$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
390 reviews
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
winderful location

Rooms are very nice. Staff was awesome. Room was a little cold, but very comfortable. The location... See full review

  • snowheart
  • Jan 19, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOks
kansas
Sep 26, 2012

Nice stay

Enjoyed our stay @ Riverwalk Plaza. Not directly on the main riverwalk but we found that to be a good thing. This hotel had everything we wanted with great service and a clean and comfortable room. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
camerine day
the colony, tx
Sep 23, 2012

dirty rooms

The location is really nice and close to the riverwalk but when we got to our rooms the tile floors in the bathrooms were very grimy. the next day when housekeeping came they didn't even have a cart so no new towels and no new sheets, which makes me think they hardly ever change the sheets because the pillows smell weird and I got an eye infection and a rash ( maybe it was a coincident but I think not). They didn't replace the cups we used either they just wiped them down I could tell because my lip gloss was still on the rim from last night and coffee was still at the bottom of my husbands coffee cup. The mattresses are also very worn out old spring mattresses they dip in the middle from overuse, no telling how old they are. I wouldn't recommend it, spend a little more and stay at the Hyatt or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyndi and Doug
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 29, 2012

BLEW MY SOCKS OFF!

We had a wonderful balcony room over the river. We came back to a very comfortable room after a long day of river walk activities....sat out on the balcony and took my shoes/socks off....woosh! that coastal breeze took my socks and we watched them fall in to the river. It was just one of many laughs and pleasant experiences. Staff was wonderful....highly recommend this hotel....nice job of blending old with new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything if you bother to get a good downtown map before you venture out....boat ride also helps you know where things are while someone else is doing the driving......

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
business in SA
Business
boston
Jul 28, 2012

SAbusiness

better than average will book again next time in SA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winemaker3
Marshall, MI
Jul 4, 2012

Convenience

The stay was a very good spot to be in. It was very convenient to everything we wanted to do. The cleaning staff shorted us on towels, but were very accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Riverwalk and all of its attractions.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lulubelle78
South Texas
Jul 2, 2012

perfect location

this is the quiet part of the river walk - very nice hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the river walk boasts many fine places to dine. saltgrass steakhouse was delicious

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glandjam
Wisconsin
Jun 18, 2012

Close proximity to the fun

Our experience at the hotel was positive. It is in close proximity to the Riverwalk and the Market. Safe area and clean rooms. However, when we checked into the hotel, we had expected a room with a view of the river and a balcony, but the room we were given did not have a balcony. Disappointment. The hotel was full so we had to wait two days to be moved. The staff was very friendly and polite in answering our questions, which was greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Prior to visiting the Alamo, we saw the iMax movie about the Alamo at the Rivercenter Mall. It made seeing the Alamo far more meaningful. Both are within walking distance to the hotel.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Air Force Dad63
Baltimore, MD
Jun 4, 2012

Don't expect to be pampered.

The location is very convenient to local attractions, including the Riverwalk and the Alamo. Service is poor to nonexistent. Tried room service at 4 p.m. and it was not available. The "Business Center" is a kiosk with a single, poorly performing Mac and printer. Based on the lack of a crowd, I was not even going to try the in hotel food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zuthiel
Mexico
May 29, 2012

It's good

The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, the problem is when you have a car and you pay 18 dlls for a day just to park in the hotel? Well seems a lot for just to use it few hours a day. On the other hand, its pretty near the riverwalk, the mall, a market and the tower. So i guess its even.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to RiverWalk Center its just 4 blocks away!

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Realistic traveler
Fort Worth, Tx
May 24, 2012

Below average experience

The WiFi only worked for a few hours the first day and was still not fixed when we left 2 days later. They were waiting for tech support. Our room keys pretty unreliable. Had to change them out twice. None of the equipment in the fitness center worked. The staff is nice and tried to be understanding. Won't stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top