$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
69 reviews
Gem of a Hide-Away in Plain sight

Very clean, everything you might need especially if you are "doing the town" and not trying to hang... See full review

  • JaxLyo
  • Mar 11, 2013
Great Location

Best value for location around the Riverwalk. Old hotel with character. Enjoyed the stay. See full review

  • Trippy Kit
  • Apr 5, 2014
This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4216 -98.4908
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Navarro @ Nueva

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5 out of 69
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
S. MIRABAL
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Jun 17, 2013

Be prepared to pay more $$$

If you get a discounted rate for this hotel, it really isn't a discounted rate. They don't tell you that they charge an extra $10.00 for parking.....that you can't even park in because it's super small and there isn't enough room for very many cars. So, you have to pay $10.00 to park at an adjacent lot. So, my $119.00 a night room, cost me $150.00. It's best to get the one $150.00 a night and have the convenience of parking on the same block you are staying by......instead of walking a block and a half with you bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
Dottie G
Washington State
May 23, 2013

Riverwalk Adventure

I was very comfortable and well cared for at the O'Brien in San Antonio. The couple of minor glitches were quickly overcome by the staff without my even having to ask. The breakfast was more than adequate, with fresh fruit, yogurt, the usual cereals, sweet rolls, bagels, etc, plus make your own waffles, and the coffee excellent. The location is very convenient to the Riverwalk and all associated activities, without the huge expense of the hotels overlooking the river. My only suggestion would be for the evening desk clerks to be well versed in the events and activities offered around the Riverwalk. I would have taken the night time river float if it had been suggested when I checked in during the late afternoon. The daytime ride was very interesting but I heard later that the nighttime ride is very beautiful with all the lights. I would have taken it, but by then, it was too late for me. All in all, a very minor negative comment on my 2-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the nighttime river float trip to see the Riverwalk lit up and more beautiful than the daytime ride.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
Formysoldier
La Quinta, CA
Jun 15, 2012

Employee not helpful

Arrived at the hotel at night and was not impressed with the reception agent. It looked like I was bothering her... She had to cut her personal conversation with a friend in the lobby in order to do my check-in...She gave me the key of my room and got to the room to find out that the bathroom door was locked and I really needed to use it! I called her and she told me to go back down and use the public restroom. So I did and she gave me another key and told me that she had nobody to open the door tonight. No apologies offered. I was bothering her even more! Then I was hungry and wanted to have an idea where I should go to eat... she told me to walk down to the right and I would find Riverwalk and find restaurants. I got there to find nothing around... walked a while before I was able to find people and restaurants. The second night, I got caught in the rain so I asked her if she had an extra hair dryer since the one in the room was working on and off. She told me that she didn't have any. Again, felt like I was bothering her!!! People during the day were very nice. Breakfast was really helpful for my busy schedule. My room was on the main street and it got noisy at 2pm and then 3pm. Good location but I felt a little scared at night around the hotel... especially the 1st night (woman on my own)..That lady really made me bad impression and I would not go back. I wouldn't like to have to deal with her again! I would not treat guests/customers like this. She should find herself another job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation! Right at the corner of the hotel! Met some really nice Trolley drivers that were very helpful! This was my 1st time in San Antonio and I loved it! Bring an umbrella; weather is umpredictable...

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Henderson NV
Jan 1, 2010

Good location, little parking,

The location is good for the River Walk, very limited parking (check in back through alley). As is often the case with old hotels the bathroom was cramped but the room was clean and nice. They wanted to charge $10/day for parking but then didn't charge for it perhaps do to my complaint. Texas waffels (make your own from batter) which kids would love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You need to walk a couple of blocks to the River Walk and then along it until you find what you want. Most of the dining places are at the bottom of the Island Loop(?) not the main river.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
australia
Nov 12, 2009

Excellent

Great hotel nice and clean rooms, free continental breakfast, internet access, close to riverwalk and restuarants, lavilla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top