$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

4 stars
212 West Crockett Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
35 reviews
Lovely stay!

The staff was very welcoming and kind. Loved the decor and my son and i enjoyed the roof top pool.... See full review

  • Sophie McNeil
  • Oct 12, 2014
Local Favorite

Being a local, we try to stay at a different hotel in downtown every year. Mokara was fantastic in... See full review

  • Danyd Don
  • Nov 18, 2013
The Forbes Four-Star crown of the San Antonio River Walk exudes an oasis of calm. The property has 99 intimate and luxurious guestrooms and suites with 12-foot ceilings and expansive windows that offer views of the river. Accoutrements include marble Jacuzzi baths and four poster beds. Guest services are impeccable with personalized attention to every detail. These services and amenities have afforded the Mokara Hotel and Spa recognition from some of the most acclaimed media in the nation including a place among the Top 15 Hotels in Conde Nast Travelers coveted Best in the World list for two years in a row. The Mokara Spa is the only Forbes Four-Star spa in San Antonio. Its decor reflects a consummate blend of refined elegance and relaxed sophistication. The attention to detail is paramount from the soothing colors and textures of the décor to the attentive eye of the Spa Concierge who provides a seamless transition from a hectic lifestyle to welcome serenity. The on-property high-energy Ostra Restaurant features the freshest seafood and steaks flown in daily from around the world. Our executive chef uses fish that have been raised and harvested in sustainable circumstances in his approach to lifestyle cuisine. Ostra is also known for its tequila menu which features more than 50 varieties of tequilas as well as its extensive collection of vintage wines. Hotel is 100 percent smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio Rooms

Premier Room 1 King
Premier Room 1 King Bed. 400 sq ft. Premier Rooms are quiet and ideal with one king bed, styled with iron four poster beds, oversized soaking tubs for two and Gilchrist and Soames luxury bath amenities.
Premier room
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. 400 sq ft. Premier Rooms are quiet and ideal with two double beds, styled with iron four poster beds, oversized soaking tubs for two and Gilchrist and Soames luxury bath amenities.
Riverview Room
Riverview Room 1 King Bed - 450 sq ft. In addition to the amenities offered in the Premier Rooms, each River View room features plush king beds and private balconies, for the ultimate luxury in San Antonio. Private balconies overlook the Paseo del Rio to enjoy annual festivals or to watch the river barges.
ADA Premier King Bed
King bed-400 sq ft. Quiet and sophisticated. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet shower and tub. Standard shower with handheld shower head. Toilet is no higher than 29 in. from floor. Standard sink height from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Luxury Spa Room
Luxury Spa Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 400 sq ft. Located on the spa level, features a king bed, living area, oversized Jacuzzi, native hardwood flooring, floor to ceiling arched windows and a large private balcony overlooking the famed Riverwalk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Currency exchange
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.9 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Dining

Rooftop Cafe
Healthy Spa-oriented fare featuring salads and paninis. Located on the 8th floor overlooking the city. Limited indoor and outdoor seating. Open Sun-Thur 1100-1500 hours and Fri-Sat 1100-1800 hours.
Ostra
Enjoy exquisite cuisine in a romantic riverfront locale at our signature restaurant which was recently awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence. Open Sun-Thur 0630-2230 hours and Fri-Sat 0630-2300 hours.
Ostra Bar
Features an Oyster Bar which includes a variety of the freshest oysters and clams plus crab and shrimp as well as ceviche. A full wine list and specialty tequilas are also available. Open daily 1130-2300 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Mar 7, 2011

Mokara Hotel and Spa

very warm and inviting lobby..boutique hotel with attentive staff. Offered us beverages as we were checking in.. fresh fruit brought to the room... fantastic spa for hotel guests. the rooms are large and well appointed.. the only disappointment is the old tube style t.v. still in use..should have been upgraded years ago. Gorgeous roof top pool with lounge area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right on the Riverwalk in San Antonio, numerous restaurants and lounges for a great night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophie McNeil
Business
Berkeley, california
Oct 12, 2014

Lovely stay!

The staff was very welcoming and kind. Loved the decor and my son and i enjoyed the roof top pool. Because it is a boutique hotel, it was not crowded and the attention from the staff was perfect. It is pricey but worth it. I thought the room service prices were very reasonable and always included complimentary petes coffee. The location was perfect too. Just a stone's throw from the river and a short walk to the Alamo. The ostra restaurant has a lovely riverfront setting. Would definitely stay here again. I cannot say the same for flying US Airways though--i will never fly that airline again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve a dinner at Bohanan's. Very classy steakhouse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie the Tour Guide
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Jul 12, 2014

Couple's Get-away!

From the moment we walked in the front door, it was obvious that we had made a great decision for our 4 night stay! Personal & relaxed check-in with a lovely King Room for our stay. Absolutely spot on location with river-level access from the facility where their superb restaurant "Ostra" is located. Had breakfast here along with a late day drink at the Bar during our stay....recommend the Ostra Margarita & the St. Arnold's Lemonade. River Boat Tours & River Taxi access right there as well. Able to use the water taxi to check out the San Antonio Museum of Art & their visiting Matisse Exhibit. As a way to get your bearings, we highly recommend a Segway Tour early in your stay. Have done this now in Boston & San Diego along with San Antonio....bottom line no better way to get a plan in place for exploration as well as obtaining insider info on "local" recommendations! A visit to the Menger Bar close to the Alamo, where Teddy Roosevelt recruited the Rough Riders, came out of our Tour! It was nice to always know we were close to our quiet & comfortable Mokara Hotel when we needed a break from the crowds! Great pool on the rooftop as well!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to visit The Alamo when it opens at 9:00am. Audio Tour inexpensive, and adds a lot to your exploration of the grounds. Early visit beats the crowds & the heat, along with setting you up nicely time-wise for lunch somewhere on the River Walk!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sneakers65
Business
No. VA
Apr 16, 2014

Great location, nice staff

We stayed 4 nights and our room was quiet and clean. The staff was very accommodating, the pool was nice (small, but clean and on the roof) and the workout room was a plus. The room rate is pricey, but you won't be disappointed. We scored 'room comfort' down a star because we both think the beds could have been softer. They were a little on the stiff side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Schilo's on Commerce Street. They have homemade root beer and a fantastic deli menu. The servers are friendly. Very casual, but we enjoyed our meal here, more than the pricey one at Boudros!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David Blakeslee
Business
Austin
Feb 17, 2014

Horrible the worst

I have never had a hotel experience like this one. I have run resort and timeshares all over the world. Just to give you my back ground. I book my hotel, for the 15th. They got the wrong the reservations. and Booked me for the 13th. In order to fix that they would not change dates they made me re-book. There mistake and Now I have to re-book. Over 600 dollars now as I had to pay for the room again. I get to the hotel and they lie to me, they tell me there going to charge my card for incidentals, a$100 dollars. They charge me $400 dollars. My wife catches them after looking at out bank account.(This was done intentional) Now over a 1000 dollars and we have not even been at the hotel for 5 minutes. Long story short- They promise to fix it and provide us with dinner but only $75. They have our money and now we can't eat the smallest thing on the menu cost 35. I finally get them to agree to pay for a real meal. We go to dinner the place is half full. We order the couple next to us orders. They get there entire meal pay the bill and leave and I still have not had my glass of tea refilled much less gotten my food. We walk out. go back to the manager. SORRY SORRY thats all I have heard. We will provide you with brunch tomorrow. as you can guess no brunch. I do not believe that a hotel stay could have been so poorly executed. They did not provide one thing they said they would. Except for the massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danyd Don
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 18, 2013

Local Favorite

Being a local, we try to stay at a different hotel in downtown every year. Mokara was fantastic in every way. The staff are exceptional. We may break our trend and take our local "staycation" every year to Mokara. Check out the spa...it's fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Traveler Gene
Business
Westlake Village, California
Mar 14, 2013

One of the World's Best!

We have traveled the world, and this hotel stands out in our minds as being in the top 5. The staff may be the best we have ever experienced: extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. One suggestion: if you plan to stay here, pay the extra amount to have a room overlooking the Riverwalk - definitely worth it! We would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Riverwalk Cruise on a weekday night - shorter lines. March is a good month to go - not too hot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mkflutist
Business
Texas, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Wonderful hotel!

A unique atmosphere on San Antonio's Riverwalk, with excellent service, staff, and environment. Fabulous spa.....highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 7, 2011

Mokara Hotel and Spa

very warm and inviting lobby..boutique hotel with attentive staff. Offered us beverages as we were checking in.. fresh fruit brought to the room... fantastic spa for hotel guests. the rooms are large and well appointed.. the only disappointment is the old tube style t.v. still in use..should have been upgraded years ago. Gorgeous roof top pool with lounge area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right on the Riverwalk in San Antonio, numerous restaurants and lounges for a great night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ga.
Oct 23, 2010

great get away

went to joes crab shack.it was great we also went to the river walk it was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

amazing views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mokara Hotel & Spa San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bainbridge NY
Sep 10, 2010

Nice place to stay near the Riverwalk

The Riverwalk was wonderful and it was nice to visit the downtown area. Once I got to the hotel I didn't want to leave with the car. I spent a great deal of gas trying to find the hotel. The hotel is on a one way street and it is in the middle of other streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top