$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
189 reviews
Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away... See full review

  • Fred Sanford
  • Feb 17, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close... See full review

  • chris dallas traveler
  • Aug 19, 2013
Traditional Texas charm and elegance at this River Walk hotel, three blocks from The Alamo
The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk boasts 507 rooms and five suites on the River Walk across the street from the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and blocks from the Alamo. Rooms facing the River Walk feature a private balcony with a view of downtown. All rooms come equipped with high definition TV and offer high-speed Internet access. Indulge in hearty Mexican food at the on-site restaurant or stop into the lobby Starbucks. The business center offers equipment rentals and computer workstations. The indoor/outdoor pools are available.
Highlights
  • Near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamo
  • Indoor/outdoor pools
  • Enjoy traditional and Tex-Mex fare at the Cactus Flower Cafe, or visit the in-house coffee shop, Starbucks
  • Business center offers audio/visual rentals, computer work stations, mail, shipping and courier services; 12,000 sq feet of additional meeting space
Rooms

Rooms facing the River Walk feature private balconies with gorgeous views of the water below and downtown San Antonio. All of the 507 rooms feature dark wood decor and wrought-iron accents. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also offers five elegant, larger suites. A 32-inch LCD high definition TV with cable hangs in every room.

Features

The Cactus Flower Restaurant offers traditional fare, but is most well-known for its Mexican food. Starbucks has a coffee shop on the premises. 

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Cruise Tours (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.7 mi./4.6 km)
  • San Antonio Botanical Gardens, Lucile Halsell Conservatory (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
Business
  • Audio/visual and cell phone equipment rentals available in the business center, along with computer workstations.
  • Shipping, packaging and typing service
  • Meeting and conference rooms
Policies and fees
  • On-site self parking costs $6 hourly or $25 per day. Valet parking costs $33.
  • In-room high-speed wired and wireless internet access is available for a $12.95 per day. Free Wi-Fi is available in meeting rooms and public areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4222 -98.4843
Area served
Downtown San Antonio
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Cactus Flower Restaurant
Our distinctive San Antonio Riverwalk restaurant offers both traditional and Southwestern fare in a casual and contemporary setting, making us a popular favorite in the area for any time of day.
The Bar
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks.
Starbucks®
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks conveniently located in our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
KC, MO
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel was great!

Enjoyable hotel, location and things to do! Riverwalk was fun - didn't know til we got there that they were going to be draining it on Sun night/Mon morn. But was interesting to watch the cleaning and all. So many things to do and hotel is perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
KC, MO
Jan 6, 2010

Hotel was great!

Enjoyable hotel, location and things to do! Riverwalk was fun - didn't know til we got there that they were going to be draining it on Sun night/Mon morn. But was interesting to watch the cleaning and all. So many things to do and hotel is perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Great location, nice room

We stayed here for six nights and had an overall great experience. The location was incredible - the hotel opens up straight onto the river walk, is right next to the other Marriott/shopping mall, and is a 5 min walk to the Alamo, Alamodome, Tower of the Americas, etc. You could easily do without a car if you planned on staying in the downtown area for most of your trip, everything is so close and lovely to walk around. The room was very nice and clean (great linens!) although I would have gladly traded part of the large bedroom/sitting area for more bathroom space. The room was HUGE but you had to climb over the toilet to close the shower door, it was that tight. The fitness center was great (chilled towels!) - new cardio and weight machines (with TVs attached and headphones available to borrow). Loved the indoor/outdoor aspect of the pool but it's really shallow - 3'9" at the deep end. It was still wonderful to wade around in and was the perfect temperature. Very friendly front desk staff. Friendly housekeeping crew too, although they were almost *too* attentive. I was sick for part of our trip and had the "do not disturb" thing on the door knob but got 3 calls from housekeeping over the course of the day wondering when they could come in and clean - they wouldn't take no for an answer! A weird thing to complain about, but it irked me nonetheless. Nothing is quite as jarring as a hotel telephone ring. We didn't rent any pay-per-view movies but the selection was incredible! There is also a movie theatre and IMAX within walking distance of the hotel. If/when we return to San Antonio, I would definitely consider staying here again (ultimately depends on $$!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to check out the restaurants above AND below the river walk - there are so many options!

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Johnstown, PA
Dec 18, 2009

Great location near the Riverwalk

Great service and loved our location. San Antonio is very friendly to tourists and it was easy to get around to see the sights. Best big city vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Johnstown, PA
Dec 18, 2009

Great location near the Riverwalk

Great service and loved our location. San Antonio is very friendly to tourists and it was easy to get around to see the sights. Best big city vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Dec 9, 2009

[...]

Very nice being located to downtown shopping and riverwalk. Due to construction at convention center, it was noisy (obviously a temporary condition). Otherwise, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 7, 2009

Great location but rooms need updating.

Wonderful staff, great location but Marriott needs to spend some time and money to bring the hotel to a condition worthy of the Marriott name. First room had a condensate line over the bathroom sink which steadily dripped. It dripped on my head and clothes. The shower had no hot water. The staff apologized and moved me to a similar room without the aforementioned problems but there were terrible stains on the carpet. The weather was unseasonably cold and the lobby was very cold as were the meeting rooms on the Ballroom level which was one open floor up from the lobby. They need vestibules or air-locks at their entry doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go to San Antonio to experience the Riverwalk and the Alamo. The Marriott is immediately adjacent to the Riverwalk and the Alamo is about a five minute walk. The Convention Center is just across the street in front of the hotel with a great shopping mall across the street to the rear of the hotel.

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 7, 2009

Great location but rooms need updating.

Wonderful staff, great location but Marriott needs to spend some time and money to bring the hotel to a condition worthy of the Marriott name. First room had a condensate line over the bathroom sink which steadily dripped. It dripped on my head and clothes. The shower had no hot water. The staff apologized and moved me to a similar room without the aforementioned problems but there were terrible stains on the carpet. The weather was unseasonably cold and the lobby was very cold as were the meeting rooms on the Ballroom level which was one open floor up from the lobby. They need vestibules or air-locks at their entry doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just go to San Antonio to experience the Riverwalk and the Alamo. The Marriott is immediately adjacent to the Riverwalk and the Alamo is about a five minute walk. The Convention Center is just across the street in front of the hotel with a great shopping mall across the street to the rear of the hotel.

Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Nov 30, 2009

Great Place

The location is perfect for exploring the Riverwalk and old San Antonio. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Nov 30, 2009

Great Place

The location is perfect for exploring the Riverwalk and old San Antonio. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top