$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

4 stars
212 West Crockett Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
57 reviews
Local Favorite

Being a local, we try to stay at a different hotel in downtown every year. Mokara was fantastic in... See full review

  • Danyd Don
  • Nov 18, 2013
One of the World's Best!

We have traveled the world, and this hotel stands out in our minds as being in the top 5. The staff... See full review

  • Old Traveler Gene
  • Mar 14, 2013
The Forbes Four-Star crown of the San Antonio River Walk exudes an oasis of calm. The property has 99 intimate and luxurious guestrooms and suites with 12-foot ceilings and expansive windows that offer views of the river. Accoutrements include marble Jacuzzi baths and four poster beds. Guest services are impeccable with personalized attention to every detail. These services and amenities have afforded the Mokara Hotel and Spa recognition from some of the most acclaimed media in the nation including a place among the Top 15 Hotels in Conde Nast Travelers coveted Best in the World list for two years in a row. The Mokara Spa is the only Forbes Four-Star spa in San Antonio. Its decor reflects a consummate blend of refined elegance and relaxed sophistication. The attention to detail is paramount from the soothing colors and textures of the décor to the attentive eye of the Spa Concierge who provides a seamless transition from a hectic lifestyle to welcome serenity. The on-property high-energy Ostra Restaurant features the freshest seafood and steaks flown in daily from around the world. Our executive chef uses fish that have been raised and harvested in sustainable circumstances in his approach to lifestyle cuisine. Ostra is also known for its tequila menu which features more than 50 varieties of tequilas as well as its extensive collection of vintage wines. Hotel is 100 percent smoke-free.

Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio Rooms

Premier Room 1 King
Premier Room 1 King Bed. 400 sq ft. These spacious accommodations are quiet and sophisticated and feature 12-foot high ceilings and forged iron four-poster beds plus over-sized soaking tubs for 2 and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities.
Premier room
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. 400 sq ft. These spacious accommodations are quiet and sophisticated and feature 12-foot high ceilings and forged iron four-poster beds plus over-sized soaking tubs for 2 and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities.
Riverview Room
Riverview Room 1 King Bed - 450 sq ft. Quiet and sophisticated these spacious accommodations with private balconies overlook the Paseo Del Rio for the ultimate in San Antonio luxury.
ADA Premier King Bed
King bed-400 sq ft. Quiet and sophisticated. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet shower and tub. Standard shower with handheld shower head. Toilet is no higher than 29 in. from floor. Standard sink height from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Luxury Spa Room
Luxury Spa Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 400 sq ft. Located on Spa level. Spacious room with Jacuzzi soaking tub for two and large private balcony overlooking the famed River Walk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4249 -98.4899
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
River, On the Riverwalk

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.9 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Dining

Rooftop Cafe
Healthy Spa-oriented fare featuring salads and paninis. Located on the 8th floor overlooking the city. Limited indoor and outdoor seating. Open Sun-Thur 1100-1500 hours and Fri-Sat 1100-1800 hours.
Ostra
Enjoy exquisite cuisine in a romantic riverfront locale at our signature restaurant which was recently awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence. Open Sun-Thur 0630-2230 hours and Fri-Sat 0630-2300 hours.
Ostra Bar
Features an Oyster Bar which includes a variety of the freshest oysters and clams plus crab and shrimp as well as ceviche. A full wine list and specialty tequilas are also available. Open daily 1130-2300 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stingray29
Milford,MI
Dec 9, 2009

Great 40th anniversary getaway

The staff was excellent and the service was awesome. The best place to spend our 40th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Square. Restaurant named Mi Tierra for traditional food and mariachi music. The staff of Mi Tierra are there to make your time with them great. Use the trolleys to get around town.

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Belinda's Weekend Jaunt
Williamsburg, VA
Sep 28, 2009

Our great weekend jaunt to San Antonio

From the moment we walked into the door, the hotel staff made us feel welcome. In addition, our room was impeccable, room service was prompt and we enjoyed the comfortable bed, pillows and room furnishings. The spa amenities were top notch. The spa therapists were professional and friendly. I will recommend the hotel and spa to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Landing had GREAT jazz and a wonderful/cozy atmosphere. Also try Waxy O'Conners Pub for your favorite spirits.

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Belinda's Weekend Jaunt
Williamsburg, VA
Sep 28, 2009

Our great weekend jaunt to San Antonio

From the moment we walked into the door, the hotel staff made us feel welcome. In addition, our room was impeccable, room service was prompt and we enjoyed the comfortable bed, pillows and room furnishings. The spa amenities were top notch. The spa therapists were professional and friendly. I will recommend the hotel and spa to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Landing had GREAT jazz and a wonderful/cozy atmosphere. Also try Waxy O'Conners Pub for your favorite spirits.

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie, Over 40
Clinton, La
Jun 30, 2009

UNBELIEVABLE AWESOME PLACE TO STAY

The hotel was very centrally located to everything. It was like everything was in reach and not too far away --- right in the middle of restaurants and shopping and attractions. We were not use to being waited on hand and foot --- it was actually kinda nice. I would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay on the Riverwalk. We will definitely go back but when it is much cooler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best restaurant was the Tower of America's. It is a place that is 752 feet high and the whole thing rotates around so you can see the city lights while you are dining. It would have to be a MUST!!!! You can't even tell you are moving -- it takes 1 hour to make a complete round --- the food was excellent also. The carmel cheesecake was awesome...

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie, Over 40
Clinton, La
Jun 30, 2009

UNBELIEVABLE AWESOME PLACE TO STAY

The hotel was very centrally located to everything. It was like everything was in reach and not too far away --- right in the middle of restaurants and shopping and attractions. We were not use to being waited on hand and foot --- it was actually kinda nice. I would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay on the Riverwalk. We will definitely go back but when it is much cooler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best restaurant was the Tower of America's. It is a place that is 752 feet high and the whole thing rotates around so you can see the city lights while you are dining. It would have to be a MUST!!!! You can't even tell you are moving -- it takes 1 hour to make a complete round --- the food was excellent also. The carmel cheesecake was awesome...

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 22, 2009

disappointing

The trip itself was a pleasure. San Antonio is a lovely place to visit. The hotel was the only let down, I thought I had researched all the 4 and 5 star hotels on the riverwalk and was excited to choose the Watermark. Right away it was disappointing, no patio or balcony, I had requested. I was told it would be $100 more per night. Then the first day we were out until noon and when we returned to our room it had not been cleaned. The second night we didnt get turn down like we had the first night. Overall I would not stay in the Watermark again, for the price you pay the service and housekeeping skills are really lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 22, 2009

disappointing

The trip itself was a pleasure. San Antonio is a lovely place to visit. The hotel was the only let down, I thought I had researched all the 4 and 5 star hotels on the riverwalk and was excited to choose the Watermark. Right away it was disappointing, no patio or balcony, I had requested. I was told it would be $100 more per night. Then the first day we were out until noon and when we returned to our room it had not been cleaned. The second night we didnt get turn down like we had the first night. Overall I would not stay in the Watermark again, for the price you pay the service and housekeeping skills are really lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ann arbor, MI
Jun 21, 2009

a true oasis in a gritty city

San Antonio is a curious mix of tourism and reality. The hotel provides a calming environment and a fabulous (but expensive) spa. I like to stay in high end hotels and this is definitely one I would recommend (I did bristle at the "optional"19% gratuity added to my spa service. If they had left it to me the gal would have gotten 20%!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Biga on the Banks--great food, nice atmosphere, and while still on the Riverwalk--not in the crazy busy part

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ann arbor, MI
Jun 21, 2009

a true oasis in a gritty city

San Antonio is a curious mix of tourism and reality. The hotel provides a calming environment and a fabulous (but expensive) spa. I like to stay in high end hotels and this is definitely one I would recommend (I did bristle at the "optional"19% gratuity added to my spa service. If they had left it to me the gal would have gotten 20%!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Biga on the Banks--great food, nice atmosphere, and while still on the Riverwalk--not in the crazy busy part

Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 18, 2009

Even better than expected

lovely place to stay, river view room purchased through this website was not available and that was disappointing; still a beautiful hotel with a fantastic restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top