$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Omni La Mansion del Rio

4 stars
112 College Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Great Location

Very cool an attentive hotel. Location was excellent. See full review

  • Walker explorer
  • Nov 26, 2014
It was everything we had hoped for!!

This was our 27th anniversary... so we road in on my CAN AM Spyder with a trailer... the staff was... See full review

  • EddyArnold
  • Aug 4, 2014
Elegant, award-winning luxury hotel on San Antonio's River Walk
With its AAA 4 Diamond rating, the Omni La Mansion Del Rio ramps up elegance and pampers. A heated pool occupies the patio. The three-tiered restaurant, Las Canarias, is on the river bank, offers a champagne brunch every Sunday and is known for its margaritas. The hotel bar was the library of St. Mary's College and now offers guests a chance to learn about Texas beer and wines. Cross the river to reach the spa inside companion property Mokara Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of many of San Antonio's major attractions.
Highlights
  • Along the River Walk
  • Deluxe spa with numerous treatments and packages
  • In-house bar
  • Restaurant serves modern, "American-refined" dishes, champagne brunch and cocktails
  • Within walking distance of major attractions
Rooms

Each of the 338 rooms of the Omni La Mansion del Rio is decorated in Spanish Colonial style, with exposed brick walls and marble baths. Guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, on-demand premier movies and games, and plush cotton robes. Some rooms have a private balcony with an expansive view of the River Walk, while others offer a view of the courtyard, packed with native plants and fountains. Rooms are available in petite, deluxe, river view and ambassador river view, which gives guests complimentary spa access.

Features

The Mokara Spa is right across the river from the hotel. The tranquil spot offers a number of relaxing signature treatments and salon services. Las Canarias is the in-house restaurant serving modern, "American-refined" dishes and margaritas from scratch can be had seven days a week. The restaurant is built on three levels on the riverbank, allowing patio dining to commence freely. The hotel bar, El Coligio, was formerly the library of St. Mary's College. The property also features free newspaper in the lobby. 

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.9 mi./1.4 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.6 mi./12.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Plaza Theatre of Wax (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.3 mi./0.4 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Market Square (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • San Antonio Art Museum (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Iberian Ballroom can accommodate up to 50
  • Theater capacity is 500, banquet capacity is 300
Policies and fees
  • A 24-hour shuttle is available to and from the airport.
  • Valet parking costs $32 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni La Mansion del Rio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Omni La Mansion del Rio Rooms

Petite Rooms 1 Queen Bed
Average 250 sq ft. Ideal for the solo traveler on the go, these intimate rooms face the interior of the hotel with French doors, exposed brick walls and beamed ceilings. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Average 300 sq ft. These spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodations for business travelers, couples or friends traveling together. Every Deluxe Room offers views of the pool and lush courtyard or city views. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Average 300 sq ft. These spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodations for business travelers, couples or friends traveling together. Every Deluxe Room offers views of the pool and lush courtyard or city views. No rollaway allowed.
Riverview Room 1 King Bed
Average 300 sq ft. These accommodations balance an intimate, yet spacious guest room with the inspiration of a stunning River Walk view. All feature balconies overlooking River Walk. 1 rollaway allowed.
Riverview Room 2 Double Beds
Average 300 sq ft. These accommodations balance an intimate, yet spacious guest room with the inspiration of a stunning River Walk view. All feature balconies overlooking River Walk. No rollaways allowed.
Riverview Ambassador Room 1 King
410 to 464 sq ft. These expansive accommodations recall an inviting living room, large seating areas and pullout sofas. Every guest room has a balcony with French door enclosure with views of the Riverwalk. Complimentary access to wet and dry areas at the Mokara Hotel and Spa 1 rollaway allowed.
ADA Dlx Room 2 Double Beds
Accessible Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx 300 sq ft. Enlarged door openings.Grab bars available near toilet shower and tub. Standard shower with hand held shower head. Sink and toilet are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available. No rollaways.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • San Antonio River Walk: 0 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.9 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

El Colegio Bar
El Colegio was once the library of St Marys College and offers a large selection of Texas beer wine and appetizers as well as the very best margaritas on the River Walk. Flat screen HDTVs are great for viewing a special game. Hours Sun - Thurs 1500 - 2359 Hours Fri - Sat 1300 - 0200
Las Canarias
Las Canarias restaurant offers a careful presentation of sight smell texture and taste with an American refined cuisine. Reservations are recommended for brunch lunch and dinner. Daily Breakfast Hours except Sun 0630 - 1400 Dinner Hours Sun - Thurs 1730 - 2230 Dinner Hours Fri - Sat 1730 - 2300
Morsels Coffee Shop
Coffee shop offering freshly brewed coffee and specialty coffee drinks as well as delicious pastries and cookies plus other snacks. Hours Sun - Thurs 0600 - 1500 Hours Fri - Sat 0600 - 1800
Azuca
Downtown restaurant featuring upscale Latin food.
Biga on the Banks
Contemporay American restaurant
Joes Crab Shack
Casual seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Omni La Mansion del Rio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 157
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedy K
Business
Toledo, Ohio
May 8, 2014

A true taste of Spanish Style in San Antonio.

We stayed in the older section of the Omni Mansion Del Rio. The hotel was originally built in the 1850s as a school and later college. It was converted to a hotel in the 1960s. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the indoor courtyard containing the pool. It was very quiet except for the Mariachi band that serenaded guests poolside Friday evening. The room was somewhat small, especially with a king bed, but the mattress was comfortable and firm, greatly appreciated by those of us with back problems. The staff were courteous, friendly, and helpful at all times. A problem with the bedside table lamp in our room was fixed within minutes of our notifying the front desk. Wake up calls were handled by a real person, who willing gave a 15 minute reminder call. I would say that the service was equal to Ritz Carlton hotels we have stayed in although not as plush. The hotel's back door leads directly out into the heart of the RiverWalk and was accessible to many restaurants and shops. If you are going there for a meeting at the convention center, be aware that it is a good 15 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms Aris
Business
Newport Beach
Apr 25, 2014

Not worth it for any price!

Extremely loud location- street noises!!! We ate both one dinner & one breakfast in the hotel and both were fine but the waiters were very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pearl Developement The Sandbar restraunt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loditx
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 26, 2013

Fantastic room and location for a weekend of enjoyment

Great room great service, great location and enjoyable time for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TracyGP
Business
Columbia, CT
Jun 26, 2013

Un-pleasantly surprised

I was traveling on business to a conference and had several hotels to choose from. I selected the Omni as it boasted all the "good stuff," and I thought I would be in for a treat. Unfortunately, no treats. The room was small, but worse than that, the entire 3rd floor hallway and my room smelled like mildew. The elevator takes 10 minutes to go up and down I think a total of 6 floors. The pool, which looks beautiful in the photos is heated (??) , very small, and unmaintained. The A/C in the room is questionable as it never fluctuated from 70 degrees no matter how low I adjusted it. It was 103 for the 4 days I stayed so a hot pool and a warm room took a toll on my patience. The staff was very pleasant, however, and the sister property - where you go for the fitness center - is MUCH nicer. Though I likely will not return, if I did, I would not stay at the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking at the hotel= $35 a night. Park across the street from the hotel in city- owned garage =$10 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed 5150
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 12, 2012

Great location, Blah room

For a four-star along the river walk, I expected more. Sure, the hotel is on the river walk which was great. But my room was no better than that you get at a much cheaper hotel/motel. Despite getting a Deluxe King room, I had a great view into a parking structure. The desk person did not tell me that I was on the street side of the building, and if he did, I would have requested another room. It would have been nice if the description on the web site stated whether or not my choice overlooked the river. The room and hallway were not well lit, and there was an overall depressing feel to the area of the hotel they put me in. Room service breakfast selections were limited and basic and my breakfast was just OK. Nothing special, but the staff was very friendly. If you go here, make sure you request a river view, because I found out from my walk that there are balconies overlooking the activities below. Oh, and my internet connection wasn't the greatest either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathPav
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 7, 2012

Great hotel

Stayed at the Riverwalk hotel for a conference at the convention center. Being so close to the Riverwalk made the trip enjoyable as I was able to walk to the convention center without problem (super quick) and there were so many restaurants around. The best resturant was right across the river. Great pool and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuffie
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great value and close to every thing

staff great, helpful and attentive Room spacious and comfortable Great old world charm and ambience Close to plazas, the Alamo, convention center, the Majestic theater, border the river walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Guadalajara Grill at La Villita

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shippy
Business
AVL NC
Mar 6, 2012

Omni La Mansion

Very much pleased with my stay! I felt the accomidations were comfortable. I didn't know that the hotel was a registered historical site. The hotel is ideally set on the riverwalk and utilizing the sister hotel's work out facility and spa a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very romantic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jul 15, 2011

Wonderful Experience

Very positive experience. In fact, I requested a room change upon check-in and the hotel staff was very accomodating and provided an upgrade without any hesitation. Two small lighting problems inteh room were fixed within hours of calling teh front desk. Everyone (from cleaning staff, bellmaen to front desk staff) was extremely friendly and professional. I was treated by everyone with the upmost respect and courtesy. The Las Carnarias restaurant is world-class. The service and food was outstanding! The outside seating is on the riverwalk promenade and makes for a very pleasant dining experience. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Noback
Business
DC
Apr 4, 2011

Disappointed

I chose the La Mansion hotel over others in the area because it was an Omni property and, according to its website, it had a pool, spa, and gym. When I arrived, I learned that the spa and fitness center are in a separate hotel (Mokara) that is located scross the River Walk, about 50 yards away! One night, I heard this horrible intermittent squeaking noise beginning at 10PM. After several complaints to the front desk, I was informed around midnight that the noise was due to some workmen in the room above mine, and nothing could be done about it except to relocate me to another room for the night. I was given a free breakfast for the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top