$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Fantastic Weekend!

I booked a weekend at the Marriott on the spur of the moment. This was not a planned weekend, I... See full review

  • Glory
  • Aug 29, 2011
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Hotel Map

29.419 -98.4892
Area served
Municipal Auditorum & Conference Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JL88
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 23, 2010

Pretty good for the price

My friend and I went to the river walk and went dancing while we were there. It would have been more enjoyable if the outdoors area was more clean. The hot tub was broken and looked dirty. The pool are could have been a lot cleaner too. It was okay comapaired to previous trips. There was a very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Oct 13, 2009

OK hotel

hotel was fine. when i got in, the desk clerk told me i looked exhausted... i really was not, kind of an insult! the service was inconsistent - ordered a bagel from room service and they forgot the cream cheese, next day they forgot the water, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Not good

It was not a good experience. Arrived on Sunday, Check in time is not until 4pm...informed 25 people waiting for a room. Ended up getting a room 1hr after we arrived. Room's bathroom was not clean, toilet seat was dirty. Room very outdated, gives you the impression of the room being dirty. Attempted to get room service on Monday morning, but after several attempts, I gave up nobody answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Overall the hotel staff were nice and accommodating, but the only issue that I have was with my reservation. I got to the hotel about 11:40pm, after driving about 41/2 hours to get to San Antonio, I go to the front desk to get my room key and to get settled, then the receptionist tells me that there is a problem, I say whats the problem. The receptionist said that the hotel had over booked and that there were not any rooms available. Though they did accommodate my family and I for the night at the Rivercenter Marriot, the hotel took care of the bill so I will be waiting for that credit for the one night. The following morning we went back to the original hotel where we were told that there would be a room available by then, and there was a room available. The main thing that bothered me was the inconvienence of having to be hopping hotels and wasting time in packing and unpacking between hotels. I recommend and I will do this next time definitetly is call ahead to the hotel to verify that a room will be available before you get to San Antonio, it was a hassle of having to go to one hotel and then return back to where you had your original reservation that was not cool at all. One other thing the phone for room service was never answered I had to go down to the floor myself to ask for a couple of towels that were needed in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Panchito's Mexican Food restaurant was excellent my family and I ate there Sunday morning and it was about 5 minutes from the Marriot Plaza. I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longview, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Off the Beaten Path

Location was great because it was close enough to the River Walk, but not so close that you got all of the noise. The grounds were beautiful and very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 13, 2009

Anniversary stay

Great location for Riverwalk activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try dining at the tower. Reservations required. The staff will drive you in the courtesy car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 6, 2009

I would go again in an instant!

My family went to San Antonio for a short get a way. We stayed at the Marriott because there was easy access to the street car trolly and you could buy a pass and ride all day. The trolly makes it very easy to get around San Antonio. The hotel was nice, the A/C worked and the were very accomodating when things did go wrong. The from desk staff were working for hard to accomodate everyone and I felt they did an excellent job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a trolly or bus pass for about 4.00 day and you can get on and off the bus and ride any where the trolly goes and it makes it much easier than having to drive, find a parking place, walk to your destination and walk back. Trollies are a lot easier and time saving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
May 2, 2009

Back to good ole San Antonio

Great trip, excellent time, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texaz
Apr 23, 2009

Only one problem

Rainy,very cold weather for the weekend. Uncomfortable in room because the furnace was not working and was not repaired until 10 p.m. Friday evening. Other than that the hotel was nice, staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top