$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
112 reviews
Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away... See full review

  • Fred Sanford
  • Feb 17, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close... See full review

  • chris dallas traveler
  • Aug 19, 2013
Traditional Texas charm and elegance at this River Walk hotel, three blocks from The Alamo
The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk boasts 507 rooms and five suites on the River Walk across the street from the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and blocks from the Alamo. Rooms facing the River Walk feature a private balcony with a view of downtown. All rooms come equipped with high definition TV and offer high-speed Internet access. Indulge in hearty Mexican food at the on-site restaurant or stop into the lobby Starbucks. The business center offers equipment rentals and computer workstations. The indoor/outdoor pools are available.
Highlights
  • Near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamo
  • Indoor/outdoor pools
  • Enjoy traditional and Tex-Mex fare at the Cactus Flower Cafe, or visit the in-house coffee shop, Starbucks
  • Business center offers audio/visual rentals, computer work stations, mail, shipping and courier services; 12,000 sq feet of additional meeting space
Rooms

Rooms facing the River Walk feature private balconies with gorgeous views of the water below and downtown San Antonio. All of the 507 rooms feature dark wood decor and wrought-iron accents. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also offers five elegant, larger suites. A 32-inch LCD high definition TV with cable hangs in every room.

Features

The Cactus Flower Restaurant offers traditional fare, but is most well-known for its Mexican food. Starbucks has a coffee shop on the premises. 

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Cruise Tours (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.7 mi./4.6 km)
  • San Antonio Botanical Gardens, Lucile Halsell Conservatory (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
Business
  • Audio/visual and cell phone equipment rentals available in the business center, along with computer workstations.
  • Shipping, packaging and typing service
  • Meeting and conference rooms
Policies and fees
  • On-site self parking costs $6 hourly or $25 per day. Valet parking costs $33.
  • In-room high-speed wired and wireless internet access is available for a $12.95 per day. Free Wi-Fi is available in meeting rooms and public areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Cactus Flower Restaurant
Our distinctive San Antonio Riverwalk restaurant offers both traditional and Southwestern fare in a casual and contemporary setting, making us a popular favorite in the area for any time of day.
The Bar
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks.
Starbucks®
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks conveniently located in our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chris dallas traveler
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close proximity to many restaurants and shops. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. We'll return back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 29, 2009

Friendly & Clean

The hotel is in a great location & is well kept. The staff is friendly & helpful. However, the bed & pillows are very uncomfortable. The windows seem very poor quality since we heard street traffic/noise even being on the 26th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven CT
Nov 15, 2009

Excellent Trip to San antonio

Very nice property located across the street from the convention center. Overall 9-10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ellinnc
Business
Sunset Beach, NC
Nov 12, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

WE traversed the River Walk and that was our intent. THe Hotel was very helpful getting to and from restaurants. THe location is the best, right next to the River Center-catch the barge-jump onto the cabs and buses and walking the downtown is so easy. Everyone is so helpful and giving great directions. Even a Health worker at a bus stop, checked to see if the No. 7 line was working on Vets DAy. Great Time and would recommend it to everyone! We loved the accomadations and the City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luciania's on the River Walk across fron the Marriot-River Walk-- THe greatest food for decent prices and great waitstaff---Ask for [...]--he is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I don't do nicknames
Business
Storrs, CT
Nov 10, 2009

Riverwalk Marriott

On the River Walk with a great view from the 14th floor. I'm not a fan of surprises and there weren't any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
visiting a soldier
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 9, 2009

beautiful hotel + great service

the hotel is in a great location- across the street from the Rivercenter mall and next to the Riverwalk. The staff was very friendly and professional... the rooms were spotless, comfortable, well-furnished (even with a flat screen tv and armchair!). you really get what you paid for: expensive, but well worth it for my little weekend getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Nov 6, 2009

Great location

Better than the last hotel we stayed in by a long shot. This one was actually ON the Riverwalk! Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Right across from a mall and a great Brazilian restaurant. Hotel access to Riverwalk. We were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Brazilian restaurant right across the street. Great food, all you can eat, for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof Joe
Business
Santa Fe, Nm
Nov 3, 2009

Great location in San Antonio

We flew into San Antonio on a package (flight, car and hotel) for the weekend. It saved us some money and the accommodations were excellent. Access to the Marriott Riverwalk on the Market Street entrance was a bit confusing -- a one way street and the turn in required a reverse entry. Hotel parking prices were expensive ($25-$44 a day) and the lot full, however, the valet pointed us to the underground parking garage next door. The price was $8 per day. Our first room was wheelchair friendly, which we did not need. The room and shower were oversize. Unfortunately the shower could not be turned completely off and dripped throughout the night. A repair person could not fix it and the hall carpet became saturated so we requested another room. Although smaller, it was very nice. We would choose the Marriott Riverwalk again -- friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and very convenient to the San Antonio river and the River Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I suggest that you do not park in the hotel parking garage. ($44 a day for valet parking). Instead, drive 50 feet and park your own car in the parking garage next to the Marriott Riverwalk on Market Street for $8 -charges are 24 hours 9am to 9am. It is an easy access to I-35 and other major freeways. Late fall is an excellent time to be in San Antonio -- the summers can get very warm. During the holidays the river walk is spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron&Cort
Business
Sarasota,Fl.
Nov 3, 2009

Best Choice

The hotels' location to the Riverwalk,Alamo and other places of interest was great.It was clean,updated and had a balcony with a wonderful view of downtown San Antonio. The only complaint was the parking at the hotel being 27.00 or 33.00 if using valet however there is a public garage next door at 8.00 per day. Despite, this issue for the money the hotel makes it worth it I would strongly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants about 5 min. walk very easy ,very safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
Nov 1, 2009

Wonderful location for the price

We enjoyed the hotel location, everything we wanted to do/see was within walking distance. We spent many hrs. walking the Riverwalk route, stopping at stores, eating along the way, taking the riverboat ride, went to the Imax theatre to see the "Alamo" before touring the Alamo. The Alamo meant a lot more to us after seeing the 40 min. film. Number 1 for me was walking the King Williams Historic neighborhood. Our 5 day trip was everything I wanted to do -- very memorable. Took a side trip to Fredricksburg (71 miles) was very quaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Kelly's pub had 2 great piano players that entertained people while people ate peanuts and drank beer. Several Jazz bands in the area. IMax theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Milwaukee Barb
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 29, 2009

Really a nice place to stay!!

Best hotel stay ever!! Can be a bit noisy if you keep the patio door open. The bed was very comfortable and I even asked where to buy a pillow. It was better than the one I have at home. Nice and clean. Didn't have that hotel smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top