$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
254 reviews
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
winderful location

Rooms are very nice. Staff was awesome. Room was a little cold, but very comfortable. The location... See full review

  • snowheart
  • Jan 19, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
TEXAS
Feb 15, 2010

WARNING: RUN DOWN, LESS THEN AVERAGE

NASTY, DIRTY, HAIRS ALL OVER THE BED, CAN'T BEGIN TO TELL YOU HOW RUNDOWN THE PLACE IS. THE SCARIEST PART OF ALL..... THE RAMP TO PARK YOUR VEHICLE WHICH IS AN UNSPEAKABLE LIABILITY ISSUE ON THE PART OF THE HOTEL. EVEN IF YOU ARE AN EXTREME RACE CAR DRIVER THE PARKING RAMP AT 15 MPH WOULD BE A TEST OF SKILL AND COURAGE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NY, NY
Feb 1, 2010

All u need, but don't expect too much

They say they're newly renovated, but I don't think it was complete. My room was an odd mish-mash of furniture from the 70s and some updated pieces. I think it was mostly the bathrooms that were re-done. Still, I like this place. But don't go in expecting the Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You're not ON the Riverwalk, but you're just a short walk away. But make them draw you a map how to get there. I got fairly vague/confusing directions, and ended up walking the wrong way up the Riverwalk, away from most of the restaurants and people.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, TX
Jan 24, 2010

loved it! loved it! loved it!

My stay was a last min. check in was fast and the front desk was really nice, they answered all my questions before I even had to ask. I loved how the garage was attach to the hotel, so I could access my car whenever, I needed.There was a small fee but so worth it. The room was so clean, it also had a fresh smell. Including the restroom, I am very picky about cleaniness, so everything was to my likeing. The front desk was very helpful, and professional. The atmosphere was really nice, I felt very comfortable and safe. Just a couple of hotels Ive stayed at never gave me that feeling. I would def. stay here again. and suggest to friends and family to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jan 13, 2010

A Very Pleasant Stay

A very pleasant stay for my wife and myself. The price and location are hard to beat. The room was nicely furnished with comfortable beds, refrigerator, coffee, and TV. The garage parking was a nice surprise in that it was not only reasonable and easy to access, but we could drive our car in and out without any additional charges. The complementary breakfast and morning newspaper added to our enjoyment. We would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cosmoose
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2010

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Review

Excellent service, very comfortable updated room. The location was very convenient and we were very pleased with all that this hotel had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego Ca.
Nov 18, 2009

U get what U pay for ...

I was there for the Marathon...for the price a good deal ...on the river but actually a block to were the action is .. The visit was great ..a very clean and friendly city ...Can see it all in a long weekend ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Tierra ..a great tex.mex resturant about 3 blocks away ...

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma WA
Nov 2, 2009

great value for location

San Antonio was a wonderful smaller city to visit. The river walk is so enjoyable and primary areas are about 3 blocks from hotel. Hotel is not located right next to services, food etc, but very close. Hotel was remodeled lst year and an excellent bargain. Rooms very nicely furnished. Quiet area and felt completly safe walking anywhere. Staff was very helpful with restraunt recommendations, maps directions, etc. Would use hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River walk is 2 mile area located below street level with great beauty, plantings, trees, nightlife, food, etc. boat trip on river a great way to see things. Every kind of food, drink, etc available. A true unique place only in San Antonio. Alamo very close.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FredExx
Longview, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Very comfortable, Very San Antonio

The wife and I enjoyed our three night stay at the Riverwalk Plaza very much. The room was always clean, the staff were always freindly and accomadating, and the location was fine for the price.( It's not exactly on the riverwalk, it's on the river about a block or so from the actual riverwalk but definitly not inconveneint, as a matter of fact it was nice to be able to go to sleep while loud music played at the riverwalk). There is no restaraunt in the hotel but they put together a decent continental breakfast for free and there's a Dennys down the road. There are plenty of ice machines, soft drink machines, and well stocked snack machines. There is a public computer and wireless internet in the lobby, but bring some cat 5 cable because it's wired high speed only in the rooms. We loved the interesting murals on the walls in the lobby and parking foyer which added a very San Antonio feel to the property. All and all I would say The Riverwalk Plaza was a clean comfortable hotel at a fair price and I would stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Sep 28, 2009

Not what I expected

this hotel needs a face lift. It is very dark in the hallways and rooms. The rooms were ok. not bad, not good. The pool was not heated so too cold to swim in. What surprised me most though was the fee for using the hotel parking garage. This was not advertised anywhere and added another $12 dollars per day. The location was on the outskirts of town center and not the best place one might want to walk after dark. And lastly no restaurant. I was disappointed overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nomadfarmer
houston tx
Sep 26, 2009

highly reccomend

great room and location, no problems what so ever! front desk called to make sure that everything was up to my standards when i walk into the room. would definatley recommend. i guess it is best summed up as NO complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search