$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
253 reviews
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
winderful location

Rooms are very nice. Staff was awesome. Room was a little cold, but very comfortable. The location... See full review

  • snowheart
  • Jan 19, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Sandy
Metro Detroit
Apr 11, 2012

Good Location, Rooms not well-maintained

The hotel was within walking distance of most sights. The bathroom had the most problems. The toilet rocked when you sat on it, and part of the shower fixture fell off. One of the days the housekeeping staff came in and made up the room, but did not leave any towels, coffee, etc. When we called the front desk, they had not sent any of the items up for over 2 hours. We called again, and finally got some towels. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the narrated boat tour on the Riverwalk. It is very inexpensive and informative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ArmyMedic
Greensboro, NC, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Horrible

Paper thin walls, you can hear your neighbors cough. The neighbors hit our wall and the clock fell off the nightstand. River view rooms are...eh. And we left an item in our room and I called once and the female was not helpful at all. She didn't offer to find our item or contact lost and found. But I called another time and the young gentleman is very helpful. No airport shuttle or shuttles to sea world, six flags, etc. the $49 days inn was a lot closer to the mall and riverwalk. Not the best trip ever...kinda wish I could do it over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami fl
Apr 10, 2012

Stay with Riverwalk

Parking was a hastle, TVs were old and had only 22 channels, staff was robotic, the pool I liked, I stayed in a non smoking room and it smelled like cigars when I first entered the room. I usual don't complain and appreciate the hotels I stay at but this one was the worst experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Misssvalerie
California, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Came for my brothers graduation from lackland afb

Not so great experience would highly reccomend spending a little more for the Hyatt or better hotel. We arrived and there was no parking at all had to go back to the front desk and then from there they had to open. Up the basement for us to park. Asked for a non smoking room however it smelled like smoke. Pool was weak and no hot tub. This hotel looks ok online but not so great in person. My advice is pay more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
32Traveler
NY, NY
Apr 5, 2012

Good Riverwalk value

On the River, a few steps from the action on the Riverwalk. Nice rooms, nice pool, kitcshy decor, so- so restaurant, but you'll eat on the Riverwalk. Helpful staff. No convenient PC access and weak WIFI connection. Parking very convenient, if you can handle the 20 degree driveway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For sightseers, the Steves Mansion in the nearby King William district is a treat (long walk). For local art, the Villita Village is a good stop (short walk). For eaters, no need to leave the Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fladue
Eustis, Fl
Apr 4, 2012

Great Stay

The hotel was great. The room was very clean and roomy. The staff was very helpfull and curtious. We will stay there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A Awsome Limo picked me up at the airport and drove me back when I left. The staff was execellent and very curtious. I felt comfortable with them and the driving was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miconr
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Older hotel

The room was fine and provided a good valu for the money spent. Parking management as the worst I have seen. Early morning walk to Starbucks revealed the darker side of San Antonio's homeless population. Not a bad place, per se, but i will not stay here again, nor would I recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Trip from Florida
Melbourne, Florida
Mar 30, 2012

Ultimate San Antonio Experience

Great experience! First trip to San Antonio, so happy that we chose Riverwalk Plaza. The ambiance begins the second you drive into the parking garage/check-in parking area with beautiful murals coating every surface. The beautiful artwork/mural continues at the front desk. The walls, the floors, the lounge, everything was eye-catching and beautiful. The bellman was friendly, helpful & smiling for the duration of our stay. Check-in was quick and all staff members that I encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location of Riverwalk Plaza is perfect if you plan to walk to any of the local attractions i.e. Riverwalk, The Alamo, La Villita, Market Square, the observation tower or any of the lively, interesting restaurants or shops you find along the way. The only negatives were that the hallways and elevator are extremely stuffy and hot. On the 6th floor which overlooks the swimming pool, the windows were paper-thin and when staff members were moving pool furniture at about 7:30 A.M. every morning and shouting to each other, or if there were inconsiderate, loud people at the pool, you could hear every word, with echo. The bathroom was very small, but again, nicely decorated. Nice flat panel television and the air conditioning in our rooms worked great. I would definetely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are not planning to venture out, but only visit the local attractions (The Alamo, Riverwalk, Observation Tower, Market Square), you may not need to waste money on a rental car. I heard another guest say that you can get a shuttle from the airport to Riverwalk Plaza for $30 for 6 people. I did not verify this myself as I had already forked out the money for an unnecessary rental car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Adrian, MI 49221, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Romantic Weekend

We had a blast. Stress free. Their parking structure and price were great! Knowledgeable and helpful staff - great appearance. You don't think so when you first see the hotel during the day, but the inside is awesome and all lite up at night. Diffinately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just park your car in their structure and walk all week!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zips
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 2, 2012

quiet location

could have been a little cleaner and could use some updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

don't miss the riverwalk! great food and beautiful walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search