$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it! See full review

  • Kimberly fancy nancy
  • Aug 13, 2014
Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils... See full review

  • Love2Dance
  • Mar 24, 2014
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize credit card 24 hours prior to arrival. A 200.00 USD deposit is required for all cash-paying guests. All 3rd-party guests must have a valid credit card at check-in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 USD to the credit card or a 200.00 USD cash deposit will be required at check-in. There is a 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Lobby will be undergoing renovation until August 31, 2014. The swimming pool is now open.

Hotel Map

29.4921 -98.4011
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 7.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, IH-35 Exit 164A

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 44
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love2Dance
Rogers, Arkansas
Mar 24, 2014

Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils are provided so one can prepare a meal in the room. Breakfast is also provided by the hotel. The only minor inconveniences were adjusting the air conditioner vent, near ceiling on wall, so it did not blow air directly on us and having to frequently jiggle the toilet handle. This hotel is near train tracks and if you are sensitive to noise, the train whistle at night may bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Mexican food near the hotel to walk or drive to which has good food. A short drive away is a restaurant that serves fish, including oysters, which is very good.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Smith 84
Queretaro, Mexico
Nov 21, 2012

Value for money

It's nowhere near the center of San Antonio but we had a car so that was fine. It was easy to find and a really easy drive to all the shopping malls etc. THe room had a couch area with a TV, a bathroom and kitchen and fridge which was really useful and a really comfy double bed. The staff were lovely too! The hotel was great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lompoc, Ca
Oct 18, 2010

Best hotel we've been to in a long time.

Very happy with the location, price, and cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have been in some very bad hotels and this was one of the best for a reasonable price. The location was perfect for going downtown to the Riverwalk or going out of town to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of different dining options close to the hotel. Their hot breakfast was filling and easy.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah yo
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 19, 2014

Definitely Worth It

I was extremely impressed on how nice the hotel was. It wasn't expensive to stay there at all so I wasn't expecting the best quality of a room. However, it was like a mini apartment. We had a kitchen, living room, big bathroom, and big bedroom. I couldn't have been more happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denetria newman
san antonio, Tx
Feb 16, 2014

loved the space

I enjoyed this hotel and the room was great wished they had a mainstay suites downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dance club

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
east tenneessee
May 31, 2010

great weekend

We had a great time! Room was spotless and large all decorated in western style. Staff was great, had the extra pillows I requested ready for me upon arrival. Close to lots of restaurants & had good in room food delivery. Bed was comfortable. only draw back was the adjoining neighborhood very poor and on Sat night the car next to ours was broken in to. Om the bright side it happened right out side our window and we didn't hear a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srini11
Houston, texas
Jul 8, 2013

the stay was comfy

Everything was good about the place except for the smell in the lift lobby areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station, TX
Jul 11, 2010

Great stay for the price

My boyfriend and I visited San Antonio for a mini-vacation (3 nights) and the overall stay was nice, and enjoyable. The location of the hotel is nice, right between New Braunfels and downtown San Antonio. Close enough drive to Schlitterbahn (about 25 minutes), Natural Bridge Caverns and Animal Park (20 minutes) and the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio. Finding the hotel was easy, parking was easy and never had to worry about a spot the entire 3-night trip, checking in was easy, and checking out was easy. Issues: a couple of the mornings I heard a knocking noise coming from somewhere. I never found out what it was but it was slightly annoying. The noise only last for a few minutes, but long enough to be too long. We had a regular one-queen bedroom. There was a good sized closet, microwave, kitchen sink, coffee machine, medium sized fridge (that actually worked, unlike other hotels I've been to), bathroom was spacious, there were 2 TVs (one in the living room which included a couch, chair, and desk) and one in front of the bed. The bed wasn't a flat screen (minor frown) but they worked, which was a plus. On the last full day when we came back from Schlitterbahn water park, the "privacy please" door holder was missing, and the cleaning service had been in our room, which was unexpected and not appreciated. I can't say that any of the staff members removed the "privacy please" holder, but it was unexpected. Overall, I'd stay in this hotel again and tell my friends or family to do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short 20 minute drive to Natural Bridge Caverns and Wildlife Park, Schlitterbahn, downtown San Antonio. Good place to stay if your trip takes you to different places around town.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Texas
Jul 15, 2010

Awesome place!

This is an awesome hotel. Decent pricing for a good product. The room was really nice and clean. The hotel itself was really clean, I witnessed the staff cleaning around all day with great detail. Amusement parks and downtown are just a short drive away. A good plus was the morning breakfast buffet. Eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes, condiments, cereal, waffle maker, juice, milk and coffee. Not to mention you get pretty much get a full kitchen in your room. We stayed for 4 days and it was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Devoted military girl
Ventura California
May 20, 2013

Visiting military boyfriend

It was okay. I just basically just needed it to sleep at. The base is about 20mins away I thought it would be closer. The breakfast I never ate bcuz I would wake up around 9:30 just when they stopped serving. We ran out of toilet paper so we how to get it downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search