$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 29, 2014
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

Rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Highlights
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Nearby attractions
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary, regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light fare. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2008

Room cleanliness

The bath room floor did not seem to be cleaned on a regular basis. It took away from an otherwise very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The River Walk is a short distance.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 22, 2009

May I Move In?

Our week-long vacation was split between New Orleans and San Antonio. After the horrendous experience in our "quaint, historic" hotel in the French Quarter, we felt as though we'd died and gone to heaven upon arriving at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. The rooms and amenities were perfect, but the real stars were the Marriott staff there. In every department (front desk, bartenders, valet), they went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel like honored guests that they wanted to return. When I return to San Antonio, this hotel will be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We were staying in San Antonio to attend a concert at the AT&T Center. Having never been to that venue before, we had no idea what drop-off/pick-up procedures were with regard to traffic. Next time, I will rent a limo or arrange for some kind of shuttle pick-up after the event. DO NOT RELY ON THE TAXI LINE!

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glory
Business
Conroe,
Aug 29, 2011

Fantastic Weekend!

I booked a weekend at the Marriott on the spur of the moment. This was not a planned weekend, I just wanted to get away, so I chose the Marriott because it seemed to be close to the area I had planned to visit, I was told the estimated check in would be 4:00, but I was allowed to check in at 12:30 which was great, the room was wonderful and the scene from our balcony was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were close to all the attractions that we wanted to see. A big thanks to the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear cool clothing, San Antonio was lovely but very hot due to our crazy Texas weather.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy TX
Jun 10, 2010

Great place to stay

Really impressed with overall experience. Short walk to Riverwalk, very quiet, loved the balcony. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet but be aware it is around $15. Had a freshly prepared omelet and waffles, fruit, potatoes, couldn't eat everything available. Very tranquil and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Family Fun Getaway

Just two blocks walking distance from the Riverwalk this is right across from the famous Himisphere Park and one block away fromt the Villita. No need to rent a car when staying here all is very accessable, bus, taxi. Pool was very clean, has clean towls, hot tub was too hot, but other than that a very clean safe enviornment. With my kids safety is priority to me and the fact is we all look for clean locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very accessib to the night clubs and other venues if you're not a night owl.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wonderful husband
Business
weslaco TX
Apr 22, 2009

Great weekend getaway for wife and mysel

none

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LynnGrove
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2010

Weekend in San Antonio

My wife and I take a weekend getaway to San Antonio every so often and the Marriott Plaza is our choice of downtown hotels. It's a great combination of quality, value and location. We stroll the Riverwalk on Saturday afternoon and dine at Chart House Steaks in the Tower of Americas in the evening. After dinner we stroll through Hemisfair Park back to the hotel for a night swim in their beautiful garden pool. It's a romantic weekend at a very affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chart House Steaks in the Tower of Americas is THE PLACE to for dinner in downtown San Antonio. Make your reservation for one hour before sunset, so as you dine you can enjoy the view one revolution in daylight and then another revolution after dark.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cool Kid 2014
Business
Huntsville
Dec 17, 2014

Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very spacious and comfortable! Parking convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cool Kid 2014
Business
Huntsville
Dec 29, 2014

Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very spacious and comfortable! Parking convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2008

Room cleanliness

The bath room floor did not seem to be cleaned on a regular basis. It took away from an otherwise very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The River Walk is a short distance.

Back to menu Return to top