$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

2 stars
View map of 6511 West Military Drive, 6511 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
85 reviews
Thank you

We had a wonderful time. So enjoyed being close to the action. The. Staff was so helpful! See full review

  • Gamma and Papa
  • Feb 5, 2014
BMT Graduation

We stayed here for our daughter's graduation from BMT. From the moment we checked in, every staff... See full review

  • Denise O.
  • Jan 19, 2015
So close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear “Taps” played each night
The tangerine-colored La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel is so close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear "Taps" played on a nightly basis. The location is convenient to many local attractions, including the Alamo, Market Square and Institute of Texan Cultures. Parking is free, as is the Bright Side Breakfast. Also free are as many local calls as guests wish to make. Two outdoor pools are open year round. A fitness center with workout machines, picnic site and guest laundry facilities are on-site.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet and local calls
  • Free breakfast buffet with hot and cold items
  • Close to Lackland and Kelly Air Force Bases
  • Two outdoor pools
  • Picnic site
Rooms

The two-story La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel has 175 guest rooms and one suite. Guest rooms feature either a single king bed or a pair of full beds. Free wireless high-speed Internet is in all rooms, along with a TV with an expanded cable lineup. Guests enjoy a mini-coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron with ironing board and in-room safe. Telephones have data ports and voice mail.

Features

Guests of the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel enjoy a complimentary Bright Side Breakfast with waffles, cereal, eggs, fresh fruit and unlimited coffee, tea and juices. Guest laundry facilities are available. High-speed wireless Internet, local calls and parking are all free. Pets are welcome to stay with their owners. Two outdoor swimming pools are open year round. A picnic area is on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Attractions
  • Lackland Air Force Base (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Alamodome (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • The Alamo (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • River Walk (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Market Square (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay with their owners

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland also booked these hotels.

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 10 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 10 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 10.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 11 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 11.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 11.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 11.5 mi
  • ATT Center: 12.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 12.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 13.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 17.1 mi

Dining

Dairy Queen
ice cream and food

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise O.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

BMT Graduation

We stayed here for our daughter's graduation from BMT. From the moment we checked in, every staff member we encountered was friendly, courteous and willing to offer assistance. They were knowledgeable about the graduation, directions to the base and specifically offered breakfast starting at 5am on the days that families need to be heading to the base bright and early. I would especially recommend this hotel if you are attending BMT graduation ceremonies at Lackland AFB. You really can hear Taps played at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MH from Vegas
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

USAF BMT Graduation

This hotel is an excellent place to stay if you want to be near Lackland but not on base. Even on a very heavy traffic day it was very quick from here to BMT Graduation. I would have rated the amenities higher but the poor breakfast selections did not permit that. The hotel is showing its' age but it is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katherine the rose
Business
Springfield ma
Aug 14, 2014

Close to Lackland AFB

The hotel was close to the base. It had a nice pool the staff were very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. They really didn't do a good job cleaning. We had to go to the desk as well as talk to the house keeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Father of an Airman
Business
South Carolina, USA
Oct 11, 2011

BMT Graduation

At end of base fence...very close, very nice. R. turn out of hotel takes you to base gates. Stayed in 2nd bldg. As quite as any hotel room near major hyway. Small pool but didn't go to swim. Nice breakfast. Friendly Helpful staff, with good language skills. Room clean, Shower small but plenty of room for its purpose. Room plenty large, King bed, comfortable for a hotel bed. Air unit, plenty cold. Good Hotel for convience and price for Lackland AFB activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Airforce Mom
Business
Grants Pass Oregon
Jun 14, 2011

Comfortable, clean, and close

This hotel was very convenient to Lackland AFB, where we needed to be. The bed was very comfortable, loved the chair! To be able to put your feet up after a days walk was very nice. The ONLY thing we would have liked to see was a refridgerator, the tap water is warm and the ice melted fast. We stayed for 4 days and it would have been nice to have. The toilet and shower is very small, but it worked. The continental breakfast was nice as well. A very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Check to see what gates are open when, we did alot of driving around after dropping off our airman to find a way out of the base. Your GPS will not take you right to the hotels door. TAKE that exit for Hwy 13.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC
Apr 30, 2011

good price old hotel

The hotel was clean but it was old and it showed. The shower was very tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parker, CO
May 16, 2010

Very Convenient if your Attending BMT Gr

I was a bit concerned from reading other review but it turns out it was needless worry. We stayed 5 days to attend my son's graduation from BMT. It is very close to the AF gate(s). We did ask the front desk if we could move to another room. There was a large boisterous family with many kids hanging out in front of our door. Monique at the front desk was happy to assist us and moved us to a much quieter part (separate building) of the hotel and very helpful the remainder of our stay. The hotel is aging but is kept up very nicely. Our room did not have a tub but the water pressure in the shower was great. Internet connection worked fine. Our room was cleaned in a timely manner. There was a gentleman at the front desk to answer any questions you may have about the graduation/AF. If you want 3-4 star hotel you may need to stay downtown or by the Riverfront. But this place served the purpose very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laurel,De.
Mar 29, 2010

Unbeatable price & friendly Staff

My Wife & I were satisfied with the stay. The staff were very helpful & went out of their way to help us in finding our way around. We decided to stay close to the Air Force Base because our sons graduation and glad that we had the help of this hotel because they knew more to get us around the Air Force Base. I would recommend them. When we needed anything in the room it was there extra towels whatever just leave a note & that night it was there.Very Nice Staff!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This place is not far from the Air Force Base & if you need help to find a place they can google it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2010

Not Worth The Money

We traveled to see our son graduate from Airforce Basic Training at Lackland. I had to buy Glade candles to rid our small room of the stench and since the windows were locked shut we had to open the door until the candles kicked in. The bathroom was tiny with wood floring and the door of the shower had to be lifted up at the top to get it to close properly. We will not stay at this location again. We have stayed at several La Quinta hotels and this is by far the worse one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Riverwalk!! It was wonderful, we had dinner at Landry's Seafood/Steaks and it was excellent! Got to the Tower of the America's to see Texas from 700 feet up it's breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 7, 2010

Wonderful

The room is not fancy but was clean and neat. We only had time to sleep and bath as the AF keeps you busy. But it was perfect for our needs. Very easy to find and just moments from the AF base. Id stay there agin if I had to. Good price and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the River Walk in San Antonio. Take the bus from AFB. Get tickets for boat ride of River Walk at base. Go early in the morning as it gets very crowded in the afternoon. Then walk it. You save buying tickets AFB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top