$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 29, 2014
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

Rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Highlights
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Nearby attractions
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary, regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light fare. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.bil
Business
Austin
Apr 7, 2014

Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years this has been my favorite SA hotel. Even though there have been many changes from hotel brands to interior and staff it still consistently delivers a great stay. There are many great hotels in San Antonio but the Plaza is still my favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Purchase breakfast with the room if available. It is one of the last good hotel breakfasts around.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBrook
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Just OK - Marriott Can Do Better!!

OK option for one night stay for Alamo Bowl. Location was good. No working heat in room. No hot water in shower. And no hot coffee in lobby!!! If you are gonna get something right, make sure you keep your guests warm in the winter. Maintenance guy came up to check heat and fiddled with some "valves". He left and said he'd call back once the "steam" was working - no call. The ice cold tea and lemon water in the lobby was awefully tempting - except it was 40 degrees outside!!! Marriott can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to the Hemisphere Tower. It's overpriced and overrated. There are plenty of other cool sites to see in SA - the Alamo and the other missions (San Jose and Concepcion?).

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TXBoiler1
Business
DFW Area
Aug 13, 2012

Unexpectedly Good Hotel

This was a kinda a “spur of the moment” trip for the family to San Antonio (SA). We used a travel website that rhymes with “buybak” to start looking for hotel rates in the Riverwalk area of downtown SA. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio had the best rates and looked to be fairly close to downtown / Riverwalk area. Location – It’s within 3 – 4 blocks walk to the Riverwalk. There are stairs down to the Riverwalk behind the Hiton Del Rio (?). The hotel is 5 – 6 block walk to The Alamo. It’s an easy walk, and our family walked to the Alamo twice. We took the River Boat Tour also ($8.50/pp) – the ticket stand is right behind the Hilton (again, 2 – 3 blocks from the Marriott). Another poster wrote that the bus stop is right outside the Marriott – this is correct. The published rates were $1.10 per person to get on the bus, and I think the bus goes most everywhere in the downtown SA area. Staff – The staff at the check-in desk was nice. They had incorrect information regarding the hours at The Alamo, though. The valet / bell stand guys were really nice. The restaurant staff was the best – one guy even brought my daughter and me a muffin from the restaurant while we were waiting in the lobby for my wife and son. Just because he saw us sitting there by ourselves. Breakfast – Get the buffet breakfast – even better, if you’re offered the option of “adding breakfast” at the hotel for a $20.00 or so upcharge – take it. It’s a steal, and the buffet is really good. Made to order Belgium waffles and made to order omlettes. Hot food selections were bacon, sausage, fried potatoes, and hot oatmeal. Then your selection of cold meats and chesses including salmon and capers. Fresh cut fruit, cold cereals, and muffins, toast, etc were also available. By far the best value on the trip, and I urge couples and families with children less than 15 to take advantage of the “add breakfast for $20” option if it’s given to you on one of the travel booking websites. Room – Nice enough – two double beds, rather than two queen size beds. Room looked like it had been refurbed within the last 2 – 3 years, but the hotel was definitely an “older” hotel. The pool was nice, but there were quite a few mosquitoes about. Our children enjoyed it, though. We asked for more towels, but they were sent to the wrong room. One MAJOR issue I had with the room was that Marriott wanted to charge you $12 per day for internet service in the room. Internet (Wifi) was free in the lobby. This is simply unacceptable in 2012 to charge for internet in a hotel room – especially when it was available in the hotel. The room had a mini fridge, but it didn’t get real cold. If you have ice packs or you are carrying things that have to be kept frozen, do not rely on this fridge to do this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you book through a website, have a family of 4 or less, and you're offered the "add breakfast for $20" option, I would suggest taking it. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is very good, and for the price for an entire family (in one room) it is a good value I think.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dakid
Business
McKinney, TX, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Super Location

Staff was generally helpful and professional. The room lacked a microwave, and the complementary coffee maker and fixin's were average. Location of this hotel is superb; 2 Blks from RW, 2 Blks from Hemisfair and tower of Americas and 2 Blks from Williams historical district. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own coffee maker, coffee and filters if you're inclined.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glory
Business
Conroe,
Aug 29, 2011

Fantastic Weekend!

I booked a weekend at the Marriott on the spur of the moment. This was not a planned weekend, I just wanted to get away, so I chose the Marriott because it seemed to be close to the area I had planned to visit, I was told the estimated check in would be 4:00, but I was allowed to check in at 12:30 which was great, the room was wonderful and the scene from our balcony was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were close to all the attractions that we wanted to see. A big thanks to the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear cool clothing, San Antonio was lovely but very hot due to our crazy Texas weather.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainview, TX
Aug 1, 2011

Great Famil Getaway

Hotel was very nice, clean and elegant. Room was very spacious, loved the balcony. The children enjoyed the pool very much. Would have been nice to have free coffe in the lounge instead of $3 a cup since I'm the only coffe drinker in the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Riverwalk and downtown. Enjoyed walking in the evenings to have dinner.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainview, TX
Aug 1, 2011

Great Famil Getaway

Hotel was very nice, clean and elegant. Room was very spacious, loved the balcony. The children enjoyed the pool very much. Would have been nice to have free coffe in the lounge instead of $3 a cup since I'm the only coffe drinker in the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Riverwalk and downtown. Enjoyed walking in the evenings to have dinner.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2011

Marriott Plaza has a beautiful pool.

We really enjoyed the beautiful pool and grounds of the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel now charges $23 per day for self parking, which was free when we stayed there 2 years ago. The hotel is very close to the river walk and many good restaurants. The room is beautiful and the beds are comfortable. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top