$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
256 reviews
Best ever

Stayed here cause One Direction was in town. Had a blasty blast at the hotel really nice people... See full review

  • rhinosuicide
  • Sep 24, 2014
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VanGogh
Business
St. Peters, MO
Nov 8, 2011

Very Disappointed

This hotel had no consistency in their customer service as each day I brought a different issue to the front desk that needed to be addressed. They were as follows: Note pad with no pen, water not hot, bathroom door did not lock, black residue on shower curtain, blood stain on one bed sheets, black spots on other bed sheets, facial soap box on sink with no soap in it, no cookies at 3p as promised, no coffee or sweet and low for coffee maker, coffee stain on wall, no makeup wipes nor at front desk, no "forgotten" amenities at front desk as advertised, one washcloth for two people, no TV movie guide as desk didnot know movie channels when asked, no mints, room not cleaned one day, advertises business center but computer/printer not working, frigerator too cold; froze leftovers, and the carpet in room was so dirty, my socks were black. These issues were made aware daily to the front desk with little or no concern. They didn't seem to care about our well being especially when they refused to change the blood/dirt stained sheets until the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AE33
Business
Texas
Feb 16, 2012

Beware!

Horrible experience. I got yelled at and kicked out by the assistant manager before I even made it to my room because their ramp was broken and I went around it to park my car. Insane management. I can't believe a place like this can survive in the HOSPITALITY industry of San Antonio. Go somewhere, ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wapdavis
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Avoid

These folks cannot even provide a working coffee maker, made no effort to replace when reported. Instead, they never showed up to even service the room. This hotel should be avoided at all costs. They have proven without a doubt that some people should not be involved with hotel industry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WORLD TRAVELIN'
Business
FLORIDA
Oct 9, 2012

HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED

CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS,VERY UNPROFESSIONAL-STAFF SLEEPS ON JOB. HOTEL LOCATION IS VERY DECEPTIVE. PARKING SUCKS AND IS OVERPRICED AT $14.99 PER DAY, CHEAPER ACROSS THE STREET. ONSITE RESTAURANT SERVES GARBAGE. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW THE CHECK IN OR CHECK OUT PROCESS. MAID SERVICE HATES THEIR JOB. NOT TO MENTION WHEN YOU SHOWER THE DIRTY WATER FILLS THE TUB BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT DRAIN PROPERLY. BEST ADVICE...DRIVE AS FAST AS YOU CAN AWAY FROM THIS TORTURE CHAMBER. WOULD NEVER STAY AGAIN OR RECOMMEND. WORST HOTEL EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anchor
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 11, 2012

Old hotel

No microwave, No liner for the ice bucket, Not advertised $15.00 per night for parking. Well kept old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tampa char
Business
Tampa
Feb 25, 2013

Disgusting

We booked and paid for a river front room, but were given a pool view. The room was absolutely disgusting, dirt caked air vents, the bed sheets were beaded, the bathroom was dirty and did not even have a trash can. Every morning we woke up stuffy with a sore throat, that coincidentally went away each day when we left the hotel. We were awoken throughout each night by the sound of running water and flushing toilets. Stay away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas1973
Business
Orlando
May 14, 2013

Not the best place to stay

I would not recomend any one to stay here, the place its ok the location is not the best but you still have to pay for parking 15 per day, one night they didnt clean my room I called the front desk I was told there was nothing they could do but when it comes to charge you the fee's there is plenty they can do! this place its a joke Im going back to the HYATT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ehmcee
Business
San Diego CA
May 28, 2013

I DONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

First, the costumer service doesn't give you a good costumer service. Second, they 're selling room for a not reasonable price, coz' the fact that the room sucks. Some of the employee's are friendly, but the costumer service over the phone is really bad. I dont recommend this hotel. And the same day i was checking out, somebody was complaining about the rooms too because it was bad all in all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsVallejo
Business
Galveston, TX
Aug 6, 2013

WILL not stay here again!

NOt worth $200/night... The "non-smoking" room REEKED of smoke!! A very hard mattress, woke up feeling much more tired than i already was..disgusting carpet i could not walk on with my bare feet...felt very much like a Motel 6, to say the least. i would NOT recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Park, Texas
Aug 8, 2011

Horrible Hotel

I thought the hotel I booked through Orbitz was horrible. It is very misleading. I am very disappointed [...] and I was upset. We payed a lot of money just for one night and did not get anything we wanted or thought I was booking. The websites for the hotel I chose was very misleading. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you really know what your booking because Orbitz does not always give you the hotel you are booking on line

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top