$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
47 reviews
Wonderful Experience

The room is pretty spacey and well-designed. It's close to San Macros Premium Outlets and San Antonio. See full review

  • TIANYI C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it! See full review

  • Kimberly fancy nancy
  • Aug 13, 2014
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize credit card 24 hours prior to arrival. A 200.00 USD deposit is required for all cash-paying guests. All 3rd-party guests must have a valid credit card at check-in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 USD to the credit card or a 200.00 USD cash deposit will be required at check-in. There is a 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Lobby will be undergoing renovation until August 31, 2014. The swimming pool is now open.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimberly fancy nancy
Business
San Antonio
Aug 13, 2014

Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great hotel with kitchen and living room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TIANYI C.
Business
Austin
Jan 5, 2015

Wonderful Experience

The room is pretty spacey and well-designed. It's close to San Macros Premium Outlets and San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east tenneessee
May 31, 2010

great weekend

We had a great time! Room was spotless and large all decorated in western style. Staff was great, had the extra pillows I requested ready for me upon arrival. Close to lots of restaurants & had good in room food delivery. Bed was comfortable. only draw back was the adjoining neighborhood very poor and on Sat night the car next to ours was broken in to. Om the bright side it happened right out side our window and we didn't hear a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cris409
Business
beaumont, tx
Jan 1, 2013

Awesome experience

My stay at this hotel was an awesome experience and I have to say I was a little reluctant because of some of the reviews on here. The rooms are exceptional clean without odors. They are very neat with two large flatscreen tvs, that comes in handy when you have kids. The staff were always helpful. We always had towels (which apparently are hard to get at hotels from previous experiences), and are rooms were always re-stocked after coming back. The distance from downtown is more like 15-20 minutes, but its perfect for us since we were still close to what we needed. Their breakfast is impressively good. The only thing I have to say that's negative is that it was weird I had to pre;authorize $150.00 from my bank account before getting the room, which I understand its for any damage, but it would be nice for you to know thats a requirement online before you buy so your not all surprised when you get to the front desk, some of the wall outlets didnt work, coffee machine was broke, and the wireless internet had a weak signal so I wasn't able to use it. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It made our trip more enjoyable and I got the value for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisse2012
Business
San Antonio
Mar 8, 2013

Unforgettable visit

The staff was nice and helpful. They tried their best to be accommodating. The gym was broken down...only 2 pieces of equipment work; however, the tredmill was so difficult to figure out I gave up. The pool seemed very small, butb the weather was too cold to swim so I never got in. While there I visited my husband at fort Sam Houston. While it was not as close as people said, it was close enough to base and easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Alamo, Sea World, the River Walk, and the zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REYURBINA
Business
Harker Heights, TX
Mar 16, 2013

Last minute family getaway

The room was a tad outdated but clean and well maintained. The ladies at the front desk were always very helpful and courteous. However, we were disappointed that there was not a hot tub and that the outdoor pool was not heated. Overall, we had a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srini11
Business
Houston, texas
Jul 8, 2013

the stay was comfy

Everything was good about the place except for the smell in the lift lobby areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah yo
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 19, 2014

Definitely Worth It

I was extremely impressed on how nice the hotel was. It wasn't expensive to stay there at all so I wasn't expecting the best quality of a room. However, it was like a mini apartment. We had a kitchen, living room, big bathroom, and big bedroom. I couldn't have been more happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denetria newman
Business
san antonio, Tx
Feb 16, 2014

loved the space

I enjoyed this hotel and the room was great wished they had a mainstay suites downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dance club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sation711
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2010

Good location & price

This was a well kept hotel with spacious rooms. I loved the pool because I can't swim & it was only 5ft deep, so I was comfortable taking my kids in. The breakfast selection was very good. I also liked the location because we were about 20 minutes from downtown, & 30 from fiesta texas. The only thing I didn't like was the ridiculous number of crickets around. Apparently, from what I was told, they are bad in San Antonio during early summer. Also, the sleeper sofa mattress would not be very comfortable for an adult, but my kids slept fine on it. Otherwise this was a great place. I plan on staying there when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I found out if you go to Six Flags after 4pm, you get in for 19.99/ person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top