$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Jul 10, 2011

Great location

Pro's: Loved being right on the riverwalk! It was right across the street from the riverwalk mall, which had some less expensive places to eat. When we got to the hotel they had reserved a room with king sized bed, which was a problem, since we had our two children with us! They gave us a room with a balcony overlooking the riverwalk (which actually cost more) at no additional charge. Cons: Valet parking at hotel was available for an outrageous amount. There is a parking garage right on the corner for a whole lot less! When you book, be careful about the continental breakfast. You have to pay extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of eateries within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Jul 9, 2011

fun family vacation

We stayed in San Antonio for the first time and Martiot river walk was the perfect place to stay. The hotel was very nice and rooms were good too. The only thing we didn't like was that the pool was only 3ft deep, it was not fun to swim at all. I had lost my video camera and camera at the hotel and they found it and shipped to me free of charge so that was nice. The hotel had Starbucks inside so that was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ripley's believe it or not, wax museum, and the moving 4d movie was a good package deal. Eating on the river walk was nice too. We enjoyed that alot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 23, 2011

Marriott riverwalk

visited family and sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many oppurtinities for fine dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west virginia
May 2, 2011

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Hotel was in a noisy area; easy walk to Riverwalk for meals and local mall (Rivercenter). Staff was very nice, food good in the Cactus Flower. Meeting area: sound good, climate control too cold, adequeate room for 250 people. Room was adequate, it is an older hotel and the rooms express that, but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Itialian Resturaunt on First Floow of Rivercenter has very good food, and I do mean very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris TN
Apr 2, 2011

Mixed Review

The Marriott Riverwalk is very nice and the room was clean, the cleaning staff was extraordinary. We were never inconvenienced by them cleaning. We would leave our room and come back after breakfast and it would already be cleaned. They were awesome...well managed. The rest of the staff were equally nice. They have an ATM on site which was helpful. The restaurant & bar was good but overpriced. The only real negative was the location. You are right at the riverwalk but on one end of the riverwalk where it splits and dead ends, not somewhere in the "circle" and the lowest rooms begin with the 7th floor, so while you are on the riverwalk you're too high up to feel like you're "on the riverwalk". However, the hotel is right by the place where you buy tickets & board the pontoon boat tours and right across the street from the Rivercenter mall which is very convenient. Overall a great trip & place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Alamo is awesome, but small and it doesn't take long to go through it, so plan to go across the street to the wax museum and theatre & maybe Ripleys Odditorium. They are right across the street and fun. The Alamo itself is maybe a half a mile from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
college station, TX
Mar 17, 2011

never again

always liked Marriott but this one comes off the list for one reason: elevator service was beyond awful. this is a 25 story hotel with totally inadequate elevator service. Waits in excess of ten minutes were the norm. Walked 10 flights down on more than one occasion. Further insult: door to Lobby was locked so had to do emergency exit onto streets and walk to the lobby. What a total crock. Also internet was $13.95/ day. Can you believe that on a $200 room ? Self Park was $25. Is this NYC or San Antonio???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average Juan
Business
Hondo, tx
Mar 9, 2011

It was ok

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It didn't have most of the simple commodities that an average hotel has such as: no microwave, no mini fridge, and no table(just a work desk). In the end I was not impressed by the Mariott. For the price of luxury it wasn't very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Locate downtown across the street from the Rivercenter mall and the down town shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Air Force grandfather
Business
Ohio
Mar 8, 2011

Great getaway

A very nice Hotel. The only thing that would have made it better would have been a microwaeve and samll refrierator. Enjoyed our stay while spending time with our grandson who graduated the boot camp at Lackland AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 13, 2010

Nice but a bit pricey

very clean, non-smoking for the hotel is the plus. It was also nice being right on the riverwalk. We just walked out the back, down the steps and we were there. I've stayed at 3 or 4 different hotels on and off the riverwalk and this one was probably the best so far. My only complaint was that it was a bit pricer and I'm not sure it was SOOO much nicer than other hotels to warrant the $300/night price. The only other complaint I have is that it was quite noisy. We've lived in NYC and the noise level was almost as bad as living right over a busy street in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

less than a short walk to the riverwalk mall and all the shops on the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaybrd
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 30, 2010

Best destination for Riverwalk

The Marriot Riverwalk is centrally located in the heart of San Antonio on a quieter part of the Riverwalk. We stayed there 21 years ago with our children during the holidays. We returned this year and left with the same impression prevoiusly gained, there is no other place on the riverwalk we would prefer to stay. The staff was most gracious and helpful, food in the Cactus Flower was delicious and while the rooms were not outstanding (still better than ordinary), we view it as the best value on the river as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many things to see in San Antonio, the Alamo, Menger Hotel, Hemisfair Park, the heart of the Riverwalk, and Market Square are all within walking distance of the Marriot Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top