$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 3, 2015

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
View map of 6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimberly fancy nancy
Family
San Antonio
Aug 13, 2014

Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great hotel with kitchen and living room

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TIANYI C.
Family
Austin
Jan 5, 2015

Wonderful Experience

The room is pretty spacey and well-designed. It's close to San Macros Premium Outlets and San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SYesenia
Family
Grand prairie tx
Oct 7, 2014

It was a good hotel

I love the room it was so space and my kids love it. Everything was close to the hotel. I love the fact that it had a kitchen. I love it. The breakfast was good too. This is one of the best hotel I have stayed in. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobbie S.
Couples
N/A
Jun 2, 2015

Great!

Wonderful little place to stay! Would recommend to anyone staying in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah yo
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 19, 2014

Definitely Worth It

I was extremely impressed on how nice the hotel was. It wasn't expensive to stay there at all so I wasn't expecting the best quality of a room. However, it was like a mini apartment. We had a kitchen, living room, big bathroom, and big bedroom. I couldn't have been more happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denetria newman
Couples
san antonio, Tx
Feb 16, 2014

loved the space

I enjoyed this hotel and the room was great wished they had a mainstay suites downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dance club

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cris409
Family
beaumont, tx
Jan 1, 2013

Awesome experience

My stay at this hotel was an awesome experience and I have to say I was a little reluctant because of some of the reviews on here. The rooms are exceptional clean without odors. They are very neat with two large flatscreen tvs, that comes in handy when you have kids. The staff were always helpful. We always had towels (which apparently are hard to get at hotels from previous experiences), and are rooms were always re-stocked after coming back. The distance from downtown is more like 15-20 minutes, but its perfect for us since we were still close to what we needed. Their breakfast is impressively good. The only thing I have to say that's negative is that it was weird I had to pre;authorize $150.00 from my bank account before getting the room, which I understand its for any damage, but it would be nice for you to know thats a requirement online before you buy so your not all surprised when you get to the front desk, some of the wall outlets didnt work, coffee machine was broke, and the wireless internet had a weak signal so I wasn't able to use it. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It made our trip more enjoyable and I got the value for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisse2012
Family
San Antonio
Mar 8, 2013

Unforgettable visit

The staff was nice and helpful. They tried their best to be accommodating. The gym was broken down...only 2 pieces of equipment work; however, the tredmill was so difficult to figure out I gave up. The pool seemed very small, butb the weather was too cold to swim so I never got in. While there I visited my husband at fort Sam Houston. While it was not as close as people said, it was close enough to base and easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Alamo, Sea World, the River Walk, and the zoo.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REYURBINA
Family
Harker Heights, TX
Mar 16, 2013

Last minute family getaway

The room was a tad outdated but clean and well maintained. The ladies at the front desk were always very helpful and courteous. However, we were disappointed that there was not a hot tub and that the outdoor pool was not heated. Overall, we had a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srini11
Couples
Houston, texas
Jul 8, 2013

the stay was comfy

Everything was good about the place except for the smell in the lift lobby areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top