$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

2 stars
6511 West Military Drive, 6511 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
82 reviews
Thank you

We had a wonderful time. So enjoyed being close to the action. The. Staff was so helpful! See full review

  • Gamma and Papa
  • Feb 5, 2014
bmt graduation with a family of 8

very satisfied...everyone was very polite n helpful. the desk clerk checked me in and printed my... See full review

  • redblur
  • Dec 3, 2012
So close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear “Taps” played each night
The tangerine-colored La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel is so close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear "Taps" played on a nightly basis. The location is convenient to many local attractions, including the Alamo, Market Square and Institute of Texan Cultures. Parking is free, as is the Bright Side Breakfast. Also free are as many local calls as guests wish to make. Two outdoor pools are open year round. A fitness center with workout machines, picnic site and guest laundry facilities are on-site.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet and local calls
  • Free breakfast buffet with hot and cold items
  • Close to Lackland and Kelly Air Force Bases
  • Two outdoor pools
  • Picnic site
Rooms

The two-story La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel has 175 guest rooms and one suite. Guest rooms feature either a single king bed or a pair of full beds. Free wireless high-speed Internet is in all rooms, along with a TV with an expanded cable lineup. Guests enjoy a mini-coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron with ironing board and in-room safe. Telephones have data ports and voice mail.

Features

Guests of the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel enjoy a complimentary Bright Side Breakfast with waffles, cereal, eggs, fresh fruit and unlimited coffee, tea and juices. Guest laundry facilities are available. High-speed wireless Internet, local calls and parking are all free. Pets are welcome to stay with their owners. Two outdoor swimming pools are open year round. A picnic area is on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Attractions
  • Lackland Air Force Base (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Alamodome (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • The Alamo (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • River Walk (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Market Square (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay with their owners

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 10 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 10 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 10.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 11 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 11.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 11.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 11.5 mi
  • ATT Center: 12.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 12.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 13.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 17.1 mi

Dining

Dairy Queen
ice cream and food

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL
Jul 4, 2010

was no good experience

this was a bad experience, staf was bad and the lock door dos'nt work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 9, 2008

Key would not open door ...

Key would not open door to room 2nd strike desk clerk showed us a different occupied room. the place smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Nov 21, 2009

Oh Hell No!!!

We did not even check in. The hotel is in a slum, and is SCARY. The rooms are miniscule. THe lobby pictured on ORbiz is NOT the one at this hotel. THere is a tattoo parlor and a bar just across the parking lot from room doors. They refused to return our charge even though their ad was wrong (nice family aptmosphere).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2010

Not Worth The Money

We traveled to see our son graduate from Airforce Basic Training at Lackland. I had to buy Glade candles to rid our small room of the stench and since the windows were locked shut we had to open the door until the candles kicked in. The bathroom was tiny with wood floring and the door of the shower had to be lifted up at the top to get it to close properly. We will not stay at this location again. We have stayed at several La Quinta hotels and this is by far the worse one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Riverwalk!! It was wonderful, we had dinner at Landry's Seafood/Steaks and it was excellent! Got to the Tower of the America's to see Texas from 700 feet up it's breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Csolo
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 6, 2011

worst

They charged my card but gave my room to someone else, the room I got A/C was broken smelled like mold, poor bed quality and poor accomodations in the breakfast area left people pushing to get by. Would never stay here no matter what the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to Sea World

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiredmammma
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 14, 2014

Ick and Ugh

More like a bad motel 6. Not like new la quintas. Dirty bath with hair everywhere. Wet carpet. Old walls. Not worth $100. Better to pay $40-50 more per night than trying to remember the date of your last tetanus shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go elsewhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Soldier's Mom
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Apr 24, 2009

Was not what I expected

The reason for the trip was my son's Air Force graduation. The first thing I did not like is the fact that on the website,it advertises that there is a microwave and refrigerator in the rooms,what it failed to mention was there was an extra charge per day for each. The cost of the room was way too expensive for the style of the room. double beds, TV channels were not good, small bathroom..There were relatives who paid less a night for a suite w/a small kitchenette! Go figure..I felt like I was ripped off..I paid for Filet Mignon and got pork chops..The only good thing about the motel was the location and the workout room, management should consider serving a full deluxe breakfast at least instead of the cereal,waffles, and muffins..I will not return to that LaQuinta Inn..was not satisfied at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, Ca.
Feb 5, 2010

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

I would never go back to that hotel unless I had business 1 block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AFB MOM
Business
Michigan
Apr 1, 2013

Needs an update!!!!!!!! Now especially the Bathroom

I knew that I wasnt going to a 3 star Hotel, so I expected a lower class motel. For the rate it was okay. We picked this motel because it is only less than 5 minutes down the road. If I had another choice I would of picked something else. It was convenient for seeing our son quicker and not stay in San Antonino which we were going to stay. The bed was a full size and the pillow were not the greatest. But, my complaint was the bathroom. The floor was old and dirty looking, and needs to be replaced just like the tub. The tub was very worn out it was a multiple of colors to yellow and brown. the floor molding was extremely dirty. I dont think it was painted in many years. The towel where 1x2 not big enough and they were worn old. the shower head was VERY LOW I am 5ft and I had to duck under it. The internet hardly worked and when it did it would kick you off as soon as you got on. The only thing I did like was that they allowed my puppy stay. Which I am very thankful for that. Oh, the breakfast was okay. The coffee was treble. And when I told them I want to have a later check out which was after 4pm. I was charged half price I was okay with that but, when I returned back to the room. i was locked out. So they issued us a new key. I was very very very upset. Would I recommend this place would be only for convenience for people who are coming in to see them graduate from the AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing good in the area. Have to go Downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kearnycat
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

Would book elsewhere next time

Staff was friendly and the free breakfast was a plus. There were stray hairs in the bathroom upon arrival and the ac unit could've used a good cleaning. The carpet felt like it was installed over concrete and the room had a musty smell. The area seemed ok but next time I would look for a deal elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top