$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 555 South Alamo Street, 555 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Oct 13, 2009

OK hotel

hotel was fine. when i got in, the desk clerk told me i looked exhausted... i really was not, kind of an insult! the service was inconsistent - ordered a bagel from room service and they forgot the cream cheese, next day they forgot the water, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Not good

It was not a good experience. Arrived on Sunday, Check in time is not until 4pm...informed 25 people waiting for a room. Ended up getting a room 1hr after we arrived. Room's bathroom was not clean, toilet seat was dirty. Room very outdated, gives you the impression of the room being dirty. Attempted to get room service on Monday morning, but after several attempts, I gave up nobody answered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Overall the hotel staff were nice and accommodating, but the only issue that I have was with my reservation. I got to the hotel about 11:40pm, after driving about 41/2 hours to get to San Antonio, I go to the front desk to get my room key and to get settled, then the receptionist tells me that there is a problem, I say whats the problem. The receptionist said that the hotel had over booked and that there were not any rooms available. Though they did accommodate my family and I for the night at the Rivercenter Marriot, the hotel took care of the bill so I will be waiting for that credit for the one night. The following morning we went back to the original hotel where we were told that there would be a room available by then, and there was a room available. The main thing that bothered me was the inconvienence of having to be hopping hotels and wasting time in packing and unpacking between hotels. I recommend and I will do this next time definitetly is call ahead to the hotel to verify that a room will be available before you get to San Antonio, it was a hassle of having to go to one hotel and then return back to where you had your original reservation that was not cool at all. One other thing the phone for room service was never answered I had to go down to the floor myself to ask for a couple of towels that were needed in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Panchito's Mexican Food restaurant was excellent my family and I ate there Sunday morning and it was about 5 minutes from the Marriot Plaza. I recommend it highly.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longview, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Off the Beaten Path

Location was great because it was close enough to the River Walk, but not so close that you got all of the noise. The grounds were beautiful and very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 13, 2009

Anniversary stay

Great location for Riverwalk activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try dining at the tower. Reservations required. The staff will drive you in the courtesy car.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 6, 2009

I would go again in an instant!

My family went to San Antonio for a short get a way. We stayed at the Marriott because there was easy access to the street car trolly and you could buy a pass and ride all day. The trolly makes it very easy to get around San Antonio. The hotel was nice, the A/C worked and the were very accomodating when things did go wrong. The from desk staff were working for hard to accomodate everyone and I felt they did an excellent job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a trolly or bus pass for about 4.00 day and you can get on and off the bus and ride any where the trolly goes and it makes it much easier than having to drive, find a parking place, walk to your destination and walk back. Trollies are a lot easier and time saving.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

Marriott Plaza

Very irritating that the whole stay had been paid in full but once I got there, they did not have my reservation in their computer system. I had to call reservation myself and get the confirmation information. The reservation was for 3 nights but after only one night I was told the reservation was for only 1 night not three. To sum it up. Not as organized as they propose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
May 2, 2009

Back to good ole San Antonio

Great trip, excellent time, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texaz
Apr 23, 2009

Only one problem

Rainy,very cold weather for the weekend. Uncomfortable in room because the furnace was not working and was not repaired until 10 p.m. Friday evening. Other than that the hotel was nice, staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 22, 2009

May I Move In?

Our week-long vacation was split between New Orleans and San Antonio. After the horrendous experience in our "quaint, historic" hotel in the French Quarter, we felt as though we'd died and gone to heaven upon arriving at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. The rooms and amenities were perfect, but the real stars were the Marriott staff there. In every department (front desk, bartenders, valet), they went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel like honored guests that they wanted to return. When I return to San Antonio, this hotel will be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We were staying in San Antonio to attend a concert at the AT&T Center. Having never been to that venue before, we had no idea what drop-off/pick-up procedures were with regard to traffic. Next time, I will rent a limo or arrange for some kind of shuttle pick-up after the event. DO NOT RELY ON THE TAXI LINE!

Back to menu Return to top