$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it! See full review

  • Kimberly fancy nancy
  • Aug 13, 2014
Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils... See full review

  • Love2Dance
  • Mar 24, 2014
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize credit card 24 hours prior to arrival. A 200.00 USD deposit is required for all cash-paying guests. All 3rd-party guests must have a valid credit card at check-in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 USD to the credit card or a 200.00 USD cash deposit will be required at check-in. There is a 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Lobby will be undergoing renovation until August 31, 2014. The swimming pool is now open.

Hotel Map

29.4921 -98.4011
Nearby airports
San Antonio Int'l Airport, (SAT), 7.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, IH-35 Exit 164A

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cris409
beaumont, tx
Jan 1, 2013

Awesome experience

My stay at this hotel was an awesome experience and I have to say I was a little reluctant because of some of the reviews on here. The rooms are exceptional clean without odors. They are very neat with two large flatscreen tvs, that comes in handy when you have kids. The staff were always helpful. We always had towels (which apparently are hard to get at hotels from previous experiences), and are rooms were always re-stocked after coming back. The distance from downtown is more like 15-20 minutes, but its perfect for us since we were still close to what we needed. Their breakfast is impressively good. The only thing I have to say that's negative is that it was weird I had to pre;authorize $150.00 from my bank account before getting the room, which I understand its for any damage, but it would be nice for you to know thats a requirement online before you buy so your not all surprised when you get to the front desk, some of the wall outlets didnt work, coffee machine was broke, and the wireless internet had a weak signal so I wasn't able to use it. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It made our trip more enjoyable and I got the value for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Smith 84
Queretaro, Mexico
Nov 21, 2012

Value for money

It's nowhere near the center of San Antonio but we had a car so that was fine. It was easy to find and a really easy drive to all the shopping malls etc. THe room had a couch area with a TV, a bathroom and kitchen and fridge which was really useful and a really comfy double bed. The staff were lovely too! The hotel was great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Relocating to San Antonio
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 30, 2012

Go Elsewhere!

Room was very dirty - after 1/2 hour of being in the room our socks were black. Housekeeping came and left behind torn, ragged towels (no reason for this as there were very few people staying in the hotel). We complained to the front desk worker and he did nothing for us. We choose this hotel so that we could save money and not eat every meal out - but we ended up eating every meal out. The "kitchen" in the room had one very tiny sauce pan (big enough to boil water for ramen noodles (for one)), utensils for two people, 2 small dinner plates, and 2 small juice glasses. The sheets had this foul odor to them. While we were there friends told us the hotel was in a high crime area. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dren
Houston, TX
Sep 13, 2012

Don't Stay Here

If you like loud trains and loud door slams ever 15mins, then this is the place for you. After complaining i was told that they would change their processes. Didnt try to compensate me one bit I will never stay in there hotel again, so much for a weekend getaway and relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Army Wife and Mom
Business
Harker Heights, TX
Aug 14, 2012

Shockingly dirty.

The staff was nice, even if they gave me the wrong directions. They didn't even know the exit number. Our first room was so nasty. The kitchen had dried food all over, moldy sponge (they should provide a fresh wrapped one every time), and there was debris and hair and trash all over the edges of the floors, especially the bathroom! The toilet handle even had dried peanut butter on it. The couch was nasty and stained and falling apart, the cushions didn't even cover the spring pull out bed. When I asked to change rooms they were accommodating, yet acted surprised that the room was dirty. When I talked to another hotel guest they stated that their room was very dirty also, and they too had switched rooms. Our second room was better, but still had nasty debris on bathroom floor, mold along the outside of the tub, and toothpaste spots all over the mirrors and walls. We also found a spider in the bed. There was no bathroom soap and no hair dryer as they stated there would be. Also, the couch was torn with the stuffing falling out. I am surprised that there are any good reviews on this hotel!! We will never come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AJ Stephens
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 10, 2012

River Float

Everything was great. Very nice. The room was big, clean and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
timandespen
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 20, 2010

Don't spend the money to stay here!

Where to start? I paid above market for this hotel and got a much cheaper hotel. It is not 3 stars and lucky to be 2. Paper thin walls-you can hear everything, one bar of soap in the bathroom, staff who can't speak English, no accessories(I needed an extension cord - none available, I needed some milk for coffee-cafeteria all locked up!), false drawers on kitchenette cabinets, old tv's, cheap plastic knives and forks and plates for breakfast, staff vacuuming during breakfast, no newspapers, things not working and items needing to be fixed. The only decent thing was the bed which was comfortable, but a comfortable bed does not make a 3 star hotel. Overpriced, and definitely would not stay here again. I suggest others avoid it too. Read the reviews about the noise from the freeway and train tracks nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inexpensive Mexican restaurant with large portions, and Cracker barrel within walking distance.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lompoc, Ca
Oct 18, 2010

Best hotel we've been to in a long time.

Very happy with the location, price, and cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have been in some very bad hotels and this was one of the best for a reasonable price. The location was perfect for going downtown to the Riverwalk or going out of town to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of different dining options close to the hotel. Their hot breakfast was filling and easy.

Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
raceland louisiana
Oct 10, 2010

Fantastic family getaway"

perifct room had a good time would stay there again if i would go back to san antionio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sation711
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2010

Good location & price

This was a well kept hotel with spacious rooms. I loved the pool because I can't swim & it was only 5ft deep, so I was comfortable taking my kids in. The breakfast selection was very good. I also liked the location because we were about 20 minutes from downtown, & 30 from fiesta texas. The only thing I didn't like was the ridiculous number of crickets around. Apparently, from what I was told, they are bad in San Antonio during early summer. Also, the sleeper sofa mattress would not be very comfortable for an adult, but my kids slept fine on it. Otherwise this was a great place. I plan on staying there when I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I found out if you go to Six Flags after 4pm, you get in for 19.99/ person.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search