$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
109 reviews
very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends! See full review

  • tuanyuan
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I... See full review

  • La nietecita feliz
  • Jun 16, 2014
This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Hotel Map

29.4216 -98.4908
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Navarro @ Nueva

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisa 50
jarrell. tx
Apr 8, 2013

birthday weekend

Wonderful hotel. If I had anything negative to say, would be the bathroom is too small. With an older building I don't know how you would fix it. Another problem would be the parking behind the hotel. Only one way in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a block from entrance to riverwalk

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCL1981
Mathis, TX
Mar 20, 2013

Nice, kind of.

The hotel itself is a nice place with clean surroundings, historical appeal, and a decent staff. It does have a rather limited breakfast buffet that is missing those basics like eggs, bacon, biscuits & gravy, and so on. It does offer bagels, waffles, and juice or coffee. The building is small and charming which accounts for its likely limited kitchen space, if there is a kitchen. The check in was fast and efficient, the room was nice and cool upon arrival. The toilet stopped up and the staff was speedy and helpful. The bed was just okay, a little too springy for my taste and the pillows were not feather. The "city view" room basically means no balcony, and right next to the street. We heard trucks and sirens all night, it kept us up, scared us at times (out of a dead sleep), and i have to say it felt like staying in a ground floor room in New York City! Loud, Loud, Loud! Other than the noise at night which really isn't the hotels fault the stay was nice. It is worth the money but ask for a room not facing the street. BE WARNED! La Villita is right around the corner, so is Whataburger! Dominoes delivers to the room! River walk is 1 block down, but i cant help and notice all of the quieter, nicer hotels, for at least the same price if not a little more. I won't stay there again, but ONLY because of the noise. The staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park early, spaces fill up fast, walk everywhere!

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaxLyo
Phoenix AZ
Mar 11, 2013

Gem of a Hide-Away in Plain sight

Very clean, everything you might need especially if you are "doing the town" and not trying to hang around a hotel bar, spa, or pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hesper and Christopher
Gatesville, Texas
Feb 19, 2013

Nice hotel at a good price.

The hotel is located right next to the river walk which is really nice. There are a few art shops right next door where you can purchase various types of items from local artists. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the hotel was quiet, always a plus. Overall, a very pleasant stay and we will definitely go back to this hotel in future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coach Hilbert
houston, tx
Feb 17, 2013

website outdated

Support staff (housekeeping) excellent service. Front desk friendly but overwhelmed. Website says gym on sight but didn't exist. Tried to be stingy with local gym passes. Free parking is tiny lot 14 spaces behind hotel. Must pay ten bucks per day for tiny lot outfront. Location was good and convenient to everything. Safe to walk everywhere. Breakfast had a variety of foods. Get there early if you want a plate! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rocky mountain chocolate factory. Best caramel apples ever :-)

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ogive
indiana
Feb 12, 2013

Hide-away but close to everything we needed.

The O'Brien has an unassuming facade but has very comfortable rooms and lots of character. It is within an easy walk to the Alamo, the stunning River Walk and its restaurants, the quaint La Villita arts and crafts center and other delights. A little further along on West Commerce St is the Mexican Market crammed with bits and pieces. Walking everywhere, we didn't need our car so left it in the hotel car park across from the front door for $10 per day. Good value. We had booked for 2 nights but decided to add another as the O'Brien and San Antonio were hard to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Antonio Guest
Texas
Jan 30, 2013

Great stay at a great price

We had everything we needed at a great price. We were looking for an affordable hotel near the riverwalk, and we couldn't get any closer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellie FA
Business
Payette, Idaho
Jan 18, 2013

Food Show

The staff was very nice. The rooms were great. The hotel was a short walk to the River Walk. Great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paigeme159
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 24, 2012

Good girls trip

I've stayed in this hotel once before and I have loved it both times. It's not located right on the riverwalk but it is about a three minute walk away from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward explorer
Port Isabel, Texas
Aug 21, 2012

Wonderful getaway

We had a wonderful experience. The staff was nice. The room was great. The location was wonderful, close to downtown and all the sites. And the breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The oldest and picturesque part of San Antonio is less than a block away behind the hotel. Shops, Restaurants, historic architecture - La Villata.

Back to menu Return to top