$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
116 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends! See full review

  • tuanyuan
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I... See full review

  • La nietecita feliz
  • Jun 16, 2014
This boutique hotel offers 39 beautifully decorated non-smoking rooms. The Riverwalk is only one block away. All rooms offer turndown service, free wireless high-speed Internet, bathrobes, CD players, bottled water, luxurious bed and bath linens and a free continental breakfast. Enjoy the excitement of the Riverwalk and downtown in a comfortable and quiet location. Parking charge: 10.00 per night with in/out privileges.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paigeme159
Austin, TX, USA
Apr 2, 2012

5 minute walk to the river walk and a 10 minute drive from the AT&T Center

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we were going to see a Spurs game and then afterwards we wanted to walk to the river walk. Check in went great, the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel does have a VERY small lot right across the street from the hotel (10 cars fit in the entire lot) and they charge $10 a night to park there. We weren't able to find a spot in the hotel lot but there was a large parking lot a block over from the hotel that was $5 a day after 3pm I believe or $10 before 3pm. So that wasn't that big of a deal at all to us. We went to the spurs game and it was a very short 10 minute drive to the AT&T Center. After the game we went back to the hotel to change and then headed to the river walk to meet some friends. It was only about a 5 minute walk to the river walk. I would definitely stay here again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank and Pati
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Classic Comfort

This is an older, historical boutique hotel that is very nicely restored and is pristine condition. The beds are very comfortable with pillow-top mattresses. Rooms are clean and comfortable. You get a continental breakfast that can be quite filling. The best thing, however, is the staff. Being first time visitors to San Antonio they were very helpful in recommending things to see and do in town. We couldn't have asked for a nicer, friendlier staff. The location is within walking distance of just about everything in town. There are many large, more modern hotels in the Riverwalk area, but this place is a jewel. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever else you do, you have to eat at "Dick's Last Resort" on the Riverwalk. You better have a good, slightly crude sense of humor. The wait-staff treats you like other places wish they could. Lots of choices on the menu, too, but it's the atmosphere you'll remember most here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cabe.wheeler
Business
houston, texas
Aug 15, 2014

The stay was nice

my girlfriend and I were pleased with the hotel and it's location. It was surprisingly nice inside and clean. The only thing that kept be from giving it 5 stars was the fact that they do not have adequate parking and if their lot if full you have to park down the street in a pay by the day lot. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tuanyuan
Business
Houston
Jul 28, 2014

very good hotel

very nice hotel to stay, location is very good! I will recommend this to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal luvs San Antonio
Business
San Antonio tx
Jul 20, 2014

Ok...nothing special.

Room was clean. Area was ok. Woke up to city workers power washing the side walk at 2 in the morning. The window to the room was literally off the street. Hotel was small as so were the rooms. But they were really clean. Breakfast although was a joke. Cereal and multigrain breakfast bars in lobby with no area to eat. Had to take ur food to the room. Overall for the price not worth it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PinkQueeny
Business
Sanger, TX
Jul 19, 2014

Very Average

Room was very small, photos were misleading, Bathroom so small that door almost hit toilet when open and closed. Bathtub was not garden tub or clawfoot as pictured on website. NO HOT WATER TO SHOWER!! Front desk put us on hold for over 5 minutes when trying to ask about parking before we checked in. Parking lot for hotel very small but thankful that there was parking when we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim W. from Plano
Business
Plano, TX
Jul 12, 2014

Quite nice & convenient to Riverwalk

This hotel has a great location 1 block off the Riverwalk. The room was very nice and clean. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. Jacuzzi tub was a nice touch but we didn't really have time to use it this trip. The included continental breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YHTK
Business
Temple, Texas
Jun 27, 2014

Basically good

good location, clean, cheap a nice choice anyway .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La nietecita feliz
Business
Mexico
Jun 16, 2014

Great place for the price

Clean, great service. Perfect choice if you are looking for a not so expensive place to sleep. I stayed with my grandmother and we loved it. We were able to reach la Villita by foot and also the mexican market. We took a trolley (1.20 USD) to get to the Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney 2013
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 14, 2014

Great location

Great location for Riverwalk sightseeing. Also the bathroom was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Brien Historic Riverwalk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trippy Kit
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location

Best value for location around the Riverwalk. Old hotel with character. Enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top