$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends! See full review

  • tuanyuan
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I... See full review

  • La nietecita feliz
  • Jun 16, 2014
This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Hotel Map

29.4216 -98.4908
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Navarro @ Nueva

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 76
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal luvs San Antonio
San Antonio tx
Jul 20, 2014

Ok...nothing special.

Room was clean. Area was ok. Woke up to city workers power washing the side walk at 2 in the morning. The window to the room was literally off the street. Hotel was small as so were the rooms. But they were really clean. Breakfast although was a joke. Cereal and multigrain breakfast bars in lobby with no area to eat. Had to take ur food to the room. Overall for the price not worth it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La nietecita feliz
Mexico
Jun 16, 2014

Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I stayed with my grandmother and we loved it. We were able to reach la Villita by foot and also the mexican market. We took a trolley (1.20 USD) to get to the Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lana K
Austin, Tx
Feb 14, 2014

Comfy place

Nice location, close to everything but far enough to be Out of tourist traffic and noise. Not on Riverealk but close by and easy to walk to. Staff very helpful and friendly. Parking across street and small but cheap compared to other hotels. Trolleys go by hotel. We have stayed two times in last year snd would go back again. Free breakfast but could be better . Older but comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memoo happy camper
Waco Tx
Jul 9, 2013

within walking distance to everything

our stay was good, this hotel is very close to everything. the worse part of this hotel is the parking. they have a parking lot across the street which is very very small, it only holds about 10 cars and there is another parking lot behind the hotel which holds even less vehicles. We had to pay for parking in another parking lot. also the room had a muggy odor. We had the front desk come in a spray several times and it was only a temporary fix. Each time we entered the room it smelled again. the jacuzzi jets in the tub was awesome after walking all day, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioner had a remote!! the breakfast was very good and there was alot of food each day. the desk staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. I would stay here again but next time I will arrive earlier so I can get a parking space in the hotel lot. Because once my car was parked it never left the parking space until we left to come home. but again I would stay at this hotel again because the good out weighed the bad by a long shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaxLyo
Phoenix AZ
Mar 11, 2013

Gem of a Hide-Away in Plain sight

Very clean, everything you might need especially if you are "doing the town" and not trying to hang around a hotel bar, spa, or pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward explorer
Port Isabel, Texas
Aug 21, 2012

Wonderful getaway

We had a wonderful experience. The staff was nice. The room was great. The location was wonderful, close to downtown and all the sites. And the breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The oldest and picturesque part of San Antonio is less than a block away behind the hotel. Shops, Restaurants, historic architecture - La Villata.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Family of Four
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Great location

Good night's sleep. Close to river walk. Nice and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston,tx
Aug 9, 2009

Small hotel but worth the price.

Friendly staff in front desk. Small hotel but nice location was walking distance to riverwalk, alamo, and rivercenter mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to riverwalk and little village.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
mcallen tx
Aug 2, 2009

some view

We were supposed to get a king and got a queen. The restrooms were too small and the bath tub was not leveled on groung, you could feel it move as you move around. We got this room for a so called city view and ended up with a huge tree in front of all windows. Windows don't shut completely and you can hear the cars as they pass by pretty loud. I thought the price was too much for the poor quality of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of hotel is close to riverwalk. However, you still need to pay for parking cause the hotel only has enough parking space for about ten cars. The disappointment was that we still had to pay for parking overnight for each night.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx.
Jul 26, 2009

title is confusing

After a long day at Seaworld, we spent a relaxing evening on the Riverwalk. (an entrance was only one building away from the hotel) We didn't have to worry about parking or driving at the end of the evening. GREAT location. Friendly and informative staff. Kudos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You gotta try Dicks restrauant on the Riverwalk. It is soooo much fun!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search