$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Marriott Plaza San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 555 S Alamo St, 555 S. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jangkuni
Business
Anaheim, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Overall good

I really liked the staffs at this hotel. They were very kind. Also, it was overall clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Riverwalk

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baked potato man
Business
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Oct 10, 2011

Nice, but could have been better

The hotel was OK, but for the price we felt it could have provided more value. The restaurant in the hotel was OK, but overpriced. We have stayed other places similarly priced that provided a free breakfast buffet. The location was close to the riverfront which nice. The room, itself, was nice and well decorated. We enjoyed the balcony and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat somewhere in the river walk. The steak places were expensive, but the mexican places were great and well priced.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
That one guy
Business
Albuquerque NM
Sep 6, 2011

Place was ok

Be prepared for paying about $25/day for parking. The room was kind of loud (strange humming sound that kicked on and off), we think it was from the AC. We got 2 rooms, one on the 3rd floor and one on the 7th. Both rooms had a problem with the bathtub drain, it drained soooooo slow while taking a shower we thought it had completely backed up. The big plus for the hotel was that it was only a 5 min walk to the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 min walk to the Riverwalk

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glory
Business
Conroe,
Aug 29, 2011

Fantastic Weekend!

I booked a weekend at the Marriott on the spur of the moment. This was not a planned weekend, I just wanted to get away, so I chose the Marriott because it seemed to be close to the area I had planned to visit, I was told the estimated check in would be 4:00, but I was allowed to check in at 12:30 which was great, the room was wonderful and the scene from our balcony was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were close to all the attractions that we wanted to see. A big thanks to the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear cool clothing, San Antonio was lovely but very hot due to our crazy Texas weather.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hannah
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 24, 2011

about the swim pool

everything good , only the pool a little cold even at 5pm in the evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jossel
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Weekend Stay

We stayed there for overnight. The hotel is ok and its not far from the area we want to visit (riverwalk). Only thing is my request of having double beds since my mother in law is going with us. Called the hotel twice prior to our date of stay and was confirmed about this request. When we get there to check in receptionist said they don't have available rooms anymore that has double beds. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, La
Aug 2, 2011

Unimpressed

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious however we were disappointed in the lack of amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave, the sheets were only changed every three days, and they charged us to use the parking facility. The staff however was super friendly and filled with helpful information on local hot spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of suntan lotion.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainview, TX
Aug 1, 2011

Great Famil Getaway

Hotel was very nice, clean and elegant. Room was very spacious, loved the balcony. The children enjoyed the pool very much. Would have been nice to have free coffe in the lounge instead of $3 a cup since I'm the only coffe drinker in the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Riverwalk and downtown. Enjoyed walking in the evenings to have dinner.

Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prineville, OR
Aug 1, 2011

Great location with some hidden costs

The accomodations were great but found you could not have internet connection in the room without paying an additional fee and also found that they charge for parking which was not disclosed. However they did take off the parking charge when asked why it was not disclosed when checking in. The location was great for the riverwalk and the Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top