$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends! See full review

  • tuanyuan
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I... See full review

  • La nietecita feliz
  • Jun 16, 2014
This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Hotel Map

29.4216 -98.4908
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Navarro @ Nueva

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Dec 16, 2009

Hotel built in 2003. Very historic...

We went to San Antonio to visit the Riverwalk, Alamo, and other tourist places. The hotel was very close to all of them. We would have liked a mini fridge in the room, but it wasn't a big deal. Desk staff was very helpful. Although the hotel has 'Historic' in its name, it was actually built in 2003...we had a good laugh at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tuscola, Tx
Mar 28, 2010

Great price for the location

The location was great. Everything was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 15, 2008

Great for a get away.

The hotel was clean and close to everything . We were able to walk to all the sights. They had a breakfast that was OK . The hotel was good buy for the area. WE would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The River walk, The Alamo and the Market. Actually everything that we went to see was within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Temple, TX
May 19, 2010

Wonderful in every way!

Wonderful in every way! Location was perfect -- a block from the river walk. We checked in a few minutes early -- wonderful staff. We parked right across the street -- very convenient. The room was clean and nice -- cozy and inviting. We got great directions and suggestions for dinner. The hotel had no dining facilities -- we did not want any -- there was an abundance of great locations on the riverwalk which was our reason for being in San Antonio anyway. Perfect. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This is San Antonio -- don't waste time on food other than Tex-Mex or Mexican. The riverwalk has lots of great choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
mex
Apr 26, 2011

great days

San Antonio.. great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Feb 10, 2008

My review of O'Brien Historic Hotel Clarion Collection

The O'Brien Historic Hotel is in downtown San Antonio. It is within walking distance to the Alamo, downton and the Riverwalk. The room was a little smaller than what we had expected. The major detractor to this hotel is lack of parking( it is across the street) and it is somewhat difficult to find. WE drove around for 20-30 minutes trying to find the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tuanyuan
Houston
Jul 28, 2014

very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paigeme159
Austin, TX, USA
Apr 2, 2012

5 minute walk to the river walk and a 10 minute drive from the AT&T Center

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we were going to see a Spurs game and then afterwards we wanted to walk to the river walk. Check in went great, the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel does have a VERY small lot right across the street from the hotel (10 cars fit in the entire lot) and they charge $10 a night to park there. We weren't able to find a spot in the hotel lot but there was a large parking lot a block over from the hotel that was $5 a day after 3pm I believe or $10 before 3pm. So that wasn't that big of a deal at all to us. We went to the spurs game and it was a very short 10 minute drive to the AT&T Center. After the game we went back to the hotel to change and then headed to the river walk to meet some friends. It was only about a 5 minute walk to the river walk. I would definitely stay here again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
australia
Nov 12, 2009

Excellent

Great hotel nice and clean rooms, free continental breakfast, internet access, close to riverwalk and restuarants, lavilla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liv 4 vacation
denver, co
Oct 5, 2010

great place

This hotel was great. It was in the best location so close to the riverwalk and trolly stops. Very nice rooms. Breakfast was ok. Parking was very limited and tight. I would book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search