$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Okay get away

I enjoyed my stay. We were not informed if continental breakfast or room service was available.... See full review

  • Yzzy
  • Mar 6, 2013
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Hotel Map

29.419 -98.4892
Area served
Municipal Auditorum & Conference Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Plaza San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prineville, OR
Aug 1, 2011

Great location with some hidden costs

The accomodations were great but found you could not have internet connection in the room without paying an additional fee and also found that they charge for parking which was not disclosed. However they did take off the parking charge when asked why it was not disclosed when checking in. The location was great for the riverwalk and the Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2011

Marriott Plaza has a beautiful pool.

We really enjoyed the beautiful pool and grounds of the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel now charges $23 per day for self parking, which was free when we stayed there 2 years ago. The hotel is very close to the river walk and many good restaurants. The room is beautiful and the beds are comfortable. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2011

Marriott Plaza has a beautiful pool.

We really enjoyed the beautiful pool and grounds of the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel now charges $23 per day for self parking, which was free when we stayed there 2 years ago. The hotel is very close to the river walk and many good restaurants. The room is beautiful and the beds are comfortable. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MX
Jul 22, 2011

very good hotel, but ...

I went to SA for only 36 hours, so this hotel was a very good choice, because of its really good location (only 3 blocks from the river walk). the staff is friendly, the facilities are very good, the room was clean and big! very good. but..... they charge 25 dls parking fare... they charge for the internet service, they charge practically for everything addicional to the staying... and even though i paid for the parking... it took me over 20 minutes waiting, going round and round to get a spot and i couldn't cause they had some sort of event in the hotel... i had to leave the car with the valet... not good. it's unbelievable that the 6 motel or any other with a lower star rating, has better services than a marriott... YES the 25 dls parking are unacceptable... unbelievable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MX
Jul 22, 2011

very good hotel, but ...

I went to SA for only 36 hours, so this hotel was a very good choice, because of its really good location (only 3 blocks from the river walk). the staff is friendly, the facilities are very good, the room was clean and big! very good. but..... they charge 25 dls parking fare... they charge for the internet service, they charge practically for everything addicional to the staying... and even though i paid for the parking... it took me over 20 minutes waiting, going round and round to get a spot and i couldn't cause they had some sort of event in the hotel... i had to leave the car with the valet... not good. it's unbelievable that the 6 motel or any other with a lower star rating, has better services than a marriott... YES the 25 dls parking are unacceptable... unbelievable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Fish
Flint, MI
Jul 7, 2011

The Edge of Everything

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly all the time. One offered to draw up a map of some vegetarian restaurants for my sister. The room was very neat and clean. The bed was far too soft for my tastes though. The pool area is pretty much what you'd expect: pool, hot tub, wading pool, and bar with daytime hours. The bad part here is that the hotel dumpsters are very close (just over a wall) and the smells after a day in the hot Texas sun are not too pleasant for what should be a relaxing environment. My largest thought on improvement is for the hotel to build a (at least) dual level parking structure for their guests. The parking available is inadequate for the hotel capacity. I intend to stay here again. The Riverwalk is less than a mile away and there are numerous taxis available (the valet can also call one as needed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Fish
Flint, MI
Jul 7, 2011

The Edge of Everything

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly all the time. One offered to draw up a map of some vegetarian restaurants for my sister. The room was very neat and clean. The bed was far too soft for my tastes though. The pool area is pretty much what you'd expect: pool, hot tub, wading pool, and bar with daytime hours. The bad part here is that the hotel dumpsters are very close (just over a wall) and the smells after a day in the hot Texas sun are not too pleasant for what should be a relaxing environment. My largest thought on improvement is for the hotel to build a (at least) dual level parking structure for their guests. The parking available is inadequate for the hotel capacity. I intend to stay here again. The Riverwalk is less than a mile away and there are numerous taxis available (the valet can also call one as needed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Family Fun Getaway

Just two blocks walking distance from the Riverwalk this is right across from the famous Himisphere Park and one block away fromt the Villita. No need to rent a car when staying here all is very accessable, bus, taxi. Pool was very clean, has clean towls, hot tub was too hot, but other than that a very clean safe enviornment. With my kids safety is priority to me and the fact is we all look for clean locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very accessib to the night clubs and other venues if you're not a night owl.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Family Fun Getaway

Just two blocks walking distance from the Riverwalk this is right across from the famous Himisphere Park and one block away fromt the Villita. No need to rent a car when staying here all is very accessable, bus, taxi. Pool was very clean, has clean towls, hot tub was too hot, but other than that a very clean safe enviornment. With my kids safety is priority to me and the fact is we all look for clean locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very accessib to the night clubs and other venues if you're not a night owl.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jul 5, 2011

Family getaway @ Seaworld

Excellent Hotel. Very clean and better than expected. Excellent location in Downtown San Antonio. Close to everything. Good atmosphere and very friendly and efficient staff. Would stay again at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most everything to do is very close by...food, entertaiment, night life, etc.

Back to menu Return to top