$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
111 reviews
Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away... See full review

  • Fred Sanford
  • Feb 17, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close... See full review

  • chris dallas traveler
  • Aug 19, 2013
Traditional Texas charm and elegance at this River Walk hotel, three blocks from The Alamo
The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk boasts 507 rooms and five suites on the River Walk across the street from the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and blocks from the Alamo. Rooms facing the River Walk feature a private balcony with a view of downtown. All rooms come equipped with high definition TV and offer high-speed Internet access. Indulge in hearty Mexican food at the on-site restaurant or stop into the lobby Starbucks. The business center offers equipment rentals and computer workstations. The indoor/outdoor pools are available.
Highlights
  • Near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamo
  • Indoor/outdoor pools
  • Enjoy traditional and Tex-Mex fare at the Cactus Flower Cafe, or visit the in-house coffee shop, Starbucks
  • Business center offers audio/visual rentals, computer work stations, mail, shipping and courier services; 12,000 sq feet of additional meeting space
Rooms

Rooms facing the River Walk feature private balconies with gorgeous views of the water below and downtown San Antonio. All of the 507 rooms feature dark wood decor and wrought-iron accents. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also offers five elegant, larger suites. A 32-inch LCD high definition TV with cable hangs in every room.

Features

The Cactus Flower Restaurant offers traditional fare, but is most well-known for its Mexican food. Starbucks has a coffee shop on the premises. 

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Cruise Tours (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.7 mi./4.6 km)
  • San Antonio Botanical Gardens, Lucile Halsell Conservatory (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
Business
  • Audio/visual and cell phone equipment rentals available in the business center, along with computer workstations.
  • Shipping, packaging and typing service
  • Meeting and conference rooms
Policies and fees
  • On-site self parking costs $6 hourly or $25 per day. Valet parking costs $33.
  • In-room high-speed wired and wireless internet access is available for a $12.95 per day. Free Wi-Fi is available in meeting rooms and public areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4222 -98.4843
Area served
Downtown San Antonio
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Cactus Flower Restaurant
Our distinctive San Antonio Riverwalk restaurant offers both traditional and Southwestern fare in a casual and contemporary setting, making us a popular favorite in the area for any time of day.
The Bar
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks.
Starbucks®
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks conveniently located in our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnsboro, Texas
Aug 13, 2009

good location

The ideal location on the riverwalk and adjacent to a nice mall salvaged the trip. For a birthday surprise trip for my wife, having no rooms available with a bed suitable for two is inexcusable and unacceptable. No free computer/internet access was also somewhat surprising. Check-in "technician" [...] was amazingly unsympathetic about bed/room shortage and was somewhat curt about parking arrangements. She appeared inflexible and more concerned about delivering data than accommodating patrons. ALL other front desk personnel for the remainder of our stay were gracious and much more helpful. The hotel's in house restaurant did not appear to be competitive price-wise with other dining options in the immediate vicinity. It's a common dilemma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, walk up Commerce one block to Denny's. For lunch and dinner, walk into the mall and down the riverwalk and choose from dozens of excellent options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzeth
Houston, Texas
Aug 3, 2009

Great Location

Hotel was very nice and clean but a bit noisy. The first night we were disturbed by a maid that mistakenly came to our room with a corkscrew at midnight. Lack of free internet or wifi in the rooms was unusual and the cost was quite high. There was free wifi in the lobby area but the walk-up pc's that were available charged for internet connection. In this day, much cheaper and less elegant hotels offer this free service standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great live music just outside the hotel on the terrace of the Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellisville, MS
Aug 3, 2009

Great service

While in San Antonio for another meeting, I was delighted to stay at the Marriott Riverwalk. From check in to check out, everything was great. Everyone that I came in contact with, from front desk to valets, bellmen, restaurant staff, and housekeeping, was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. They were always willing to offer advice to make my stay more enjoyable. It is very convenient as it is directly across the street from the convention center and on the famed Riverwalk. I wholeheartedly recommend the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Cindy
Fayetteville NC
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent location

The Marriott Riverwalk is ideally located so that it is possible to walk to many of the downtown places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas Historic Tours is now offering a Foodie Tour. It was outstanding and a lot of fun. It allowed us to sample many different kinds of food in the San Antonio area. The Hill Country tour was also quite enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Off Tee
Oklahoma
Jul 23, 2009

Average Hotel

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay on the Riverwalk. The downtown area is fantastic. In terms of the Marriott compared to other Marriott's, I would give this hotel an average rating. We had to wait to check in for our room about an hour past check-in time of 4pm. In addition, for the area, and to a degree, the Marriott price gouged on all the amenities other hotels in the area consider part of the hotel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't go wrong with any of the finer dining establishments on the Riverwalk. Great service and great quality food priced okay for the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph from STL
St Louis, MO
Jul 20, 2009

Wonderful San Antonio

I got into San Antonio at 10 am. They were able to help me get a room that morning. It was a fabulous room on the 22nd floor. It has a great view of the city and of the river walk. The staff were wonderful and very nice. They even had toiletries that I could not take on the plane and that saved me money. They were helpful and provided a map of the area so that I would not get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have time just take a walk on the riverwalk for fun. If you would like mexican food, just through a penny in any direction and you will find wonderful chips and salsa. If you are a fan of Irish pubs try Durty Nelly's. There is a little bit of everything on the river walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, DE
Jul 13, 2009

Disappointed

Nice location on the San Antonio Riverwalk, which we enjoyed. Could not sleep until late first night due to music blaring on Plaza 10 stories below. Changed rooms next morning to get away from noise. New room had stopped up sink and leaking drain pipe. Had maintenance staff in room most of morning. First room also had stopped up sink. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but this should not happen at full service Marriott. Requested a room comp. for one night - will see if we get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good entertainment and eating on Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Jul 1, 2009

fantastic family getaway

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
COLORADO
Jun 23, 2009

Good location

The hotel was fine. Not outstanding but no major complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
$2 Dave
Business
Norwood NJ
Jun 19, 2009

Great Value & Location

Very efficient check-in. Nice room with large flat screen TV. The management gave me some salsa and chips plus 2 Coronas - I'm not sure why (I am a Silver Marriott Rewards member) but it was appreciated. Got a great price from Orbitz - didn't get any points however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top