$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils... See full review

  • Love2Dance
  • Mar 24, 2014
Great staff and room

Great service! Very nice staff, will definitely be staying at a mainstay suite next time around. See full review

  • supra13
  • Aug 25, 2013
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area/Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize Credit Card 24 hours prior to arrival. 200.00 USD deposit for all cash paying guest. All 3rd party guest must have a valid credit card at check in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 usd to the credit card or must pay 200.00 usd cash deposit at check in. 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tues, Thurs and Saturdays. Firearms are not permitted inside of this hotel.

Hotel Map

29.4921 -98.4011
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 7.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, IH-35 Exit 164A

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Army Wife and Mom
Business
Harker Heights, TX
Aug 14, 2012

Shockingly dirty.

The staff was nice, even if they gave me the wrong directions. They didn't even know the exit number. Our first room was so nasty. The kitchen had dried food all over, moldy sponge (they should provide a fresh wrapped one every time), and there was debris and hair and trash all over the edges of the floors, especially the bathroom! The toilet handle even had dried peanut butter on it. The couch was nasty and stained and falling apart, the cushions didn't even cover the spring pull out bed. When I asked to change rooms they were accommodating, yet acted surprised that the room was dirty. When I talked to another hotel guest they stated that their room was very dirty also, and they too had switched rooms. Our second room was better, but still had nasty debris on bathroom floor, mold along the outside of the tub, and toothpaste spots all over the mirrors and walls. We also found a spider in the bed. There was no bathroom soap and no hair dryer as they stated there would be. Also, the couch was torn with the stuffing falling out. I am surprised that there are any good reviews on this hotel!! We will never come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
timandespen
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 20, 2010

Don't spend the money to stay here!

Where to start? I paid above market for this hotel and got a much cheaper hotel. It is not 3 stars and lucky to be 2. Paper thin walls-you can hear everything, one bar of soap in the bathroom, staff who can't speak English, no accessories(I needed an extension cord - none available, I needed some milk for coffee-cafeteria all locked up!), false drawers on kitchenette cabinets, old tv's, cheap plastic knives and forks and plates for breakfast, staff vacuuming during breakfast, no newspapers, things not working and items needing to be fixed. The only decent thing was the bed which was comfortable, but a comfortable bed does not make a 3 star hotel. Overpriced, and definitely would not stay here again. I suggest others avoid it too. Read the reviews about the noise from the freeway and train tracks nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inexpensive Mexican restaurant with large portions, and Cracker barrel within walking distance.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Relocating to San Antonio
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 30, 2012

Go Elsewhere!

Room was very dirty - after 1/2 hour of being in the room our socks were black. Housekeeping came and left behind torn, ragged towels (no reason for this as there were very few people staying in the hotel). We complained to the front desk worker and he did nothing for us. We choose this hotel so that we could save money and not eat every meal out - but we ended up eating every meal out. The "kitchen" in the room had one very tiny sauce pan (big enough to boil water for ramen noodles (for one)), utensils for two people, 2 small dinner plates, and 2 small juice glasses. The sheets had this foul odor to them. While we were there friends told us the hotel was in a high crime area. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dren
Houston, TX
Sep 13, 2012

Don't Stay Here

If you like loud trains and loud door slams ever 15mins, then this is the place for you. After complaining i was told that they would change their processes. Didnt try to compensate me one bit I will never stay in there hotel again, so much for a weekend getaway and relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
timandespen
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 20, 2010

Don't spend the money to stay here!

Where to start? I paid above market for this hotel and got a much cheaper hotel. It is not 3 stars and lucky to be 2. Paper thin walls-you can hear everything, one bar of soap in the bathroom, staff who can't speak English, no accessories(I needed an extension cord - none available, I needed some milk for coffee-cafeteria all locked up!), false drawers on kitchenette cabinets, old tv's, cheap plastic knives and forks and plates for breakfast, staff vacuuming during breakfast, no newspapers, things not working and items needing to be fixed. The only decent thing was the bed which was comfortable, but a comfortable bed does not make a 3 star hotel. Overpriced, and definitely would not stay here again. I suggest others avoid it too. Read the reviews about the noise from the freeway and train tracks nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inexpensive Mexican restaurant with large portions, and Cracker barrel within walking distance.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jpaguilar
Houston tx
Apr 21, 2014

They can do better

The hotel was ok not perfect, the location its to far from the tourist area. The staff at the front desk was rude not at all costumer service the same thing with the staff in charge of the breakfast but the worst was the housekeeping for some unknown reason they took my shower curtin and did not put another one when i call the front desk the womenwho answear the phone was rude and told me to go and talk to the latina lady that she was on my floor. Worst staff ever! I could have paid $10 more qnd stay at a better hotel but i know that for next time i visit san antonio tx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria
Jul 6, 2008

Surprised

The room smelled of urine.The curtains and furniture in the living room were badly stained.The sleeper sofa had crumbs in the linens. There was no internet capability. The staff at the new location was exceptionally friendly and was 5 star quality in my estimation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel23454321
Ca
Mar 8, 2014

San Antonio trip

Staff very nice, free breakfast good. Value ok, will pay more for better Hotel & location next time in the area. Location not the greatest, surrounding neighborhood not the greatest to say the least. Lots of road construction going on in the area, lots of road workers staying in the hotel. Also tractor trailer parked in the parking lot & its refrigeration unit running all night. (LOUD) Disappointed overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria
Jul 6, 2008

Surprised

The room smelled of urine.The curtains and furniture in the living room were badly stained.The sleeper sofa had crumbs in the linens. There was no internet capability. The staff at the new location was exceptionally friendly and was 5 star quality in my estimation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tonawanda, New York
Jul 28, 2010

Our Texas Trip

The staff at the hotel were very nice. The room was spaceous. Our issue is that the hotel is not located in a great area and the commercial train goes by at all hours sounding their road crossing horn. If your room faces the front of the hotel, you will know when the train is going by. The breakfast is great and cost to stay at this hotel is reasonable. The distance to downtown San Antonio and Lackland Air Force Base is not good. Their wi-fi is not up to speed and the business office only has 1 computer. I would consider spending a little more money and stay closer to downtown San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Stay closer to downtown San Antonio.

Back to menu Return to top