$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
255 reviews
Best ever

Stayed here cause One Direction was in town. Had a blasty blast at the hotel really nice people... See full review

  • rhinosuicide
  • Sep 24, 2014
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsVallejo
Galveston, TX
Aug 6, 2013

WILL not stay here again!

NOt worth $200/night... The "non-smoking" room REEKED of smoke!! A very hard mattress, woke up feeling much more tired than i already was..disgusting carpet i could not walk on with my bare feet...felt very much like a Motel 6, to say the least. i would NOT recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Park, Texas
Aug 8, 2011

Horrible Hotel

I thought the hotel I booked through Orbitz was horrible. It is very misleading. I am very disappointed [...] and I was upset. We payed a lot of money just for one night and did not get anything we wanted or thought I was booking. The websites for the hotel I chose was very misleading. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you really know what your booking because Orbitz does not always give you the hotel you are booking on line

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Sep 28, 2009

Not what I expected

this hotel needs a face lift. It is very dark in the hallways and rooms. The rooms were ok. not bad, not good. The pool was not heated so too cold to swim in. What surprised me most though was the fee for using the hotel parking garage. This was not advertised anywhere and added another $12 dollars per day. The location was on the outskirts of town center and not the best place one might want to walk after dark. And lastly no restaurant. I was disappointed overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WORLD TRAVELIN'
FLORIDA
Oct 9, 2012

HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED

CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS,VERY UNPROFESSIONAL-STAFF SLEEPS ON JOB. HOTEL LOCATION IS VERY DECEPTIVE. PARKING SUCKS AND IS OVERPRICED AT $14.99 PER DAY, CHEAPER ACROSS THE STREET. ONSITE RESTAURANT SERVES GARBAGE. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW THE CHECK IN OR CHECK OUT PROCESS. MAID SERVICE HATES THEIR JOB. NOT TO MENTION WHEN YOU SHOWER THE DIRTY WATER FILLS THE TUB BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT DRAIN PROPERLY. BEST ADVICE...DRIVE AS FAST AS YOU CAN AWAY FROM THIS TORTURE CHAMBER. WOULD NEVER STAY AGAIN OR RECOMMEND. WORST HOTEL EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas1973
Business
Orlando
May 14, 2013

Not the best place to stay

I would not recomend any one to stay here, the place its ok the location is not the best but you still have to pay for parking 15 per day, one night they didnt clean my room I called the front desk I was told there was nothing they could do but when it comes to charge you the fee's there is plenty they can do! this place its a joke Im going back to the HYATT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anchor
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 11, 2012

Old hotel

No microwave, No liner for the ice bucket, Not advertised $15.00 per night for parking. Well kept old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living END
Central Texas
May 31, 2010

It was a room

On [...] I paid for the deluxe room overlooking the river when I got there I was given a corner room that you could see the river but was definitely not over the river. Then as I was looking over the room I found an old pair of someones shoes in the corner of the room. [...] Another problem was that everyone that was walking up and down the hall you could hear them talking and so it was a little noisy. The beds were comfortable and it was a nice little hotel but next time I think I would pay a little more to stay closer to where all the restaurants are and will definitely be checking the hotel first [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RJDE
littlefield, Tx
Jul 17, 2014

weekend

It's not what we expected.Hallways were hot and the room stayed hot threw the night. Staff would not acknowledge while in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traneling Man
Wilmington, NC
Aug 17, 2010

Once bitten twice shy

The hotel was listed as a 4 star, but I would be hard pressed to give it two. The location was not great and I figured this out once the cab took us on a ride past the drug dealers assembled on the street. The photos are not representing the location that the hotel is in. Yes, we did get a riverview room but you had to look straight down out of your window. The primary view was that of abandoned buildings and side streets littered with trash and the homeless. For the money one could do much better and be closer to the central area of San Antonio. It is NOT located on the south bank of the riverwalk. Check your maps people. The hotel is located on the south bank of the river on the southwestern edge of the downtown area, otherwise why would their own description tell you to "stroll TO the riverwalk"? Most of the attractions are are short cab ride away, or a long walk away and I would advise a cab ride back if you are returning after sun down. It's safer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bohannons steak house was the most incredible dining experience I have had in a long time. I have been to Morton's but this place is a notch above. It is an absolute MUST if you are going to be in San Antonio. Making reservations would be a good idea although they did accomodate us without them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wapdavis
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Avoid

These folks cannot even provide a working coffee maker, made no effort to replace when reported. Instead, they never showed up to even service the room. This hotel should be avoided at all costs. They have proven without a doubt that some people should not be involved with hotel industry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top