$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.T.O.
Business
Detroit Michigan
Mar 1, 2014

Great

Fantastic,Friendly,and Helpfull,rooms were very clean and comtable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's Me 123
Business
Ft Worth TX
Feb 26, 2014

1 Day Visit

This hotel was pretty & I loved the vintage feel & decor. The only problem I had was the parking was horrible. 1 small lot in the front (about 8 spaces) & another even smaller in the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lana K
Business
Austin, Tx
Feb 14, 2014

Comfy place

Nice location, close to everything but far enough to be Out of tourist traffic and noise. Not on Riverealk but close by and easy to walk to. Staff very helpful and friendly. Parking across street and small but cheap compared to other hotels. Trolleys go by hotel. We have stayed two times in last year snd would go back again. Free breakfast but could be better . Older but comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RubyG
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 14, 2013

Not guest friendly

Waiting in the lobby to check in, the clerk called across the room "Last name?" When she had completed her work, she said "You're done." Hardly what one would expect in a small hotel. No offer of information, etc. Certainly not even minimally pleasant. The building has been redecorated but not updated. The windows are loose in the frames allowing a lot of traffic noise all night. One of the two windows in our room was broken. The temperature control was for appearances only and opening the window for cooler air only increased the traffic noise. I certainly would not recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RitaK
Business
PA
Nov 13, 2013

Bathroom needs immediate renovation.

No common areas in the lobby. Breakfast is on 1st floor and tables are on the second right to the guests rooms. People sit at these tables (no other place to sit) and you cannot rest in your room because it is very loud. Bathroom needs immediate renovation. Wouldn't recommend to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hot Vactioner
Business
Okla.
Aug 1, 2013

Getaway

Some of the staff was very helpful others didn't care to help. Since our trip was pre-paid it seemed that we were not entitled for help. I am disappointed in our travel agent for not telling us that they had balcony rooms that we could get. After two days of noisy traffic I finally found a girl that would transfer us to a balcony room up until then the staff wanted us to pay about a $60 per day increase to have a balcony room. We stayed there for 5 days & I felt that could do this for us. In the end they agreed without a room increase. I breakfast is nothing to talk about & the set-up for it is not very good. You go to the lobby & fill a tray & then take it to second floor to eat it. They advertise a fitness room but do not have one. You can get one pass for just one family member to go somewhere else. Just a few things that was not what was advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go up in the Tower of Americas & if possible eat in the dinning room. It rotates 360 degrees every 1 &1/2 hr.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memoo happy camper
Business
Waco Tx
Jul 9, 2013

within walking distance to everything

our stay was good, this hotel is very close to everything. the worse part of this hotel is the parking. they have a parking lot across the street which is very very small, it only holds about 10 cars and there is another parking lot behind the hotel which holds even less vehicles. We had to pay for parking in another parking lot. also the room had a muggy odor. We had the front desk come in a spray several times and it was only a temporary fix. Each time we entered the room it smelled again. the jacuzzi jets in the tub was awesome after walking all day, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioner had a remote!! the breakfast was very good and there was alot of food each day. the desk staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. I would stay here again but next time I will arrive earlier so I can get a parking space in the hotel lot. Because once my car was parked it never left the parking space until we left to come home. but again I would stay at this hotel again because the good out weighed the bad by a long shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S. MIRABAL
Business
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Jun 17, 2013

Be prepared to pay more $$$

If you get a discounted rate for this hotel, it really isn't a discounted rate. They don't tell you that they charge an extra $10.00 for parking.....that you can't even park in because it's super small and there isn't enough room for very many cars. So, you have to pay $10.00 to park at an adjacent lot. So, my $119.00 a night room, cost me $150.00. It's best to get the one $150.00 a night and have the convenience of parking on the same block you are staying by......instead of walking a block and a half with you bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dottie G
Business
Washington State
May 23, 2013

Riverwalk Adventure

I was very comfortable and well cared for at the O'Brien in San Antonio. The couple of minor glitches were quickly overcome by the staff without my even having to ask. The breakfast was more than adequate, with fresh fruit, yogurt, the usual cereals, sweet rolls, bagels, etc, plus make your own waffles, and the coffee excellent. The location is very convenient to the Riverwalk and all associated activities, without the huge expense of the hotels overlooking the river. My only suggestion would be for the evening desk clerks to be well versed in the events and activities offered around the Riverwalk. I would have taken the night time river float if it had been suggested when I checked in during the late afternoon. The daytime ride was very interesting but I heard later that the nighttime ride is very beautiful with all the lights. I would have taken it, but by then, it was too late for me. All in all, a very minor negative comment on my 2-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the nighttime river float trip to see the Riverwalk lit up and more beautiful than the daytime ride.

Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike scouse
Business
Indy
May 23, 2013

Short stay

My stay was short but the hotel met all expectations and was good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top