$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

3 stars
6900 North IH 35, San Antonio, TX 78218
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
Fantastic great hotel

Great hotel had everything we needed! I can't believe we never booked it! See full review

  • Kimberly fancy nancy
  • Aug 13, 2014
Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils... See full review

  • Love2Dance
  • Mar 24, 2014
The MainStay Suites by Ft. Sam Houston is minutes from San Antonio Military Medical Center and Ft Sam Houston, minutes from the historical downtown area Riverwalk, Toyota Field, STAR Soccer Complex. Guests must be 21 years or older to book a room. Hotel will authorize credit card 24 hours prior to arrival. A 200.00 USD deposit is required for all cash-paying guests. All 3rd-party guests must have a valid credit card at check-in and the hotel will authorize 150.00 USD to the credit card or a 200.00 USD cash deposit will be required at check-in. There is a 150.00 USD fine for smoking in room. Housekeeping is provided on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Lobby will be undergoing renovation until August 31, 2014. The swimming pool is now open.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • SBC Center: 3.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 3.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.4 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 5 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 5.1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 6.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 6.8 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 6.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 7 mi
  • Alamodome: 7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 7 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 7.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 7.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 7.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.5 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 10.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 14.9 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Sea World: 18.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jpaguilar
Business
Houston tx
Apr 21, 2014

They can do better

The hotel was ok not perfect, the location its to far from the tourist area. The staff at the front desk was rude not at all costumer service the same thing with the staff in charge of the breakfast but the worst was the housekeeping for some unknown reason they took my shower curtin and did not put another one when i call the front desk the womenwho answear the phone was rude and told me to go and talk to the latina lady that she was on my floor. Worst staff ever! I could have paid $10 more qnd stay at a better hotel but i know that for next time i visit san antonio tx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love2Dance
Business
Rogers, Arkansas
Mar 24, 2014

Spacious room

The suite room is large with a comfortable bed, mini-kitchen, and a sitting area. Pans and utensils are provided so one can prepare a meal in the room. Breakfast is also provided by the hotel. The only minor inconveniences were adjusting the air conditioner vent, near ceiling on wall, so it did not blow air directly on us and having to frequently jiggle the toilet handle. This hotel is near train tracks and if you are sensitive to noise, the train whistle at night may bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Mexican food near the hotel to walk or drive to which has good food. A short drive away is a restaurant that serves fish, including oysters, which is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel23454321
Business
Ca
Mar 8, 2014

San Antonio trip

Staff very nice, free breakfast good. Value ok, will pay more for better Hotel & location next time in the area. Location not the greatest, surrounding neighborhood not the greatest to say the least. Lots of road construction going on in the area, lots of road workers staying in the hotel. Also tractor trailer parked in the parking lot & its refrigeration unit running all night. (LOUD) Disappointed overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denetria newman
Business
san antonio, Tx
Feb 16, 2014

loved the space

I enjoyed this hotel and the room was great wished they had a mainstay suites downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dance club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah yo
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 19, 2014

Definitely Worth It

I was extremely impressed on how nice the hotel was. It wasn't expensive to stay there at all so I wasn't expecting the best quality of a room. However, it was like a mini apartment. We had a kitchen, living room, big bathroom, and big bedroom. I couldn't have been more happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
supra13
Business
south, tx
Aug 25, 2013

Great staff and room

Great service! Very nice staff, will definitely be staying at a mainstay suite next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srini11
Business
Houston, texas
Jul 8, 2013

the stay was comfy

Everything was good about the place except for the smell in the lift lobby areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prefer friendly staff
Business
Houston, Texas
May 28, 2013

Front desk employee extremely RUDE!

Overall, this hotel is convenient, clean, and comfortable. However, if it hadn't been for the housekeeping staff our stay would have been ruined. We had 2 rooms. One of the rooms was absent both TVs. We asked the front desk staff and they said one would be installed by the time we came back from our outing. Well, it wasn't. Another person was at the front desk at this time. When we called down to ask about it, she replied that they had a TV but no one to bring it up. We asked if we could move one TV from one room to our other room. She replied with these exact words. "No, and if you are not happy with our hotel I would be more than happy to check you out and you can stay somewhere else". My reply...What are you talking about? Then she repeated her statement. Was this girl on drugs? I don't know but, she was completely out of line. We asked a simple question and was verbally attacked. WE then asked to speak to a supervisor and she said "You only have me, they are all out of town". The housekeeping team was in the hallway and we asked them if they could help us with our situation. They replied "Of course, let me go get a cart so we can move it". They also told us that they weren't suppose to rent out the room because both TVs were missing. I'm not going to hold the entire hotel accountable for this one employee's lack of judgment. I have never been treated so rudely. She could have said "We are so sorry for your inconvenience and I will try......" Anything would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ali H
Business
Houston
May 27, 2013

Great

Fantastic family getaway. Fantastic family getaway. Fantastic family getaway. Fantastic family getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MainStay Suites By Ft. Sam Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Devoted military girl
Business
Ventura California
May 20, 2013

Visiting military boyfriend

It was okay. I just basically just needed it to sleep at. The base is about 20mins away I thought it would be closer. The breakfast I never ate bcuz I would wake up around 9:30 just when they stopped serving. We ran out of toilet paper so we how to get it downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top