$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 555 South Alamo Street, 555 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
43 reviews
Awesome family trip

Second time stayed here for family trip. Management very courteous and attentive. Nice pool and bar... See full review

  • Scot H.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 29, 2014
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

Rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Highlights
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Nearby attractions
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 133 reviews
★★★
$100
3.9 / 5 95 reviews
★★★★
$179
3.9 / 5 103 reviews
★★★
$89
3.2 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$134
4.1 / 5 107 reviews
★★★
$126
3.5 / 5 56 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 72 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary, regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light fare. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Not good

It was not a good experience. Arrived on Sunday, Check in time is not until 4pm...informed 25 people waiting for a room. Ended up getting a room 1hr after we arrived. Room's bathroom was not clean, toilet seat was dirty. Room very outdated, gives you the impression of the room being dirty. Attempted to get room service on Monday morning, but after several attempts, I gave up nobody answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
houston, tx
Mar 19, 2009

worst marriott in history

not on the riverwalk .. in downtown but not the riverwalk .. dirty. walked on carpet after shower and my feet got black . washed my feet put on socks .. black socks ..from then on we kept our shoes on. cups in room had finger prints on them no in room safe , no exhaust fans in bathroom , old analog TV .. decorated in the 70's w/the popcorn ceiling .. I paid 200/night midweek stay .. not worth half of that. worst hotel and I have been to san antonio alot valet parking $25/day . or self park $10/day ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBrook
Family
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Just OK - Marriott Can Do Better!!

OK option for one night stay for Alamo Bowl. Location was good. No working heat in room. No hot water in shower. And no hot coffee in lobby!!! If you are gonna get something right, make sure you keep your guests warm in the winter. Maintenance guy came up to check heat and fiddled with some "valves". He left and said he'd call back once the "steam" was working - no call. The ice cold tea and lemon water in the lobby was awefully tempting - except it was 40 degrees outside!!! Marriott can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to the Hemisphere Tower. It's overpriced and overrated. There are plenty of other cool sites to see in SA - the Alamo and the other missions (San Jose and Concepcion?).

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake Charles, La
Aug 2, 2011

Unimpressed

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious however we were disappointed in the lack of amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave, the sheets were only changed every three days, and they charged us to use the parking facility. The staff however was super friendly and filled with helpful information on local hot spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of suntan lotion.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That one guy
Couples
Albuquerque NM
Sep 6, 2011

Place was ok

Be prepared for paying about $25/day for parking. The room was kind of loud (strange humming sound that kicked on and off), we think it was from the AC. We got 2 rooms, one on the 3rd floor and one on the 7th. Both rooms had a problem with the bathtub drain, it drained soooooo slow while taking a shower we thought it had completely backed up. The big plus for the hotel was that it was only a 5 min walk to the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 min walk to the Riverwalk

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baked potato man
Couples
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Oct 10, 2011

Nice, but could have been better

The hotel was OK, but for the price we felt it could have provided more value. The restaurant in the hotel was OK, but overpriced. We have stayed other places similarly priced that provided a free breakfast buffet. The location was close to the riverfront which nice. The room, itself, was nice and well decorated. We enjoyed the balcony and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat somewhere in the river walk. The steak places were expensive, but the mexican places were great and well priced.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRETINHA
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 30, 2012

ROOM CONFORT

VERY NOISY ROOM-325- GUEST WERE TO ROUDY AT NIGHT. POOR INSULATION BETWEEN ONE ROOM TO ANOTHER. HAD TO GO TO SLEEP AROUND MIDNIGHT, WHEN THEY WOULD CALM DOWN. WHERE IS THE GREAT MARRIOT EXPERIENCE?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RIVERWALK AND LA VILLITA

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MX
Jul 22, 2011

very good hotel, but ...

I went to SA for only 36 hours, so this hotel was a very good choice, because of its really good location (only 3 blocks from the river walk). the staff is friendly, the facilities are very good, the room was clean and big! very good. but..... they charge 25 dls parking fare... they charge for the internet service, they charge practically for everything addicional to the staying... and even though i paid for the parking... it took me over 20 minutes waiting, going round and round to get a spot and i couldn't cause they had some sort of event in the hotel... i had to leave the car with the valet... not good. it's unbelievable that the 6 motel or any other with a lower star rating, has better services than a marriott... YES the 25 dls parking are unacceptable... unbelievable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Oct 13, 2009

OK hotel

hotel was fine. when i got in, the desk clerk told me i looked exhausted... i really was not, kind of an insult! the service was inconsistent - ordered a bagel from room service and they forgot the cream cheese, next day they forgot the water, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top