O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$119
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016
3.6 /5
Overall score
77%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.2 / 5
$89
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$79
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$107
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$152
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$135

Amenities

Featured

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Ice machine

Dining

  • Free breakfast
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Meal plan - continental

Services

  • Laundry service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Multilingual
  • In-Room Safe
  • FAX

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Brailled elevators

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Telephone
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Iron

Reviews

3.6 /5 Overall score

77% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4/5
  • Comfort: 4.1/5
  • Location: 4.3/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

Pleasant stay in San Antonio

Would recommend Thu, Aug 20, 2015
My husband and I had a very nice time in San Antonio and including our stay at the O'Brien Hotel. The hotel staff was attentive and pleasant, our rooom was clean, spacious and breakfast was good. The location is perfect, less than half a block to the riverwalk, we also walked to the Alamo and their local market, which is a must see as well.. Highly recommend this well priced hotel.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Getaway

Would recommend Thu, Jun 18, 2015
Great place, good location in walking to downtown. Parking was limited but ok. Overall a good stay for 1 night.

| provo Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Just perfect

Would recommend Fri, Apr 17, 2015
Great location, staff, and facilities. We had a great time in San Antonio thanks to this hotel. Walking distance to the river walk and safe area to walk during the night. Highly recommended!

| Gainesville Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good for business or family trip

Would recommend Wed, Apr 8, 2015
Nice, very good localization. Walking distance to places of interest and to conference center.

| Ellicott City Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Weekend trip

Would recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
Stayed here overnight for a weekend trip.Hotel is close to riverwalk and easy in and out access . Not enough parking for the amount of rooms though, so if your lucky you can park across from the entrance . Stay was comfortable .

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Vacation

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
Great place and location is awesome. The river walk is at your front door.

| San Antonio Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Boutique???

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 20, 2014
There was nothing 'boutique' or charming about this hotel. Location was great! Hotel seemed a little 'seedy'. Cleaning staff almost non-existant. Carpet in my room very dirty! Bathroom water pressure, showerhead & jacuzzi tub fantastic after a long hot day touring sights.

Money saver

Don't waste money on a rental car....

| Wilmington, DE Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Classic Comfort

Would recommend Fri, Oct 10, 2014
This is an older, historical boutique hotel that is very nicely restored and is pristine condition. The beds are very comfortable with pillow-top mattresses. Rooms are clean and comfortable. You get a continental breakfast that can be quite filling. The best thing, however, is the staff. Being first time visitors to San Antonio they were very helpful in recommending things to see and do in town. We couldn't have asked for a nicer, friendlier staff. The location is within walking distance of just about everything in town. There are many large, more modern hotels in the Riverwalk area, but this place is a jewel. You won't be disappointed.

Dining

Whatever else you do, you have to eat at "Dick's Last Resort" on the Riverwalk. You better have a good, slightly crude sense of humor. The wait-staff treats you like other places wish they could. Lots of choices on the menu, too, but it's the atmosphere you'll remember most here.

| Visalia, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Would not recommend Mon, Aug 18, 2014
The front desk clerk had a terrible attitude! She got upset because I asked where I could park my vehicle since real estate is scarce in down town San Antonio. When I voiced my concern as to how I was suppose to get my family and belongings to the hotel because of lack of parking space, she very arrogantly stated that I could get my money back. She was not trying to be accomidating, sympathetic or ampythetic but just plain rude and unprofessional. After finding a parking garage two blocks away, I continued my journey to my sleeping quarters. The rooms where not half bad, but the white towels in the bathrooms had a tinge of yellow with brown and the texture of the towels was rough and uncomfortable to the touch. The air conditioning not working properly was the thing that pushed me over the edge to give this hotel the bad rating. The fan control was not functioning. Is was hardly blowing any air! With Texas weather in the triple digits, air conditioning is not a luxeury, but a necessity! Especially at the rate that this hotel is renting out a nights stay, one would assume that the air conditioning was properly working. Long story short, I asked to speak with the manager which turned out to be a mistake. She called my room and I felt threaten and belittled. She also offered to throw me out on the street at 11:30pm if I was not satisfied with the hotels amenities. Extremely rude, unprofessional, unethical and a hint of uneducated was the perspective that I received from the hotel manager. I will never stay at this hotel just because of the hotel managers attitude and unprofessional behavior. I truly hope other people read my review and steer clear from this old hotel. Quiete frankly I believe one could stay at a hotel 6 for half the price with better service, if that tells you anything about this place...

| Pharr, tx Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

The stay was nice

Would recommend Fri, Aug 15, 2014
my girlfriend and I were pleased with the hotel and it's location. It was surprisingly nice inside and clean. The only thing that kept be from giving it 5 stars was the fact that they do not have adequate parking and if their lot if full you have to park down the street in a pay by the day lot. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

| houston, texas Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Aztec Theatre 0.2 mi
San Antonio River Walk 0.3 mi
Cathedral of San Fernando 0.3 mi
Majestic Theatre 0.3 mi
Buckhorn Saloon & Museum 0.3 mi
Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center 0.4 mi
Rivercenter Mall 0.4 mi
The Alamo 0.4 mi
Tower of the Americas 0.5 mi
El Mercado 0.5 mi
Alamodome 0.8 mi
San Antonio Museum of Art 1.2 mi
Brackenridge Park 2.6 mi
San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden 2.9 mi
San Antonio Rodeo 3.1 mi
Freeman Coliseum 3.1 mi
Fort Sam Houston 3.2 mi
Zoo and Aquarium 3.2 mi
Botanical Garden 3.3 mi
ATT Center 3.9 mi
Missions National Historical Park 4.2 mi
Splashtown San Antonio 4.3 mi
SBC Center 5.3 mi
Lackland Air Force Base 8 mi
Morgan's Wonderland 10.1 mi
Sea World 12.9 mi
Eisenhower City Park 14.9 mi
Six Flags Fiesta Texas 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$119
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016