Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
45 reviews
Still good

I stay at this location 6 to 10 times a year on both personal and business. For nearly 20 years... See full review

  • A.bil
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great stay

Had a great experience, close to the river walk, friendly staff, very welcoming. Room was very... See full review

  • Cool Kid 2014
  • Dec 17, 2014
Spacious accommodation in landscaped grounds for business and leisure
 

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel serves business travelers, sightseers and families on vacation in San Antonio. Guests can stroll among fountains in the landscaped gardens, where free-roaming peacocks and pheasants linger. Diaz House, built in the 1840s, provides an unusual venue for business meetings, parties and weddings. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the charming courtyard, and the hotel also includes an outdoor heated pool. The Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel has a friendly and very helpful staff.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Beautiful tranquil setting at the heart of busy downtown San Antonio

  • Generous guest rooms and meeting space

  • Located within easy reach of attractions and convention centers

Marriott Plaza San Antonio rooms
 

The generous rooms at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel include either king size beds or two double beds. Some overlook the city and some the internal courtyard. The provisions for business meetings are excellent at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel; there are 17 rooms available and the largest meeting area seats a maximum of 750 people. High-speed wireless Internet and free local phone calls are available in rooms. Enjoy the Gazebo Garden, a green space right at the center of downtown San Antonio, or dine in the Anaqua Grille, the Marriot Plaza San Antonio's onsite restaurant. The hotel courtyard, complete with a fountain, can accommodate up to 350 people for an outdoor reception.

Things To Do:
 
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • River Walk (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • The Alamo (0.6 mi/0.96 km)

  • Alamodome (1.2 mi/1.93 km)

  • La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta (17 mi/27.36 km)

  • El Mercado Mexican Market (1.1 mi/1.77 km)

  • Hemisfair Plaza (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • Tower of the Americas (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Zoo/Witte Museum (0.4 mi/0.64 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.419 -98.4892
Area served
Municipal Auditorum & Conference Center
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 9.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.2 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Anaqua Restaurant & Grille
Our San Antonio Restaurant, Anaqua Restaurant & Grille, serves up contemporary , regional cuisine.
Palm Terrace Lounge
The ideal setting for relaxed conversation, cocktails and light snacks
Pool Side Bar
Our San Antonio hotel's Palm Terrace Lounge offers drinks and light far, alfresco style. The lounge is open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baked potato man
Business
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Oct 10, 2011

Nice, but could have been better

The hotel was OK, but for the price we felt it could have provided more value. The restaurant in the hotel was OK, but overpriced. We have stayed other places similarly priced that provided a free breakfast buffet. The location was close to the riverfront which nice. The room, itself, was nice and well decorated. We enjoyed the balcony and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat somewhere in the river walk. The steak places were expensive, but the mexican places were great and well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That one guy
Business
Albuquerque NM
Sep 6, 2011

Place was ok

Be prepared for paying about $25/day for parking. The room was kind of loud (strange humming sound that kicked on and off), we think it was from the AC. We got 2 rooms, one on the 3rd floor and one on the 7th. Both rooms had a problem with the bathtub drain, it drained soooooo slow while taking a shower we thought it had completely backed up. The big plus for the hotel was that it was only a 5 min walk to the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 min walk to the Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glory
Business
Conroe,
Aug 29, 2011

Fantastic Weekend!

I booked a weekend at the Marriott on the spur of the moment. This was not a planned weekend, I just wanted to get away, so I chose the Marriott because it seemed to be close to the area I had planned to visit, I was told the estimated check in would be 4:00, but I was allowed to check in at 12:30 which was great, the room was wonderful and the scene from our balcony was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were close to all the attractions that we wanted to see. A big thanks to the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear cool clothing, San Antonio was lovely but very hot due to our crazy Texas weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hannah
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 24, 2011

about the swim pool

everything good , only the pool a little cold even at 5pm in the evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, La
Aug 2, 2011

Unimpressed

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious however we were disappointed in the lack of amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave, the sheets were only changed every three days, and they charged us to use the parking facility. The staff however was super friendly and filled with helpful information on local hot spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of suntan lotion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainview, TX
Aug 1, 2011

Great Famil Getaway

Hotel was very nice, clean and elegant. Room was very spacious, loved the balcony. The children enjoyed the pool very much. Would have been nice to have free coffe in the lounge instead of $3 a cup since I'm the only coffe drinker in the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Riverwalk and downtown. Enjoyed walking in the evenings to have dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prineville, OR
Aug 1, 2011

Great location with some hidden costs

The accomodations were great but found you could not have internet connection in the room without paying an additional fee and also found that they charge for parking which was not disclosed. However they did take off the parking charge when asked why it was not disclosed when checking in. The location was great for the riverwalk and the Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 31, 2011

Marriott Plaza has a beautiful pool.

We really enjoyed the beautiful pool and grounds of the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel now charges $23 per day for self parking, which was free when we stayed there 2 years ago. The hotel is very close to the river walk and many good restaurants. The room is beautiful and the beds are comfortable. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MX
Jul 22, 2011

very good hotel, but ...

I went to SA for only 36 hours, so this hotel was a very good choice, because of its really good location (only 3 blocks from the river walk). the staff is friendly, the facilities are very good, the room was clean and big! very good. but..... they charge 25 dls parking fare... they charge for the internet service, they charge practically for everything addicional to the staying... and even though i paid for the parking... it took me over 20 minutes waiting, going round and round to get a spot and i couldn't cause they had some sort of event in the hotel... i had to leave the car with the valet... not good. it's unbelievable that the 6 motel or any other with a lower star rating, has better services than a marriott... YES the 25 dls parking are unacceptable... unbelievable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top