$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KC, MO
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel was great!

Enjoyable hotel, location and things to do! Riverwalk was fun - didn't know til we got there that they were going to be draining it on Sun night/Mon morn. But was interesting to watch the cleaning and all. So many things to do and hotel is perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Great location, nice room

We stayed here for six nights and had an overall great experience. The location was incredible - the hotel opens up straight onto the river walk, is right next to the other Marriott/shopping mall, and is a 5 min walk to the Alamo, Alamodome, Tower of the Americas, etc. You could easily do without a car if you planned on staying in the downtown area for most of your trip, everything is so close and lovely to walk around. The room was very nice and clean (great linens!) although I would have gladly traded part of the large bedroom/sitting area for more bathroom space. The room was HUGE but you had to climb over the toilet to close the shower door, it was that tight. The fitness center was great (chilled towels!) - new cardio and weight machines (with TVs attached and headphones available to borrow). Loved the indoor/outdoor aspect of the pool but it's really shallow - 3'9" at the deep end. It was still wonderful to wade around in and was the perfect temperature. Very friendly front desk staff. Friendly housekeeping crew too, although they were almost *too* attentive. I was sick for part of our trip and had the "do not disturb" thing on the door knob but got 3 calls from housekeeping over the course of the day wondering when they could come in and clean - they wouldn't take no for an answer! A weird thing to complain about, but it irked me nonetheless. Nothing is quite as jarring as a hotel telephone ring. We didn't rent any pay-per-view movies but the selection was incredible! There is also a movie theatre and IMAX within walking distance of the hotel. If/when we return to San Antonio, I would definitely consider staying here again (ultimately depends on $$!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the restaurants above AND below the river walk - there are so many options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Great location, nice room

We stayed here for six nights and had an overall great experience. The location was incredible - the hotel opens up straight onto the river walk, is right next to the other Marriott/shopping mall, and is a 5 min walk to the Alamo, Alamodome, Tower of the Americas, etc. You could easily do without a car if you planned on staying in the downtown area for most of your trip, everything is so close and lovely to walk around. The room was very nice and clean (great linens!) although I would have gladly traded part of the large bedroom/sitting area for more bathroom space. The room was HUGE but you had to climb over the toilet to close the shower door, it was that tight. The fitness center was great (chilled towels!) - new cardio and weight machines (with TVs attached and headphones available to borrow). Loved the indoor/outdoor aspect of the pool but it's really shallow - 3'9" at the deep end. It was still wonderful to wade around in and was the perfect temperature. Very friendly front desk staff. Friendly housekeeping crew too, although they were almost *too* attentive. I was sick for part of our trip and had the "do not disturb" thing on the door knob but got 3 calls from housekeeping over the course of the day wondering when they could come in and clean - they wouldn't take no for an answer! A weird thing to complain about, but it irked me nonetheless. Nothing is quite as jarring as a hotel telephone ring. We didn't rent any pay-per-view movies but the selection was incredible! There is also a movie theatre and IMAX within walking distance of the hotel. If/when we return to San Antonio, I would definitely consider staying here again (ultimately depends on $$!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the restaurants above AND below the river walk - there are so many options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnstown, PA
Dec 18, 2009

Great location near the Riverwalk

Great service and loved our location. San Antonio is very friendly to tourists and it was easy to get around to see the sights. Best big city vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 9, 2009

[...]

Very nice being located to downtown shopping and riverwalk. Due to construction at convention center, it was noisy (obviously a temporary condition). Otherwise, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 9, 2009

[...]

Very nice being located to downtown shopping and riverwalk. Due to construction at convention center, it was noisy (obviously a temporary condition). Otherwise, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 7, 2009

Great location but rooms need updating.

Wonderful staff, great location but Marriott needs to spend some time and money to bring the hotel to a condition worthy of the Marriott name. First room had a condensate line over the bathroom sink which steadily dripped. It dripped on my head and clothes. The shower had no hot water. The staff apologized and moved me to a similar room without the aforementioned problems but there were terrible stains on the carpet. The weather was unseasonably cold and the lobby was very cold as were the meeting rooms on the Ballroom level which was one open floor up from the lobby. They need vestibules or air-locks at their entry doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go to San Antonio to experience the Riverwalk and the Alamo. The Marriott is immediately adjacent to the Riverwalk and the Alamo is about a five minute walk. The Convention Center is just across the street in front of the hotel with a great shopping mall across the street to the rear of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 30, 2009

Great Place

The location is perfect for exploring the Riverwalk and old San Antonio. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 29, 2009

Friendly & Clean

The hotel is in a great location & is well kept. The staff is friendly & helpful. However, the bed & pillows are very uncomfortable. The windows seem very poor quality since we heard street traffic/noise even being on the 26th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven CT
Nov 15, 2009

Excellent Trip to San antonio

Very nice property located across the street from the convention center. Overall 9-10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top