$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

3 stars
425, Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
best hotel

Iv staying in lots of hotels. This is by far the best one Iv stayed in. Loved that each room had... See full review

  • minemina
  • May 5, 2014
momma knows best

My family let me pick the hotel this year and like always, momma made everyone happy. Like they say... See full review

  • minemina
  • May 5, 2014
The renovated Residence Inn Downtown San Antonio hotel is an ideal choice next to the Alamo and steps from the River Walk. Our hotel in downtown San Antonio near the Alamo provides what you need to maintain your normal pace and thrive during extended stays in San Antonio, Texas. Enjoy a new, modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces, making it easy to hold impromptu meetings, connect with our free Wi-Fi, and refuel with refreshments from The Market. The spacious guest suites at this San Antonio extended stay hotel are also enhanced to better meet your needs. A new sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk, updated bathrooms and contemporary color schemes complement each downtown hotel room's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working, along with a fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy a free breakfast in the morning before relaxing at our evening social hour with complimentary light fare and drinks. Enjoy comfort that feels like home at our Residence Inn San Antonio Alamo hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.1 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.1 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.7 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.8 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.5 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.6 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Florida Business Traveler
Business
Florida
Sep 27, 2009

Okay...

I was very disappointed with my stay with this particular Residence Inn-Marriott. When I arrived after my day of flighing for security reasons had to be let in by the front desk, although they proceeded not to let me in due to the position of my car until I moved it two feet in reverse. After I finally was in the lobby I was informed that the hotel was sold out and there was not a room for me. At my own expense I was placed at another Marriott hotel with none of the features that I wanted across town, all at 10:30 pm which did not include continental breakfast and severely inconvienced my attendance for business reasons the following day. The hotel personal then told me even though I did make the reseveration months in advance, she could not guarantee me my hotel room for the additional nights either. Once I did receive my room there was a bar/night club that played music until 3 am each night. I would not stay at this hotel unless you need the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Feb 15, 2010

ok but would not stay again

when we were told we had to pay 21.00 to park at the hotel we were staying at valea or self. That was the downfall. at night we were awakened by homless people diging in the trash, braking bottles etc. we were on the 10th floor. also the dog barking in the room next to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Mar 13, 2011

San Antonio trip

Trip was for business convention. Hotel was 4 blocks from convention center. easy walk. We had a good breakfast every morning at the hotel. This hotel was only a short walk to the riverwalk area. Room furnature is a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver colorado
Aug 9, 2010

a weekend of exploring

great staff very helpful needed extra pillows and they were right there. very nice front desk staff great snack market in lobby with pop as well as liquer and snacks. That being said the other guests were very loud with a ton of kids running the halls it appared that every room had a ton of people in them with extra sleeping bags and coolers up and down the hall, the beds were not the best.The breakfast was packed every day with lines to get to the food and no place to set and eat. the place is next to a old hotel that is empty and accross the street they are building a new high rise so the outside is not to impressive when you arrive it is 1 blook from the Alemo and 11/2 blook from the Riverwalk. the pool is very small and my teens felt is was not up to par with what they would expect of the name brand of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Riverwalk and the Alemo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, Tx
Jul 6, 2011

Never again on a holiday

It is hard to review a hotel on a holiday weekend when it is crowded, but here goes anyway: $20/day parking-obscene. I've paid $15 at the Ritz-Carleton in San Diego. Hotel staff unwilling to control children playing in the hallway (6th floor) until 3:00am. Mob scene at the breakfast buffet with no attempt at creating order. So,in closing, you get what you pay for. No more bargain or discount rates for me. It tends to bring "animals" in as guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AvalancheAnnie
Business
Denver, co.
Apr 5, 2011

REsidence Inn

The thing I was most disappointed with was the fact that [...]did not say that once you get to your hotel that it would cost 22.00 dollars a day to park your at the hotel. When I asked about it at the registration desk they said it was on their web site and I said I booked through [...]. They did not offer any resolutions. [...]this needs to be included on your web site!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 28, 2010

nice hotel, near Alamo, Riverwalk & mall

Had small studio & it was nice. Didn't need anything from hotel staff but they were always friendly. Alamo & Riverwalk are in walking distance. We weren't told ahead of time but parking in their lot is $22/day. You need a room key to enter garage. There is also a mall with a Macy's and movie theater nearby. There is a nice fitness center. The swimming pool is small & there is construction nearby. Debris from the construction was getting into the pool. I would stay there again. It is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Spaghetti warehouse. You can order any kind of pasta and any kind of sauce & pasta refills are free. You need a car - it's a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Odessa, TX
Aug 2, 2009

Watched The Cowboys Training Camp

It was great. The location was good, the service was wonderful - I went to see the Cowboys at the training camp. Ran into Michael Ervin at the hotel. He was also staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 7, 2009

Residence Inn in San Antonio/Alamo

accommodating staff, wonderful room, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Antonio- Downtown/ Alamo Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austinites
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Great weekend getaway

We were very pleased with our stay at the hotel. The room was very clean and the staff was courteous. The location was close to the river walk within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a taxi back to the hotel after an evening out on the town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top