$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

4 stars
889 East Market Street, 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
112 reviews
Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away... See full review

  • Fred Sanford
  • Feb 17, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close... See full review

  • chris dallas traveler
  • Aug 19, 2013
Traditional Texas charm and elegance at this River Walk hotel, three blocks from The Alamo
The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk boasts 507 rooms and five suites on the River Walk across the street from the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and blocks from the Alamo. Rooms facing the River Walk feature a private balcony with a view of downtown. All rooms come equipped with high definition TV and offer high-speed Internet access. Indulge in hearty Mexican food at the on-site restaurant or stop into the lobby Starbucks. The business center offers equipment rentals and computer workstations. The indoor/outdoor pools are available.
Highlights
  • Near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamo
  • Indoor/outdoor pools
  • Enjoy traditional and Tex-Mex fare at the Cactus Flower Cafe, or visit the in-house coffee shop, Starbucks
  • Business center offers audio/visual rentals, computer work stations, mail, shipping and courier services; 12,000 sq feet of additional meeting space
Rooms

Rooms facing the River Walk feature private balconies with gorgeous views of the water below and downtown San Antonio. All of the 507 rooms feature dark wood decor and wrought-iron accents. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also offers five elegant, larger suites. A 32-inch LCD high definition TV with cable hangs in every room.

Features

The Cactus Flower Restaurant offers traditional fare, but is most well-known for its Mexican food. Starbucks has a coffee shop on the premises. 

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Cruise Tours (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.7 mi./4.6 km)
  • San Antonio Botanical Gardens, Lucile Halsell Conservatory (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
Business
  • Audio/visual and cell phone equipment rentals available in the business center, along with computer workstations.
  • Shipping, packaging and typing service
  • Meeting and conference rooms
Policies and fees
  • On-site self parking costs $6 hourly or $25 per day. Valet parking costs $33.
  • In-room high-speed wired and wireless internet access is available for a $12.95 per day. Free Wi-Fi is available in meeting rooms and public areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Cactus Flower Restaurant
Our distinctive San Antonio Riverwalk restaurant offers both traditional and Southwestern fare in a casual and contemporary setting, making us a popular favorite in the area for any time of day.
The Bar
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks.
Starbucks®
Featuring fine coffee and specialty drinks, fresh breakfast pastries and afternoon freshly-baked desserts and snacks conveniently located in our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex TX
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2012

Will definitely comeback.

Marriott Riverwalk. The perfect hotel to stay in San Antonio. My family and I had a wonderful time. The hotel staff are awesome, very helpful. My family and I will definitely comeback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right there by the riverwalk. You can't miss anything. Dining, shopping, entertainment, and of course the riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nolarhoco
Business
New Orleans
Oct 1, 2014

Misrepresented

The hotel was conveniently located, it was clean, if a bit worn, and the staff was generally helpful. However, the hotel is being renovated, information that was not disclosed when I called before making my reservation. (The front desk staff told me they were not allowed to tell guests prior to check in that the hotel is under renovation.) When I checked in, I was told that construction work would occur between 9-5 every day, and that the hotel's Riverwalk access was blocked by construction. Since I was not planning to be in the hotel between those hours and the Riverwalk is accessible from other locations, the noise and lack of access were not issues for me. While the hotel posted updates on their in-house channel, those were inaccurate: construction work took place on Sunday, but the update said no work was scheduled for that day. On the last day of my stay, the water was cut off in the middle of my shower at 9 a.m. - without warning or advance notice. I had to use bottled water to rinse off. The front desk apologized and said they had only just been told that the construction work would affect the water supply. My breakfast was comp'd for one day, and I was offered another room -- not useful since I was checking out. The towels in the bathroom were thin, and the room was humid -- the towels never dried out. My room was near the service elevator for the hotel staff, and on my first day I could hear a maid in the hallway having an argument on the phone with her boyfriend as she waited for the elevator -- thin walls. The renovations and updates are needed, but just be aware that the work is scheduled to continue for a few months -- and they won't tell you about it until you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
angelicava
Business
houston
Apr 30, 2014

family getaway

Very nice place to stay very clean rooms and right on the river walk we always enjoy are stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kampy
Business
San Antonio
Mar 23, 2014

Marriott stay

Carpets were filty! Wall paper coming off the walls. Beds were great, staff was exceptional. Only the room didn't live up to Marriott standards! Location was super! If they make the changes, it would be an ideal place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fred Sanford
Business
Texas
Feb 17, 2014

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk

Great weekend getaway just steps from the Riverwalk. Located on the quiet end of the river away from the bars and clubs so it is quiet, yet a short walk to get to them and there is always the water taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DS senior traveler
Business
tampa, fl
Oct 31, 2013

Great hotel, courteous and responsive staff, excellent location!

As I was attending a conference, location was important. I was directly across the street! Perfect!!! My room was lovely and overlooked the Riverwalk. I would have liked to see a another restaurant option in the evening other than the bar area. Nonetheless, the delightful, warm, employees were exemplary and reflected the energy of the town! Loved my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both Marriott Riverwalk and Rivercenter had a wonderful breakfast buffet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille2
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 21, 2013

Beautiful!

Wonderful views from the hotel! Great for a weekend getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille2
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 19, 2013

Amazing views!

Absolutely wonderful! Watching the sunset from the balcony was a delight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chris dallas traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful and memorable stay. The San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk hotel is in close proximity to many restaurants and shops. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. We'll return back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TXNewDad
Business
Waco, TX
May 28, 2013

Parking Problems

Parking was the only real issue. Had to park at across and under the Rivercenter and it was almost completly full as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel sanchez
Business
San Antonio
May 20, 2013

Small vacation

Great staff very friendly and comfy stay. Def go back to stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top