we did not requested ok been one that dont like to complain we keept the roomwent down stairs to the bar to find unatentive staff waited long time to get service ,order a drink they did not offer any pretzels or peanuts or if we wanted any thing from kitchen,young ,unexpirienced bartender& waitresses ,i couldnt help to noticed a man that approached the bar and got a drink after a long time waiting left loose change as a tip due to bad service bar tender picked up the changed after the man turn his back bartender acted like he was going to throw the change at the man in front everyone there at the bar, very unprofesional , very bad manners (-0).very noise room i cut hear traffic and people talking in the street from the 23rd floorshower in room very uncofortable it was one of those hand held shower heads tie off with piece of trash bag plastic to the tube bed , tv, ok view from room ok had to valet park ,self parking was full valet attendent lost keys 20 minutes to get car he blamed the other shift attendent for loosing keysi wont stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Stepdad
Business
Waterloo, IA
Mar 21, 2010

Spring Break 2010

The hotel was nice but not nearly worth what was paid. Several problems were are also experienced. The biggest problem was that there was always very little cold water and often times no cold water leaving nothing but very hot (scolding) water. During the night, the temperature in the room would vary greatly - we would be freezing then sweating alnight. The electicity went out in the bathroom twice requiring the hotel to reset a breaker each time. Lastly, the TV was almost always cutting-out on the local channels. The only good thing I can say about the stay was that the staff was super nice and the location was perfect for the Riverwalk and access to I37.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We stayed 5 days/nights. There was only one-two days worth of shopping and site-seeing in the area but not nearly enough time to experience all the great food and restraunts on the Riverwalk.

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
college station, TX
Mar 17, 2011

never again

always liked Marriott but this one comes off the list for one reason: elevator service was beyond awful. this is a 25 story hotel with totally inadequate elevator service. Waits in excess of ten minutes were the norm. Walked 10 flights down on more than one occasion. Further insult: door to Lobby was locked so had to do emergency exit onto streets and walk to the lobby. What a total crock. Also internet was $13.95/ day. Can you believe that on a $200 room ? Self Park was $25. Is this NYC or San Antonio???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nolarhoco
Business
New Orleans
Oct 1, 2014

Misrepresented

The hotel was conveniently located, it was clean, if a bit worn, and the staff was generally helpful. However, the hotel is being renovated, information that was not disclosed when I called before making my reservation. (The front desk staff told me they were not allowed to tell guests prior to check in that the hotel is under renovation.) When I checked in, I was told that construction work would occur between 9-5 every day, and that the hotel's Riverwalk access was blocked by construction. Since I was not planning to be in the hotel between those hours and the Riverwalk is accessible from other locations, the noise and lack of access were not issues for me. While the hotel posted updates on their in-house channel, those were inaccurate: construction work took place on Sunday, but the update said no work was scheduled for that day. On the last day of my stay, the water was cut off in the middle of my shower at 9 a.m. - without warning or advance notice. I had to use bottled water to rinse off. The front desk apologized and said they had only just been told that the construction work would affect the water supply. My breakfast was comp'd for one day, and I was offered another room -- not useful since I was checking out. The towels in the bathroom were thin, and the room was humid -- the towels never dried out. My room was near the service elevator for the hotel staff, and on my first day I could hear a maid in the hallway having an argument on the phone with her boyfriend as she waited for the elevator -- thin walls. The renovations and updates are needed, but just be aware that the work is scheduled to continue for a few months -- and they won't tell you about it until you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leander
Sep 28, 2008

Not much for the money

First off the room was very small. No frigerator,no microwave ,no machine for snacks available. On the positive side breakfast was more than expected more than you can eat. Bed was comfortable too. Access to the San Antiono riverwalk was perfect, I must say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the breakfast if you have the money. And do not miss the Riverwalk.

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kampy
Business
San Antonio
Mar 23, 2014

Marriott stay

Carpets were filty! Wall paper coming off the walls. Beds were great, staff was exceptional. Only the room didn't live up to Marriott standards! Location was super! If they make the changes, it would be an ideal place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trip was to San Antonio, TX
Aug 26, 2009

Great Package by Cheap Tickets

Great overall experience, pool supervisor was kindest person in the hotel the entire week and is to be commended. Small touches like the fresh lemon water daily in the fitness center made a difference. Pool area inside a bit cold due to partially inside (under a/c), partially outside, (caught a terrible cold going from warm whirlpool, pool water and sauna to cold interior air in interior pool area), but overall well kept facility and a great week there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RA2012
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 19, 2012

great location but small room

I didn't expect to get such a small room for a 4 stat hotel! It wasn't comfortable at all for 3 of us. We had full beds and it was barely enough room to walk. Also everything in the room was very old but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Biga at the bank restaurant, It was great!

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thanks1234
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

NICE

Everything was great....we paid a hefty price but the location was prime on the riverwalk plenty to do. We enjoyed our stay, we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Biga on the Banks...its about 3 blocks from the hotel right down the riverwalk. The best dinner i've ever had out. very pricey but well worth it. I cant wait to go back

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzeth
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 3, 2009

Great Location

Hotel was very nice and clean but a bit noisy. The first night we were disturbed by a maid that mistakenly came to our room with a corkscrew at midnight. Lack of free internet or wifi in the rooms was unusual and the cost was quite high. There was free wifi in the lobby area but the walk-up pc's that were available charged for internet connection. In this day, much cheaper and less elegant hotels offer this free service standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great live music just outside the hotel on the terrace of the Riverwalk.

Back to menu Return to top