$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

2 stars
6511 Military Drive West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
81 reviews
Thank you

We had a wonderful time. So enjoyed being close to the action. The. Staff was so helpful! See full review

  • Gamma and Papa
  • Feb 5, 2014
bmt graduation with a family of 8

very satisfied...everyone was very polite n helpful. the desk clerk checked me in and printed my... See full review

  • redblur
  • Dec 3, 2012
So close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear “Taps” played each night
The tangerine-colored La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel is so close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear "Taps" played on a nightly basis. The location is convenient to many local attractions, including the Alamo, Market Square and Institute of Texan Cultures. Parking is free, as is the Bright Side Breakfast. Also free are as many local calls as guests wish to make. Two outdoor pools are open year round. A fitness center with workout machines, picnic site and guest laundry facilities are on-site.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet and local calls
  • Free breakfast buffet with hot and cold items
  • Close to Lackland and Kelly Air Force Bases
  • Two outdoor pools
  • Picnic site
Rooms

The two-story La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel has 175 guest rooms and one suite. Guest rooms feature either a single king bed or a pair of full beds. Free wireless high-speed Internet is in all rooms, along with a TV with an expanded cable lineup. Guests enjoy a mini-coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron with ironing board and in-room safe. Telephones have data ports and voice mail.

Features

Guests of the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel enjoy a complimentary Bright Side Breakfast with waffles, cereal, eggs, fresh fruit and unlimited coffee, tea and juices. Guest laundry facilities are available. High-speed wireless Internet, local calls and parking are all free. Pets are welcome to stay with their owners. Two outdoor swimming pools are open year round. A picnic area is on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Attractions
  • Lackland Air Force Base (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Alamodome (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • The Alamo (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • River Walk (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Market Square (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay with their owners

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4004 -98.6272
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 17.50, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 10 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 10 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 10.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 11 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 11.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 11.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 11.5 mi
  • ATT Center: 12.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 12.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 13.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 17.1 mi

Dining

Dairy Queen
ice cream and food

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyGinHNL
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Visiting Air Force Mom

Nice visit! Attended my son's AF BMT Graduation. Can't beat the location, unless you are on base! The room was clean, but the bathroom is a bit small (can't open the door and show door at the same time), wish they had small refrigerators in the room. It was nice to have laundry facilities on the premises and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are there for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy access to I410 and dining. Fast food in immediate area (Military Drive) and Hwy 90 (East) will take you straight to Downtown SA (Houston St.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Airforce Mom
Business
Grants Pass Oregon
Jun 14, 2011

Comfortable, clean, and close

This hotel was very convenient to Lackland AFB, where we needed to be. The bed was very comfortable, loved the chair! To be able to put your feet up after a days walk was very nice. The ONLY thing we would have liked to see was a refridgerator, the tap water is warm and the ice melted fast. We stayed for 4 days and it would have been nice to have. The toilet and shower is very small, but it worked. The continental breakfast was nice as well. A very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Check to see what gates are open when, we did alot of driving around after dropping off our airman to find a way out of the base. Your GPS will not take you right to the hotels door. TAKE that exit for Hwy 13.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC
Apr 30, 2011

good price old hotel

The hotel was clean but it was old and it showed. The shower was very tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WE ARE AIR FORCE!
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 19, 2011

Great location

Our son graduated AF BMT March 11th and we were pleased how close the La Quinta was to the base. We had 5 rooms and all were clean and comfortable during our 4 day stay. The early morning breakfast was good, plentiful, well stocked and appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use your cell phone/ car GPS to find the best route for dining options. Also download to your cell phone the application [@] to find restaurant seating and make reservations enroute, very cool app.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tca_in_texas
Business
San Angelo, TX
Dec 12, 2010

Good service

The front desk had a mixup, giving us two different rooms that apparently were beginning renovation. To make up for our inconvenience they gave us their best suite for no additional charge. Not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Lackland AFB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Everyone's Mom
Business
McAlevy's Fort, Pa
Nov 18, 2010

Good Room, Good Food, Great Location

The employees at the desk were extremely helpful. Even after I had checked out, I went back a few hours later to ask for directions and they were truly happy to help me and even gave me some more ideas of what to do with my time. My room was a typical room. The king size bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I was there for my daughters graduation from the Air Force and even though the staff has probably heard that a million times, they still seemed genuinely happy for me. The continental breakfast was definitley one of the best that I have ever had. They had so many things to choose from. You could even make fresh hot waffles. For the price, I would definitly stay there again. The staff is what won me over. I was afraid that I wouldn't get anyone who spoke fluent English, but everyone that I came into contact with spoke it excellently. Thank you La Quinta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Forgive my spelling on the name of this resteraunt. It was downtown, in the Market Square. The La Matiera (I know that isn't right, but anyone familiar with San Antonio will know what you mean)had valet parking and the most over the top decorations inside. The singing and the costumes were wonderful. The food was divine and to our surprise CHEAP !!!!!!!!!! We did pay $6 extra to be serranaded during our meal, but when we were done, the total for 4 diners with an appetizer and one alcoholic drink was only $54. My daughter said that it was the best part of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eddyb52
Business
Pensacola Florida
Nov 2, 2010

Much better than the red roof inn!

La Quinta lackland was a far superior hotel to the red roof inn in the same area! now that i have stayed in both the la quinta is head and shoulders above! the hotel was clean and very adult oriented the service staff was excellent and helpful as well as good customer service the complemetary breakfast was a nice touch. If you are going to lackland to watch a loved one graduate from boot camp or a service school THIS IS THE PLACE to stay. the only bad i could come up with is that the rooms did not have refrigerators, and i had someone with me that was insulin dependant, after bringing this to their staffs attention they changed our room to one that did have a frig, but i was thinking they all should, not just at request. hence the reason i did not give a 5 star rating.still much better than the other local hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the San antonio spurs play! good stuff also the Missions minor league club is great and very affordable for good seats. for the ladies i would reccomend the river walk shopping and the historical alamo for all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami,Fl.
Sep 15, 2010

The stay was a plesent experince.

The service that We got was so good that I felt like family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a exelent plase to stay when you come to town to see a family member graduate from one curses in the armforces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
proud airforce momma
Business
Washington Court House, Ohio
Sep 14, 2010

Close to Lackland for Gradutation

Hotel was not bad. We were in town for our sons graduation from Air Force Basic Training. Although we were very close to the base, it was not in a real good spot in the city of San Antonio. The staff was very friendly, rooms were cleaned on a daily bases... Would stay with LaQuinta again just not sure about this particular city..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Really close to Lackland Air Force base. Can hear when they play the Anthem and Taps on base very exciting...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren, PA
Sep 8, 2010

A place to sleep

We were there for a family member's graduation from Air Force basic training. We spent very little time at the room...left early in the morning and returned late in the evening. We did not use any of the other service offered such as the continental breakfast and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top