$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
45 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 17, 2014
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yzzy
Midland Tx
Mar 6, 2013

Okay get away

I enjoyed my stay. We were not informed if continental breakfast or room service was available. Although I could of just asked as much traveling as I did it would of been nice for someone to remind me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk straight down Alamo st you CANNOT miss the river walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texaz
Apr 23, 2009

Only one problem

Rainy,very cold weather for the weekend. Uncomfortable in room because the furnace was not working and was not repaired until 10 p.m. Friday evening. Other than that the hotel was nice, staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 22, 2009

May I Move In?

Our week-long vacation was split between New Orleans and San Antonio. After the horrendous experience in our "quaint, historic" hotel in the French Quarter, we felt as though we'd died and gone to heaven upon arriving at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. The rooms and amenities were perfect, but the real stars were the Marriott staff there. In every department (front desk, bartenders, valet), they went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel like honored guests that they wanted to return. When I return to San Antonio, this hotel will be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We were staying in San Antonio to attend a concert at the AT&T Center. Having never been to that venue before, we had no idea what drop-off/pick-up procedures were with regard to traffic. Next time, I will rent a limo or arrange for some kind of shuttle pick-up after the event. DO NOT RELY ON THE TAXI LINE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wonderful husband
Business
weslaco TX
Apr 22, 2009

Great weekend getaway for wife and mysel

none

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Mar 19, 2009

worst marriott in history

not on the riverwalk .. in downtown but not the riverwalk .. dirty. walked on carpet after shower and my feet got black . washed my feet put on socks .. black socks ..from then on we kept our shoes on. cups in room had finger prints on them no in room safe , no exhaust fans in bathroom , old analog TV .. decorated in the 70's w/the popcorn ceiling .. I paid 200/night midweek stay .. not worth half of that. worst hotel and I have been to san antonio alot valet parking $25/day . or self park $10/day ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2008

Room cleanliness

The bath room floor did not seem to be cleaned on a regular basis. It took away from an otherwise very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The River Walk is a short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top