$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Mar 29, 2010

Great location and excellent service

We were able to enjoy the Riverwalk and the Alamo due to the location of the hotel being in the downtown area. We also went to the Tower of the America all within walking distance of the hotel. We also had our choice of any type of food we could possibly want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Mar 28, 2010

Riverwalk

Everything was good except for the small shower area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would have preferred to have stayed at the Hilton on the Riverwalk == Palacio del Rio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
riverwalk
Mar 22, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

Location is right in the riverwalk. Walking distance to many sights. Bus 64 out front of hotel will take you to Sea World for only $2.50 a person one way-alot cheaper than a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denney's is only a block away for cheaper eats. Their food was very good and service was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday mom -
Business
Plano, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Outstanding Customer Service

We arrived on Tuesday evening before St. Patrick's Day to find that the hotel was over-booked due to travelers who couldn't get out because of flights. The hotel walked us across the streee to an equally rated hotel and came back the next morning to get our things and put them in our new room. Then when they found out it was BOTH our daughter's birthday's on St. Patrick's Day, they were so very apologetic that they had put us out, they comp'd us an adjoining room so that we had more space. AND, because it was both of our daughter's birthday on St. Patrick's Day and the hotel went out of there way to ensure they had fun. They sent a "birthday cart" to our room with cake, chocolates, signed cards by the staff and a fun "St. Patrick's Day - giant pin". Our entire stay was one we will never forget and we will surely go back to the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk when we travel back to the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luciano's Italian Resturant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Stepdad
Business
Waterloo, IA
Mar 21, 2010

Spring Break 2010

The hotel was nice but not nearly worth what was paid. Several problems were are also experienced. The biggest problem was that there was always very little cold water and often times no cold water leaving nothing but very hot (scolding) water. During the night, the temperature in the room would vary greatly - we would be freezing then sweating alnight. The electicity went out in the bathroom twice requiring the hotel to reset a breaker each time. Lastly, the TV was almost always cutting-out on the local channels. The only good thing I can say about the stay was that the staff was super nice and the location was perfect for the Riverwalk and access to I37.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We stayed 5 days/nights. There was only one-two days worth of shopping and site-seeing in the area but not nearly enough time to experience all the great food and restraunts on the Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfm
Business
Huntington, WV
Feb 28, 2010

Marriott Riverwalk, San Antonio, Tx

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lillington, north carolina
Feb 22, 2010

excellent location for the trip

just relaxed and enjoyed the sights, rodeo,and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

get up early and be prepared to spend the first one or two days getting acclamated to the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KC, MO
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel was great!

Enjoyable hotel, location and things to do! Riverwalk was fun - didn't know til we got there that they were going to be draining it on Sun night/Mon morn. But was interesting to watch the cleaning and all. So many things to do and hotel is perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Great location, nice room

We stayed here for six nights and had an overall great experience. The location was incredible - the hotel opens up straight onto the river walk, is right next to the other Marriott/shopping mall, and is a 5 min walk to the Alamo, Alamodome, Tower of the Americas, etc. You could easily do without a car if you planned on staying in the downtown area for most of your trip, everything is so close and lovely to walk around. The room was very nice and clean (great linens!) although I would have gladly traded part of the large bedroom/sitting area for more bathroom space. The room was HUGE but you had to climb over the toilet to close the shower door, it was that tight. The fitness center was great (chilled towels!) - new cardio and weight machines (with TVs attached and headphones available to borrow). Loved the indoor/outdoor aspect of the pool but it's really shallow - 3'9" at the deep end. It was still wonderful to wade around in and was the perfect temperature. Very friendly front desk staff. Friendly housekeeping crew too, although they were almost *too* attentive. I was sick for part of our trip and had the "do not disturb" thing on the door knob but got 3 calls from housekeeping over the course of the day wondering when they could come in and clean - they wouldn't take no for an answer! A weird thing to complain about, but it irked me nonetheless. Nothing is quite as jarring as a hotel telephone ring. We didn't rent any pay-per-view movies but the selection was incredible! There is also a movie theatre and IMAX within walking distance of the hotel. If/when we return to San Antonio, I would definitely consider staying here again (ultimately depends on $$!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the restaurants above AND below the river walk - there are so many options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnstown, PA
Dec 18, 2009

Great location near the Riverwalk

Great service and loved our location. San Antonio is very friendly to tourists and it was easy to get around to see the sights. Best big city vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top