$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it! See full review

  • Kimberly fancy nancy
  • Aug 13, 2014
Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils... See full review

  • Love2Dance
  • Mar 24, 2014
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize credit card 24 hours prior to arrival. A 200.00 USD deposit is required for all cash-paying guests. All 3rd-party guests must have a valid credit card at check-in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 USD to the credit card or a 200.00 USD cash deposit will be required at check-in. There is a 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Lobby will be undergoing renovation until August 31, 2014. The swimming pool is now open.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cowcrazy
Business
Northeast Missouri
Jul 28, 2010

a relaxing experience

Staying here was very relaxing for us, especially the jacuzzi. Our trip was very stressful and we were able to unwind. The breakfast was very good and everyone enjoyed the food. The pool was small but very clean. Our room was spacious and we weren't walking over top of each other. Staff was very accomadating and we were able to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

AT&T Center was very close by and we enjoyed a WNBA game there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeast Texas
Jul 26, 2010

All was well

A competetive price for a good suite,the pullout sofa was a plus,two tv's,all clean,everything was there and worked,the breakfast was good enough.I'll go back and Im a little picky.The bed seemed to be a double instead of a queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Jul 11, 2010

Great stay for the price

My boyfriend and I visited San Antonio for a mini-vacation (3 nights) and the overall stay was nice, and enjoyable. The location of the hotel is nice, right between New Braunfels and downtown San Antonio. Close enough drive to Schlitterbahn (about 25 minutes), Natural Bridge Caverns and Animal Park (20 minutes) and the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio. Finding the hotel was easy, parking was easy and never had to worry about a spot the entire 3-night trip, checking in was easy, and checking out was easy. Issues: a couple of the mornings I heard a knocking noise coming from somewhere. I never found out what it was but it was slightly annoying. The noise only last for a few minutes, but long enough to be too long. We had a regular one-queen bedroom. There was a good sized closet, microwave, kitchen sink, coffee machine, medium sized fridge (that actually worked, unlike other hotels I've been to), bathroom was spacious, there were 2 TVs (one in the living room which included a couch, chair, and desk) and one in front of the bed. The bed wasn't a flat screen (minor frown) but they worked, which was a plus. On the last full day when we came back from Schlitterbahn water park, the "privacy please" door holder was missing, and the cleaning service had been in our room, which was unexpected and not appreciated. I can't say that any of the staff members removed the "privacy please" holder, but it was unexpected. Overall, I'd stay in this hotel again and tell my friends or family to do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short 20 minute drive to Natural Bridge Caverns and Wildlife Park, Schlitterbahn, downtown San Antonio. Good place to stay if your trip takes you to different places around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 27, 2010

San Antonio Trip

Great Hotel, great amenities, great breakfast. Everything as listed on website....business center, fitness center. Loved the stay...Coffee maker being too small is nothing compared to everything that was good. Will stay again if or when we return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Texas
Jul 15, 2010

Awesome place!

This is an awesome hotel. Decent pricing for a good product. The room was really nice and clean. The hotel itself was really clean, I witnessed the staff cleaning around all day with great detail. Amusement parks and downtown are just a short drive away. A good plus was the morning breakfast buffet. Eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes, condiments, cereal, waffle maker, juice, milk and coffee. Not to mention you get pretty much get a full kitchen in your room. We stayed for 4 days and it was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman, OK
Jun 30, 2010

great family getaway

As a family this a good vacation. Most of the staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was a large size and very clean. Staff always had room cleaned and our personal stuff cleaned with regular duties. Hotel provides numerous broucheres of attractions. The breakfast buffet was kinda disappointing, limited selection on what was provided. All in all we had a great experience here at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilHedgy
Business
Normal, Illinois
Jun 12, 2014

Comfortable home away from home

The room was bigger and had more than we originally thought! The sofa turned into a sofabed and there was a big refrigerator as well as a mini fridge, a hot plate, a dish drainer, utensils, microwave, toaster, and coffeepot. You really couldn't ask for more, especially if you're having an extended stay. Our curtain had a rip in the one layer, but the heavy dark one didn't so it still kept light out in the morning. They give out samples of Loreal hair products for shampoo an conditioner! That's the nicest hotel shampoo I've ever had and it came with an additional creme treatment that left my hair super soft! Beware of cockroaches outside! But the hotel doors meet the ground so they can't get in unless you let them and they're everywhere in Texas so it's not the hotel's fault. Seriously, they're everywhere at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adam75
Business
Texas
Jul 5, 2014

great location

Cleand room and full kitchen, perfect to stay. staff was friendly and breakfast was good too. there were two tv, it was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of restaurants within 2 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Moon
Business
richmond, texas
Jul 10, 2014

Very good value

Very good sized room and very engaged staff. Was very pleased with the furnished kitchenette area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vesu
Business
DFW
Jul 28, 2014

good value

good value for a suite with a kitchen. Full size refrigerator was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top