$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Okay get away

I enjoyed my stay. We were not informed if continental breakfast or room service was available.... See full review

  • Yzzy
  • Mar 6, 2013
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Hotel Map

29.419 -98.4892
Area served
Municipal Auditorum & Conference Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 74
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yzzy
Midland Tx
Mar 6, 2013

Okay get away

I enjoyed my stay. We were not informed if continental breakfast or room service was available. Although I could of just asked as much traveling as I did it would of been nice for someone to remind me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk straight down Alamo st you CANNOT miss the river walk!

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hannah
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 24, 2011

about the swim pool

everything good , only the pool a little cold even at 5pm in the evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hannah
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 24, 2011

about the swim pool

everything good , only the pool a little cold even at 5pm in the evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JL88
Austin, TX
Mar 23, 2010

Pretty good for the price

My friend and I went to the river walk and went dancing while we were there. It would have been more enjoyable if the outdoors area was more clean. The hot tub was broken and looked dirty. The pool are could have been a lot cleaner too. It was okay comapaired to previous trips. There was a very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JL88
Austin, TX
Mar 23, 2010

Pretty good for the price

My friend and I went to the river walk and went dancing while we were there. It would have been more enjoyable if the outdoors area was more clean. The hot tub was broken and looked dirty. The pool are could have been a lot cleaner too. It was okay comapaired to previous trips. There was a very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top