$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
45 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 17, 2014
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Not good

It was not a good experience. Arrived on Sunday, Check in time is not until 4pm...informed 25 people waiting for a room. Ended up getting a room 1hr after we arrived. Room's bathroom was not clean, toilet seat was dirty. Room very outdated, gives you the impression of the room being dirty. Attempted to get room service on Monday morning, but after several attempts, I gave up nobody answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Mar 19, 2009

worst marriott in history

not on the riverwalk .. in downtown but not the riverwalk .. dirty. walked on carpet after shower and my feet got black . washed my feet put on socks .. black socks ..from then on we kept our shoes on. cups in room had finger prints on them no in room safe , no exhaust fans in bathroom , old analog TV .. decorated in the 70's w/the popcorn ceiling .. I paid 200/night midweek stay .. not worth half of that. worst hotel and I have been to san antonio alot valet parking $25/day . or self park $10/day ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBrook
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Just OK - Marriott Can Do Better!!

OK option for one night stay for Alamo Bowl. Location was good. No working heat in room. No hot water in shower. And no hot coffee in lobby!!! If you are gonna get something right, make sure you keep your guests warm in the winter. Maintenance guy came up to check heat and fiddled with some "valves". He left and said he'd call back once the "steam" was working - no call. The ice cold tea and lemon water in the lobby was awefully tempting - except it was 40 degrees outside!!! Marriott can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to the Hemisphere Tower. It's overpriced and overrated. There are plenty of other cool sites to see in SA - the Alamo and the other missions (San Jose and Concepcion?).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, La
Aug 2, 2011

Unimpressed

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious however we were disappointed in the lack of amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave, the sheets were only changed every three days, and they charged us to use the parking facility. The staff however was super friendly and filled with helpful information on local hot spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of suntan lotion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That one guy
Business
Albuquerque NM
Sep 6, 2011

Place was ok

Be prepared for paying about $25/day for parking. The room was kind of loud (strange humming sound that kicked on and off), we think it was from the AC. We got 2 rooms, one on the 3rd floor and one on the 7th. Both rooms had a problem with the bathtub drain, it drained soooooo slow while taking a shower we thought it had completely backed up. The big plus for the hotel was that it was only a 5 min walk to the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 min walk to the Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baked potato man
Business
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Oct 10, 2011

Nice, but could have been better

The hotel was OK, but for the price we felt it could have provided more value. The restaurant in the hotel was OK, but overpriced. We have stayed other places similarly priced that provided a free breakfast buffet. The location was close to the riverfront which nice. The room, itself, was nice and well decorated. We enjoyed the balcony and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat somewhere in the river walk. The steak places were expensive, but the mexican places were great and well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRETINHA
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 30, 2012

ROOM CONFORT

VERY NOISY ROOM-325- GUEST WERE TO ROUDY AT NIGHT. POOR INSULATION BETWEEN ONE ROOM TO ANOTHER. HAD TO GO TO SLEEP AROUND MIDNIGHT, WHEN THEY WOULD CALM DOWN. WHERE IS THE GREAT MARRIOT EXPERIENCE?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RIVERWALK AND LA VILLITA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bernadette Houston Girl
Business
Houston
Nov 26, 2012

Great Location

Renovations and cleanliness were great. Parking charge was way too high. There was no opportunity for free breakfast, even as an upgrade. Since the bar closed fairly early, a mini-bar in the room would have been nice. Staff was friendly and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top